Help a newbie out

All your console related questions and answers :)
Post Reply
NBCsCHuck
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:09 pm

Help a newbie out

Post by NBCsCHuck » Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:14 pm

Hi,

I'm new to the GC hack community (i know, around 10 years late but nevertheless ;)) and have a GC hacked with Viper Cobra 2.1. SdLoad is installed as a plugin, and i have bought a similair SD gecko thingy that ables me to install a SD to the GC. The problem is that whenever i load Sdload, nothing shows up as executable in Sdload. I have a 8gb SDHC Sandisk memory card, which i have partitioned so that the primary drive i 2gb. I know that my GC recognizes my SD card, because if i pull it out it says to reinsert a card. Could someone please help me out?
_ich_
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:28 pm

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by _ich_ » Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:07 pm

Sorry i dont can help you, but i have the same problem with the Viper Chip and search for a fix. :cry:
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:38 pm

no sdhc support for SDload
formating that card with a 2GB partition will not help..

you need to buy a 1GB or 2GB SD card...not SDHC
then you can load swiss from SDload..
with swiss you can read up to 128GB SD card (largest sd card tested to date)
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
_ich_
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:28 pm

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by _ich_ » Tue Nov 26, 2013 8:59 pm

@megalomaniac

Hi, i try it with sdhc and non sdhc cards, same problem! :|
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4662
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:36 pm

The only way it is "recognizing" the card is that it knows SOMETHING is in the slot, not that it's a SD card or anything.

I would try a 2GB card, format it in FAT or FAT32 and see how you go. If you've still got the same problem, check your SD reader contacts or buy another one, there's no reason the cards shouldn't work.
Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Nov 26, 2013 9:37 pm

FAT16
Non-SDHC


If it don't read from Slot A, then you might need to tape mod the SDGecko if it doesn't have proper contact to the memcard slot pins...
I will look later to see if I can find a pic of the tape mod
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
NBCsCHuck
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:09 pm

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by NBCsCHuck » Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:22 pm

Wow, blown away from all the answers i received. Great community, I'll buy a Transcend SD 2gb card like this: http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Flash-M ... B000FGNM6I

This ought to work, right?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by megalomaniac » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:39 am

should work..
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
_ich_
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:28 pm

Re: Help a newbie out

Post by _ich_ » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:31 pm

Hi, i have tested it now with the Tape-mod, but it dont works also. :(
Post Reply