XenoGC problem

All your console related questions and answers :)
Post Reply
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:29 am

I decided to mod my 101 gamecube with a xenoGC 2.
First I went with a wired install. Everything seemed to worked fine, games would boot normally, so I assembled the gamecube and moved it to the main tv.
After playing for 15 - 20 minutes I decided to change game. I tried to boot a backup disc, but it says "No Disc". I put an original and it plays fine.
I disconnect the gc, open it up, power it on and the xeno is flashing red.
I reflow all the solder points test it again, multiple times, multiple backups everything is working.
Close it up again after 15 minutes of game play tried to change game, "No Disc".
Disconnect, open up, power it on, xeno flashing red.
Disolder everything and go with the wireless install.
Test it again everything is working. Close it after 15 minutes, try to change disc, same thing "No Disc".
Disconnect, open up, power it on, xeno flashing red, reflow, test working fine.
Now again when I try to change disc it says "No Disc".

Im at the point of thinking to give it the old drop test from the roof of my house.
Anyone got any advice before I kill the thing for good.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:43 am

Are you sure your lid switch is functioning properly? When you put the top shell back onto the console, make sure you do it with the lid open. Next thing to check is whether or not the disc spins up twice when you turn it on, that is the easiest way to know whether the xeno is working.
Oh, and please don't kill your gamecube.
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:57 am

It boots original discs fine so the lid switch must be working. From what I can hear it sounds like its spins twice.
Whats frustrating is that the xeno is working fine until I close everything up then it boots once and stops working.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:02 pm

If it's spinning twice then it's probably your laser having a hard time reading the discs. Adjust your pot or buy a new one. I'd just recommend setting it up so that you can boot a Swiss disc and then use an SD gecko to load your backups though.
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:50 pm

I desoldered the wireless install and did another wired installed, still nothing.
I removed the xeno completely but thats it. It wont even spin the disc anymore.
I guess all the soldering and desoldering killed the laser assembly.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:54 pm

I doubt it. Does the IPL show the "an error has occurred" screen?
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:05 pm

Yes I get the "an error has occured..." screen.
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by boredomca » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:18 pm

Did you ajust the potentiometer? How long are the wires? Do you have a multimeter to check for shorts? Can we get a picture?
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:21 pm

I completely remove the xeno chip. I still get the error and the disc does not spin.
I did adjust the pot. Tried everything from 100 - 600 nothing works.
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by boredomca » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm

If your completely sure there is no shorts then clean your lense. Use 99% isopropyl alcohol and a Q-Tip, it will take a few times of disk spin-up to dry but that should work.
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:46 pm

I removed the xeno and all wires and cleaned all the contact points, I dont think there are any shorts.
I tried cleaning the lens and it made no difference.
Dont know if it helps but I get the error no matter if there is a disc in the gamecube or not.
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by boredomca » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:59 pm

How are you cleaning the lense?
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:00 pm

Qtip and alcohol.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:23 pm

steelseth wrote:Yes I get the "an error has occured..." screen.
Your drive board is dead. If you can't find a short on it, it's time to find yourself a new drive.
steelseth
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:28 am

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by steelseth » Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:29 pm

I already ordered one from Japan.
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by boredomca » Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:31 pm

Maybe just a loose ribbon cable.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: XenoGC problem

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:31 pm

The error means the drive isn't replying to commands, it will show up in any software using the SDK after a 10s timeout. You could check the ribbon cables, but there isn't much to do anymore, especially if you have no idea what you're doing.
Post Reply