Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Post Reply
User avatar
Diego borella
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:37 pm
Location: Brazil

Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by Diego borella » Sat Mar 07, 2020 8:25 pm

Here is a speculation on my part.
Wouldn't a type of interchange between serial port 2 and slot b open more space to execute data? :idea:

The question is this: I fill my 32 GB SD card, until there is no disk space, 0 Kbits of space.
I put the SD in SP2sd;
After starting Swiss, I wanted to see Swiss forced to write data to SD Geckko. The folder: swiss_patches ... :arrow:
my idea was to get the Swiss to write from SP2sd to Geckko. it did not happen, nor the other way around.
but one question is: where the folder is being recorded, there is no space on the SD2SP2 card, nor was there a swiss_patches folder recorded on the Sd with space in Geckko, nor was it written as I wanted; how are the games without the swiss_patches folder? and patches are applied and games run without errors. :shock:
the ISOs changed and were permanently applied with the patches of that Swiss revision ??? :?:
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by Papy.G » Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:06 am

I think I have read in the r785 changelog that further created swiss patches folders will be hidden. :P

But I'm curious to know how SWISS behaves in case there is not enough space left on the ISO's SD for patches. :?
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4628
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:32 pm

Papy.G wrote:
Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:06 am
But I'm curious to know how SWISS behaves in case there is not enough space left on the ISO's SD for patches. :?
Probably badly, you might get some on screen error with nothing more.
Image
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by Papy.G » Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:01 pm

So we have to always make sure there is a little spare space to allow for new patches to be written on it? 8-)

If it worked anyways, it was just out of luck? :P
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
User avatar
Diego borella
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:37 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by Diego borella » Wed Mar 18, 2020 9:16 pm

emu_kidid wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:32 pm
Papy.G wrote:
Sun Mar 08, 2020 10:06 am
But I'm curious to know how SWISS behaves in case there is not enough space left on the ISO's SD for patches. :?
Probably badly, you might get some on screen error with nothing more.
it worked for me, I even managed to play the metroid prime, which is a game I know well, to know if there are any irregularities or not, and it worked ... As far as I played, there were no errors in the sound or any other part.
the games work normally ...

There is no Swiss_patchs folder, for sure! even as a hidden file, you can see it on Android or Windows. there is no patch folder.
my thesis is that the patches are being applied in ISOS.
I tested some games, and they worked
Look:
Spoiler
Show
:shock: :?:
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by Papy.G » Wed Mar 18, 2020 9:51 pm

Nice if it worked!
I would have guessed the patches are small enough to keep in ram, or almost useless depending on the settings you chose, but better than guessing, Emu Kidid may just tell us.

Some discs, for example multi-dols ones are very long for writing patches, but maybe uselessly if at the end, we only run one of them all.
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4628
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Mar 19, 2020 2:19 am

Diego borella wrote:
Wed Mar 18, 2020 9:16 pm
my thesis is that the patches are being applied in ISOS.
Your thesis is wrong. Some patches can be applied to the main executable but others on additional files will fail so any game using multiple executables will fail if the patches haven't been written for it. This would also break any sort of DOL/executable reloading in a game potentially.
Image
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Interchange between SP2SD and SD Gecko.

Post by Extrems » Thu Mar 19, 2020 2:41 am

Boot through IPL will also fail, and so will resetting in many games.
Post Reply