when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew channel

All WiiSX related discussion here
Post Reply
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew channel

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:14 am

I have the newest wiisx beta 2.1 and i am totally lost iv gotten every emulator to work but any playstation one. im not sure if i have the right Schp1001.bin file or whatever it is but basically it'll let me go into wiisx n i can view all the options and when i pick isos then sd card it lets me pick a game but when i do it just goes blank and sends me straight back to the homebrew channel outside wiisx. any suggestions and answers would be of great help. once again please help me!!
User avatar
SammyBli
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:23 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by SammyBli » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:08 pm

well, i dont know much about the scph1001.bin file, but i do know that it helps in some games. like mega man 8 for example.

but try to play game through bios (scph1001.bin) and load up your isos. then switch bios location to "SD" instead of "HLE" and try to play the game.

Dont load up the BIOS file and click play game. that boots me out of WiiSX if thats what your problem is.
just leave the bios file in its right folder, and do the above instructions i said.

P.S some games just dont work, and i dont know how to get them to work.
for example i cannot play rayman. it just wont work no matter what i do.
it just gets stuck at the "ubisoft" logo.

i guess for those certain games, we might just have to wait for a future update?

i hope everything i said helped in some way!

P.P.S clicking "play game" OR "execute bios" will both launch the game.
the only difference is when you choose "excute bios" it plays everything before the game.
(sony logo, then playstation logo, then game starts)
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:51 pm

Okay so when i try to load my bios first it says failed to initialize system. try loading an ISO, but i cant load an ISO because when i do it sends me straight back to the homebrew channel.

im trying to play megaman x4 and x6 so i think they should work. also just in case im trying to play metalgear solid because i did see it on a compatable list.

Is there by some chance im missing something or if i dont have a good bio?

oh yea idk if it helps but my isos all have .bin files
User avatar
SammyBli
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:23 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by SammyBli » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:08 pm

yeah if you try to load the isos with .cue it always says it failed to load,
but then theres the .bin files (which have much more megabites than .cue) which makes sense.

what i do, is i load up the .bin file for the game and it will load up for me.
then you know, the whole play through bios thing (make sure your bios is in the bios folder)
and use scph1001.bin.

and dont load your bios. all you need is it sitting in the bios folder.
make sure your settings are right.

bios location "SD"
play though bios "yes"

and then load up the .bin game and either hit execute bios
or just play game. let me know how that goes
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:10 pm

i dont have a play though bios option, i have the sd settings set to what you told me and it still wont work

and whenever i chose a .bin is when it sends me directly to the homebrew channel so i dont even get a chance to press select game start

i have no clue as to what the problem even is. any other suggestions?
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by kevstah2004 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:10 am

With all .CUE files make sure the file path is Relative Patch and not Full Path.

ie:
UNTITLED.CUE

FILE "UNTITLED.BIN" BINARY
TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
INDEX 01 00:00:00

and not something along the lines of

UNTITLED.CUE

FILE "C:\Documents and Settings\kevstah2004\My Documents\PSX\GAMES\UNTITLED.BIN" BINARY
TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
INDEX 01 00:00:00

Both .CUE and .BIN files should also have exactly the same filename apart from the file extension.
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:32 am

how do i see if its relative patch or full path?
User avatar
SammyBli
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:23 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by SammyBli » Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:51 pm

im sorry dude but im not too great with this program yet either, i dont know what else i can say to help :/
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:37 am

well thanx for the help, i really appreciate it. if anyone could help that would be great to. i'v never had a ps1 so if i could get this to work it would b fantastic!
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4645
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:58 am

have you tried loading the .bin directly and not using the .cue?
Image
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:30 pm

iv never used a .cue. should i try useing .cue? n when u load it directly u mean loading it from the ISOs right?
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by kevstah2004 » Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:45 pm

DAbluBOMBERwounder wrote:how do i see if its relative patch or full path?
Just open the .CUE in notepad or wordpad it should only contain the filename of the image not where it was saved to.
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:51 pm

I dont have notepad cuz i have a mac but im guessing terminal is the same thing but this is what i get when i open it.

Last login: Sat Sep 4 13:14:42 on console
/Volumes/NO\ NAME/wiisx/isos/MegamanX4.cue ; exit;
andrew-loughners-MacBook:~ andrewloughner$ /Volumes/NO\ NAME/wiisx/isos/MegamanX4.cue ; exit;
-bash: /Volumes/NO NAME/wiisx/isos/MegamanX4.cue: cannot execute binary file
logout

[Process completed]

Y isnt the binary not being executed?

for some reason it wont open in terminal with the .bin
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:00 pm

oh yea and when i try loading a .cue file the whole wii just freezes instead of sending me straight to the HB channel.
User avatar
SammyBli
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:23 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by SammyBli » Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:40 pm

i honestly dont know why youre having those problems. i dont even have the .cue files in my sd card,
all i have are the .bin files for the games, and some work, not all though. for unknown reasons.

but try fiddling with different settings and see if you can find some way to get it to work,
thats about all the help i can give, plus the stuff i said earlier.
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:11 am

i usually do that but it never works. im about to start over and start a new post and see if anyone will help me from scratch.

but yea thank u for trying anyways because now i know what isnt the problem so far.
User avatar
SammyBli
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:23 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by SammyBli » Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:45 pm

true true, well goodluck with that, im sure you'll figure it out
DAbluBOMBERwounder
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:00 am

Re: when i start a game it sends me back to the homebrew cha

Post by DAbluBOMBERwounder » Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:11 am

thanks :)
Post Reply