Goals for Swiss 0.4

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by theclaw » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:45 am

Extrems wrote:
Midori wrote:Since the resolution cannot be changed of Swiss Menu over Component cables, you cannot run .dol files in 240p. .dol files will be forced to 480p unless the .dol has resolution options within it.
That's not up to Swiss, each homebrew has its own video routines.
Heh this subject has come up before. Ultimately I'm most in favor of behavior Nintendo recommends.
Midori
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:35 am

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Midori » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:12 am

Extrems wrote:
Midori wrote:Since the resolution cannot be changed of Swiss Menu over Component cables, you cannot run .dol files in 240p. .dol files will be forced to 480p unless the .dol has resolution options within it.
That's not up to Swiss, each homebrew has its own video routines.
I tested this with a few homebrew games and applications, and it actually utilizes the resolution Swiss's main menu use using over Component. It forces 480p for those as well, even for homebrew games and applications.

Here's an example.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

As also proof it forces 480p, normally if you play a Gamecube game via Component, as long as it's not 480p it'll output video via the composite/s-video video slot as well while also outputting via component. However, when Component is plugged it wont' show any video via composite nor svideo since neither support 480p and it's forcing 480p on that if a Component cable is connected.

Hope that explains everything. :)
Last edited by Midori on Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1310
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Extrems » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:37 am

This is the logic used by older homebrew:

Code: Select all

	u32 tvmode = VIDEO_GetCurrentTvMode();
	switch(tvmode)
	{
		case VI_NTSC:
			rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
			break;
		case VI_PAL:
			rmode = &TVPal528IntDf;
			break;
		case VI_MPAL:
			rmode = &TVMpal480IntDf;
			break;
		default:
			rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
			break;
	}
This is the logic used by current homebrew (I made this change):

Code: Select all

	u32 tvmode = VIDEO_GetCurrentTvMode();
	if (VIDEO_HaveComponentCable()) {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case VI_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480Prog;
				break;
			case VI_PAL:
				rmode = &TVPal576ProgScale;
				break;
			case VI_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480Prog;
				break;
			case VI_EURGB60:
				rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480Prog;
				break;
		}
	} else {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case VI_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
				break;
			case VI_PAL:
				rmode = &TVPal576IntDfScale;
				break;
			case VI_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480IntDf;
				break;
			case VI_EURGB60:
				rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480IntDf;
				break;
		}
	}
This is the logic used by devkitRice homebrew:

Code: Select all

	u32 tvmode = SYS_GetVideoMode();
	if (SYS_GetProgressiveScan() && VIDEO_HaveComponentCable()) {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case SYS_VIDEO_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480Prog;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_PAL:
				if (SYS_GetEuRGB60())
					rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480Prog;
				else rmode = &TVPal576ProgScale;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480Prog;
				break;
			default:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480Prog;
		}
	} else {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case SYS_VIDEO_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_PAL:
				if (SYS_GetEuRGB60())
					rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480IntDf;
				else rmode = &TVPal576IntDfScale;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480IntDf;
				break;
			default:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
		}
	}
Midori
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:35 am

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Midori » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:42 am

Extrems wrote:This is the logic used by older homebrew:
Ah, I see. From what I've used, RetroArch, FCEU, and a homebrew game and some others utilize Swiss's resolution and I utilized the latest versions. I will note that I edited my post above with the actual bug at hand that occurs. It even forces 480p via composite if component is plugged in.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1310
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Extrems » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:47 am

Midori wrote:It even forces 480p via composite if component is plugged in.
They're not independent outputs.
Midori
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:35 am

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Midori » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:52 am

Extrems wrote:
Midori wrote:It even forces 480p via composite if component is plugged in.
They're not independent outputs.
Sorry, I probably should have explained that better. :D What I mean is, you can't actually modify Swiss's main menu resolution via Component cables. The reason on a Gamecube that it ends up outputting video via composite and component at the same time is because they're both running at 480i, my point was that it's forcing 480p as a whole here and there's no way to change it, even if you do so in the settings of the Swiss menu. It was also to demonstrate that when Component is not plugged in, everything runs fine as in it's outputting 480i. There's an issue where you cannot edit the Swiss's main menu resolution despite the option being there to do so. You can edit resolution of games and that ends up working, but it won't work for the main Swiss menu.

