First timer here :P

All your console related questions and answers :)
KayCube

First timer here :P

Post by KayCube » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:23 am

Ey guys , I ordered a xenoGC for 4 bucks from a Chinese website and not sure if clone or original soo .. if clone , is there a difference? And does it affect my GameCube? And I have no experience in soldering ... We all gotta start somewhere right? I wanna give soldering a try. Anything else I need other than the soldering iron? And how much do they cost (soldering iron) ? I can use my fathers soldering iron if its expensive :> and I need a step by step guide like when you put the soldering iron with the wire thing where does the melted wire go? (I saw some videos moving it left and right soon I got confused..) I'd be thankful :)
emu_kidid
Site Admin

Re: First timer here :P

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:47 pm

Clone vs original doesn't make a difference as it's the exact same hardware + code on it. The only difference might be a orange LED vs green (original) LED, but you can never see those anyway ;)

I would strongly suggest you buy some kynar wire or similar so that you can solder the chip via wires considering your novice skills as stated above :P

Watch some videos and practice first on something else before attempting the modchip installation yourself.
KayCube

Post by KayCube » Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:48 pm

emu_kidid wrote:Clone vs original doesn't make a difference as it's the exact same hardware + code on it. The only difference might be a orange LED vs green (original) LED, but you can never see those anyway ;)

I would strongly suggest you buy some kynar wire or similar so that you can solder the chip via wires considering your novice skills as stated above :P

Watch some videos and practice first on something else before attempting the modchip installation yourself.