Completely confused

All your console related questions and answers :)
retrotuna

Completely confused

Post by retrotuna » Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:17 am

Hi there everyone. I'm new to the forum and I plan on introducing myself properly in the appropriate place.

I am new to the Gamecube scene. Recently, after clearing out a storage unit I re-discovered a sealed GC I'd gotten over 10 years ago. In the interim, I've had a Wii and have used it to play GC games.

However, between being a big Game Boy fan and wanting to use the GB Player, as well as hating to part with a brand new Cube, I'd like to get it modified for my usual GC game playing usage. I've done hours and hours of research, particularly on this forum and it's wiki, but certain areas of detail confuse me beyond my current level of understanding.

Here's what I'd like to do:
- Play backed-up games from either SD or USB without having to modify the case / having to disassemble the console to access the SD card/USB (ribbon cable or thin USB cable through the rear vent, ala some region switch mods like this seen here?)
- Retain the ability to play retail discs (i.e. keeping the original GC drive intact.) I don't care about playing backed up discs (i.e. those through XenoGC) because I'd like to preserve the laser for as long as possible.

Am I correct in understanding that Megalomaniac's Megadrive allows the original GC drive to be retained while using a WiiKey Fusion or a WODE?
Would either the WiiKey Fusion or the WODE be a better solution for my wishes (playing backups without having to modify the console casing)?

I appreciate the help and the answers.
emu_kidid
Site Admin

Re: Completely confused

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:31 am

You could leave the GameCube 100% untouched if you got SDML and a SDGecko along with Swiss.
retrotuna

Post by retrotuna » Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:35 am

emu_kidid wrote:You could leave the GameCube 100% untouched if you got SDML and a SDGecko along with Swiss.