The holding L button doesn't work either as stated here.

https://code.google.com/p/swiss-gc/issues/detail?id=71
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1310
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Extrems » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:54 am

There's no code backing that option, it's simply not implemented.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by megalomaniac » Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:00 am

L trigger is currently broken in swiss and a new method is being worked on....


some of the homebrew's i updated (unofficial releases) allow L trigger 480i forcing...
also the video resolution can be set to force many different resolutions within the video settings of each homebrew along with some added stretch modes
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by theclaw » Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:19 am

Working on a standard "library" of sorts is good. Less excuse for those who might want to code lazily from now on. :)
User avatar
turnerl
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:46 am
Location: Australia

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by turnerl » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:30 pm

Resident evil 4 in Swiss in 576p sure does look amazing! I dont know of any Wii loader that plays GC in 576p?
BenoitRen
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by BenoitRen » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:05 am

Swiss works on Wii, so...
Hardware: Wii (PAL)
Hardware configuration: System Menu 4.1E, Priiloader
Swiss boot method: Modified Wii Swiss Booter provided by Extrems
Software medium: Retail discs
Cisz.
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:07 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by Cisz. » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:23 pm

BenoitRen wrote:Swiss works on Wii, so...
Does 576p work if launching on Wii from WiiPower's SwissBooter? According to this post it doesn't:
Vague Rant wrote:WiiPower, Extrems suggested on IRC (a few hours ago and from memory, so I may need correcting on the specifics) that your booter would need to add support for the new 576p VI timing recently added to Swiss. As is, 576p apparently won't work when Swiss is launched via your tool.

I can go as far as saying that 576p doesn't work for me on builds I've tested with that exact setup (SwissBoot > Swiss > Force 576p), with my 576p-capable TV reporting no signal when the Wii switches to that mode. That said, I don't have any other rig on which to test this, so I can't confirm that that's the (only) issue.

I'd say Extrems probably knows what he's talking about, though. Hopefully we can all benefit from glorious 576p soon.
Is there another Swiss launcher that can launch Swiss from the Wii Homebrew Channel and still support 576p?
BenoitRen
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by BenoitRen » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:35 am

Cisz. wrote:Does 576p work if launching on Wii from WiiPower's SwissBooter?
No, it doesn't. I had the same problem. That's when Extrems gave me a custom build of the launcher, which works.

No idea if I'm allowed to share it.
Hardware: Wii (PAL)
Hardware configuration: System Menu 4.1E, Priiloader
Swiss boot method: Modified Wii Swiss Booter provided by Extrems
Software medium: Retail discs
User avatar
MockyLock
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: France

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by MockyLock » Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:06 am

Hello here.
My ask will go to emu_kidid :
As Swiss is now able (since a few update) to store its settings on the SD card, will it be possible to store the game's setting soon ?
Second ask : what are the improvements you have in mind for the Swiss 0.4 (if you had any) ?

Thank you very much, and congrats for your amazing Swiss :]
warpedflash
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by warpedflash » Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:50 pm

Thanks for the great software!
I'm loving Swiss with a 32GB SD card in a homemade SDGecko at the moment. Is there any chance of loading iso files from SMB being implemented? I have my SMB share mapped in swiss at the moment anyway so loading from it would be awesome.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:46 pm

I have plans for it but nothing has been started yet.
Image
User avatar
MockyLock
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: France

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by MockyLock » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:17 am

Hi emu_kidid.
Did you read about my post ? I was asking about storing games settings to SD card, if it was something WIP, as you've successfully done the Swiss settings storage.
Thank you !
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:59 am

It already saves game settings for SD Gecko, but I need to make it save/load those settings to SD Gecko regardless of boot device.
Image
User avatar
MockyLock
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: France

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by MockyLock » Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:08 pm

yeah, right, i forgot to specify that i was booting Swiss from the WHF.
novenary
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by novenary » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:56 pm

By the way I already brought this up on IRC, if you put swiss itself as your boot.dol (for updates, I use my Xeno clone to boot from DVD), it will just bootloop. Something you might want to fix. :)
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by alzen » Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:07 pm

Is there any chance that Wii's version of SWISS will allow HID gamepads support the way NINTENDONT does?

As NINTENDONT is open source it should be possible.
Take a look at my YouTube channel - totally dedicated to retro shooters
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:45 am

No, I don't anticipate ever adding anything that will require Swiss to run in Wii mode or a hybrid mode where some Wii components are left open (USB).

The fact that Swiss works on a Wii is only due to MIOS/BC, I don't have the time/want to implement anything for Wii.
Image
q8v08
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:23 pm

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by q8v08 » Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:34 pm

I made some progress getting swiss to boot with Nintendont, I remade the gcm with
the gamecube sdk so now it doesn't include the extra file systems, it runs without the gc bios + mc emulation
but with missing graphics the same as loadmii, using the gc bios + mc emulation it makes it past the purple G
Nintendo logo and you can read the disc info unlike the regular gcm, but it shows a black esi exception error screen when trying to run swiss.
Currently only dios mios runs swiss without the missing graphics.

Image
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by alzen » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:14 pm

Nice! Would be nice to have bootable SWISS iso that runs on nintendon't - just to run homebrew apps with HID controller.

Hope you'll make it :).

btw. does it read SD card from the main Wii's SD card slot?
Take a look at my YouTube channel - totally dedicated to retro shooters
novenary
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Post by novenary » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:49 pm

Wouldn't it be simpler to port the homebrew you want to the wii ? It shouldn't be too hard.
Post Reply