Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Discuss emulation on the Gamecube here
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by wii_HD » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:23 pm

EDIT: Scrubbed.
Last edited by wii_HD on Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:19 am

@wii_HD

have you tried adjusting settings thru retroarch gamecube OSD menu?
Gamecube pad L & R triggers + LStick Up + Rstick Up


using the original/default GC config file, does changing any of the settings work as you expect to correct the aspect or is there still a problem??
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by wii_HD » Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:59 am

^ I did not know there was osd menu for the GC version :oops:

Thanks.
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:27 am

wii_HD wrote:@megalomanic

Tried Aerofighters - wrong pallete and slow whilst the core released by Bearteam runs (AeroFighter and Sonic Wings) rom correctly.
EDIT : Core runs Sonic Wings correctly.

AirBuster works the game is horizontal scrolling but aspect is for a vertical game with big black borders left and right.

Final Starforce appears to work okay.

Zing Zing Zip results in code dump (2.3MB)

Nostradamus - code dump (2.7MB)

i saw the pallet issues and slowdowns also...
try this one instead
Attachments
pst90s.dol.zip
(1.21 MiB) Downloaded 226 times
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by wii_HD » Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:27 pm

@megalomaniac

Yes Aerofighters AND Sonic Wings are now correct.

I take it zingzip.zip is too big at 2.4MB to run with the post 90s GC core - works fine on wii.
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:35 pm

@emu_kidid
Attachments
other_ngc.elf.map.zip
(490.03 KiB) Downloaded 209 times
retroarch_ngc.elf.map.zip
(653.8 KiB) Downloaded 204 times
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:18 am

wii_HD wrote: I take it zingzip.zip is too big at 2.4MB to run with the post 90s GC core - works fine on wii.

2.4mb too big? hmmm, ill take a look
can you confirm a dataeast title which works on wii, maybe something small..., then check if that title works on GC
Attachments
dataeast-gamelist.txt.zip
(3.1 KiB) Downloaded 206 times
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:00 am

compiled with zingzip drivers only and still crashes
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by wii_HD » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:19 pm

megalomaniac wrote: can you confirm a dataeast title which works on wii, maybe something small..., then check if that title works on GC
You realize I will have to use the original GC alpha.dol which is too big to load anything more than say 150kb. I can not find any DataEast game less than this.

There is a wii compatability list posted here at the bottom of page 1 from GBAtemp that has the manufacturers in grouped listings.

Anyway here are the results for five games I tested. Results for wii are same as the compatability list.

The two smallest games are Act Fancer (actfancr.zip 449kb) and Super Real Darwin (srdarwin.zip 187kb)


Act Fancer : wii - works. GameCube - Loading then resets Cube.

Bad Dudes : wii - works. GameCube - Code Dump.

Crude Buster : wii - works. GameCube - Code Dump.

Chelnov : wii - works. GameCube - Loading few seconds then Code Dump.

Super Real Darwin : wii - works. GameCube - Code Dump.
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:29 am

thanks for testing...
i was asking for confirmation because with a dataeast only build, everything would still code dump..
i think its time to quit working on individual mini core builds and focus on fixing the root of the issue...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LI-CAT
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 9:50 am

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by LI-CAT » Sat May 18, 2013 10:41 am

The TMNT.dol works for me with TMNT. Sadly the other 4 players game of my childhood "The Simpsons" give a crash dump with Konami.DOL...

Bearteam or Megalomaniac, if the problem is the same of TMNT, can you make a Simpsons.dol ?
Aressi
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by Aressi » Sat May 18, 2013 8:41 pm

I can´t play TMNT, only Super puzzle fighter 2 turbo, cadillacs and dinosaurs and Sunsest riders, I don´t know why I can play only this games with a huge compatibility list
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Sat May 18, 2013 10:28 pm

Aressi wrote:I can´t play TMNT, only Super puzzle fighter 2 turbo, cadillacs and dinosaurs and Sunsest riders, I don´t know why I can play only this games with a huge compatibility list

the speedometer on a 1985 daihatsu says 120mph....
that doesnt mean it can go that fast, there are a lot of factors involved...


same with the compatibility list....retroarch / libretro is built for multisystem compatibility....which mean a retroarch / libretro is not optimized specifically for use with GC so compatibility will suffer...
there will need to be a lot of work put into this to optimize for GC and improve compatibility....
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LI-CAT
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 9:50 am

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by LI-CAT » Thu May 23, 2013 10:10 pm

Sorry for my bad english...
Apparently my request wasn't be see (a Simpsons.dol).

