ide/exi doesnt work

Support forum for the IDE to EXI adapter
Post Reply
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:27 pm

hi,
today I build my ide/exi adapter. I messured every pin 3 times and everything seems good. After I connected it to my gamecube it doesnt work.
I used this:
http://www.gc-forever.com/gchdd/build.htm

now i think that my bluechip v9 which I used for it isnt programmed correctly. Swiss should recognize the ide exi without a harddrive hookd up. is this correctly? If yes, then my xilinx isnt flashed correctly. but which file do I have to flash, and which pins on the ide connectior have to be groundes?

Can anybody help me?
User avatar
infact
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by infact » Wed Feb 29, 2012 8:51 pm

sorry it this is a dumb question, but have you flashed the chip at all?
infact
Image Image
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by liquitt » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:01 pm

infact wrote:sorry it this is a dumb question, but have you flashed the chip at all?
i sure didn't. sorry if made the impression, although i have no idea why it should've...
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:42 pm

yamaharacer wrote: now i think that my bluechip v9 which I used for it isnt programmed correctly. Swiss should recognize the ide exi without a harddrive hookd up. is this correctly? If yes, then my xilinx isnt flashed correctly. but which file do I have to flash, and which pins on the ide connectior have to be groundes?
Firstly, you have to change the .ucf file to match your pins (or use the BlueChip v9 one), then you need to program the chip.

Secondly, Swiss cannot find the adapter without a HDD attached (there is no EXI response ID in v1 of the firmware)

Lastly, look up the IDE pinout to figure out what needs to be connected to ground, and observe the orientation of the connector when doing so otherwise you could mess up the GC/Adapter/HDD.
Image
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:08 am

yeah i know that i have to program it but when i open the exi2ide.ipf file, it wants also to load an isp file but this file i dont have for the bluechip. i only can erase the xilinx nothing more.
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:56 am

ok I read the tutorial once again and used ISE to generate my isp file. for this i changed the gc-ide.ucf file with the bluechip one, then I opened ISE and opened the ide2exi project. there I pressed "Implement Design" and "Rerun all".

Then I recognized that ISE has prepared me an isp file in the gc-ide folder. this file I have programmed to my xilinx.

Is this correct? If yes, I can search nor for hardware issues.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:45 am

You shouldn't need to re-generate the .Jed file, only configure the pin mappings and make sure they're OK.. after that start looking for he issues
Image
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:21 pm

which jed file do you mean? when I extract the gcide.zip file there isnt any jed file. and where can i configure the pin mapping?
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:56 pm

ok I got it. the ucf file is wrong. A4 isnt pin 52 on the bluechip. its pin 36. here is the right ucf file and jed file for people who want to create a ide exi with bluechip.
Attachments
gcide.rar
(9.24 KiB) Downloaded 139 times
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:27 pm

There are 2types of bluechip, it's possible you just have the other type. I assume you got it working now?
Image
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:27 am

yeah, it works now but only one in 50 times. I think its a hardware problem with the data lines to the memory card. what lenght should the cables have?

edit: ok i got it. the cables were to long. now it works perfect.
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by liquitt » Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:26 pm

yamaharacer wrote:ok I got it. the ucf file is wrong. A4 isnt pin 52 on the bluechip. its pin 36. here is the right ucf file and jed file for people who want to create a ide exi with bluechip.
thats the V9 yep.
the file is preconfigured for V10
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
yamaharacer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by yamaharacer » Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:51 am

ok that says also why my other bluechip that I have build a year ago never worked.
User avatar
humerf
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 am

Re: ide/exi doesnt work

Post by humerf » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:49 am

yamaharacer wrote:ok that says also why my other bluechip that I have build a year ago never worked.
my : Buy : blue chip 10 / pcb v9

could make the cable to be recognized, I reduced the size of the cable and used an external power from a battery (2032) 3.3v, only now it's time to "program" it gives this error:


Welcome to iMPACT
iMPACT Version: 10.1
// *** BATCH CMD : loadProjectFile -file "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrador\Desktop\gcide\exi2ide.ipf"
Connecting to cable (Parallel Port - LPT1).
Checking cable driver.
Driver windrvr6.sys version = 8.1.1.0. WinDriver v8.11 Jungo (c) 1997 - 2006 Build Date: Oct 16 2006 X86 32bit SYS 12:35:07, version = 811.
LPT base address = 0378h.
ECP base address = 0778h.
Cable connection established.
INFO:iMPACT:2676 - base class function getDeviceChain(index) is called.
INFO:iMPACT:2676 - base class function getDeviceChain(index) is called.
INFO:iMPACT:2676 - base class function getDeviceChain(index) is called.
'1': Loading file 'C:/Documents and Settings/Administrador/Desktop/gc_ide.jed' ...
done.
INFO:iMPACT:1777 -
Reading C:/Xilinx/10.1/ISE/xc9500xl/data/xc95144xl.bsd...
INFO:iMPACT:501 - '1': Added Device xc95144xl successfully.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Active mode is BS
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -ss
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -sm
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -hw140
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -spi
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -acecf
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -acempm
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -pff
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -bs
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -bs
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -bs
// *** BATCH CMD : setMode -bs
// *** BATCH CMD : Program -p 1 -e -v
INFO:iMPACT:583 - '1': The idcode read from the device does not match the idcode in the bsdl File.
INFO:iMPACT:1578 - '1': Device IDCODE : 00001111111111111111111111111111
INFO:iMPACT:1579 - '1': Expected IDCODE: 00001001011000001000000010010011
PROGRESS_END - End Operation.
Elapsed time = 0 sec.
PROGRESS_START - Starting Operation.

which may be?


Please help !!!!!!

if I can not run it this week I will sell my gamecube and abandon this "EXI diy" because I'm losing too much time trying something that does not work !
Post Reply