The idea of Bearteam is good, make small core increase the number of games playable. Now that sad this post isn't update for long time, I'm sure a lot of games can be compatible with a single core.
But I don't know the work behind, perhaps compiling a core can be very long.

I redo my demand there, I think a single core for The simpsons can make it playable for me, if I true, can you (
Bearteam or Megalomaniac) compiling a single core please ?
User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by bearteam » Fri May 24, 2013 1:24 am

LI-CAT wrote:Sorry for my bad english...
Apparently my request wasn't be see (a Simpsons.dol).

The idea of Bearteam is good, make small core increase the number of games playable. Now that sad this post isn't update for long time, I'm sure a lot of games can be compatible with a single core.
But I don't know the work behind, perhaps compiling a core can be very long.

I redo my demand there, I think a single core for The simpsons can make it playable for me, if I true, can you (
Bearteam or Megalomaniac) compiling a single core please ?
I can not help you. The simpsons is just too demanding for Gamecube :(
LI-CAT
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 9:50 am

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by LI-CAT » Fri May 24, 2013 9:25 am

Thank you for you answer bearteam and thank you again for your TMNT.dol.
For the simpsons is not a surprise that It's demanding too much,
I'm dissapointed, but now I know that impossible.
User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by bearteam » Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:56 am

LI-CAT wrote:Thank you for you answer bearteam and thank you again for your TMNT.dol.
For the simpsons is not a surprise that It's demanding too much,
I'm dissapointed, but now I know that impossible.
No, it is not too demanding for Gamecube, it is too demanding for RetroArch gamecube port for the time being. RetroArch gamecube port is buggy now and nobody would like to better it. Sorry, I can not better it, neither.
Even Dreamcast could run the simpsons at a decent speed.
piratesephiroth
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by piratesephiroth » Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:01 am

Ah... a CPS2 Emulator on the Gamecube would be awesome. Maybe one day...
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by wii_HD » Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:21 am

That day is here already although you can only play Super Puzzle Fighter 2 Turbo - all the other games are too big for NGC.

piratesephiroth???
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
piratesephiroth
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by piratesephiroth » Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:38 pm

wii_HD wrote:That day is here already although you can only play Super Puzzle Fighter 2 Turbo - all the other games are too big for NGC.

piratesephiroth???
As emukidid commented, I guess the problem could be resolved if someone implemented a rom cache. Dingoo A320 and PSP-1000 had only 32MB of RAM and could still run them fine.
User avatar
MarioMania
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 6:40 am

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by MarioMania » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:14 am

Does the SF2 Games work?

I want SF2 CE Rainbow Edition
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by wii_HD » Sun Jul 13, 2014 10:30 am

One of the members of the libretro team hunterk is requesting helping compling smalller cores for GC RetroArch.

Can anyone here help?

http://www.libretro.com/forums/viewtopi ... =2085#wrap
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
tueidj
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by tueidj » Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:42 am

Probably not the best way to improve things when there's 16MB of ARAM sitting there doing nothing.
User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by bearteam » Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:05 am

I've uploaded my newly compiled dols here: http://www.eurasia.nu/modules.php?op=mo ... 5&forum=76
User avatar
Andross89
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 10:02 pm

Re: Single Arcade emulator for Gamecube

Post by Andross89 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:06 pm

bearteam wrote:I've uploaded my newly compiled dols here: http://www.eurasia.nu/modules.php?op=mo ... 5&forum=76
Is it possible to make these files available in this topic like other emulators? Downloading by EurAsia is not so simple today due to the registration obligation. At least for me. Thank you.
Post Reply