Page 9 of 10

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:45 am
by theclaw
Extrems wrote:
Midori wrote:Since the resolution cannot be changed of Swiss Menu over Component cables, you cannot run .dol files in 240p. .dol files will be forced to 480p unless the .dol has resolution options within it.
That's not up to Swiss, each homebrew has its own video routines.
Heh this subject has come up before. Ultimately I'm most in favor of behavior Nintendo recommends.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:12 am
by Midori
Extrems wrote:
Midori wrote:Since the resolution cannot be changed of Swiss Menu over Component cables, you cannot run .dol files in 240p. .dol files will be forced to 480p unless the .dol has resolution options within it.
That's not up to Swiss, each homebrew has its own video routines.
I tested this with a few homebrew games and applications, and it actually utilizes the resolution Swiss's main menu use using over Component. It forces 480p for those as well, even for homebrew games and applications.

Here's an example.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

As also proof it forces 480p, normally if you play a Gamecube game via Component, as long as it's not 480p it'll output video via the composite/s-video video slot as well while also outputting via component. However, when Component is plugged it wont' show any video via composite nor svideo since neither support 480p and it's forcing 480p on that if a Component cable is connected.

Hope that explains everything. :)

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:37 am
by Extrems
This is the logic used by older homebrew:

Code: Select all

	u32 tvmode = VIDEO_GetCurrentTvMode();
	switch(tvmode)
	{
		case VI_NTSC:
			rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
			break;
		case VI_PAL:
			rmode = &TVPal528IntDf;
			break;
		case VI_MPAL:
			rmode = &TVMpal480IntDf;
			break;
		default:
			rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
			break;
	}
This is the logic used by current homebrew (I made this change):

Code: Select all

	u32 tvmode = VIDEO_GetCurrentTvMode();
	if (VIDEO_HaveComponentCable()) {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case VI_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480Prog;
				break;
			case VI_PAL:
				rmode = &TVPal576ProgScale;
				break;
			case VI_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480Prog;
				break;
			case VI_EURGB60:
				rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480Prog;
				break;
		}
	} else {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case VI_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
				break;
			case VI_PAL:
				rmode = &TVPal576IntDfScale;
				break;
			case VI_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480IntDf;
				break;
			case VI_EURGB60:
				rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480IntDf;
				break;
		}
	}
This is the logic used by devkitRice homebrew:

Code: Select all

	u32 tvmode = SYS_GetVideoMode();
	if (SYS_GetProgressiveScan() && VIDEO_HaveComponentCable()) {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case SYS_VIDEO_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480Prog;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_PAL:
				if (SYS_GetEuRGB60())
					rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480Prog;
				else rmode = &TVPal576ProgScale;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480Prog;
				break;
			default:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480Prog;
		}
	} else {
		switch (tvmode) {
			case SYS_VIDEO_NTSC:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_PAL:
				if (SYS_GetEuRGB60())
					rmode = &TVEurgb60Hz480IntDf;
				else rmode = &TVPal576IntDfScale;
				break;
			case SYS_VIDEO_MPAL:
				rmode = &TVMpal480IntDf;
				break;
			default:
				rmode = &TVNtsc480IntDf;
		}
	}

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:42 am
by Midori
Extrems wrote:This is the logic used by older homebrew:
Ah, I see. From what I've used, RetroArch, FCEU, and a homebrew game and some others utilize Swiss's resolution and I utilized the latest versions. I will note that I edited my post above with the actual bug at hand that occurs. It even forces 480p via composite if component is plugged in.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:47 am
by Extrems
Midori wrote:It even forces 480p via composite if component is plugged in.
They're not independent outputs.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:52 am
by Midori
Extrems wrote:
Midori wrote:It even forces 480p via composite if component is plugged in.
They're not independent outputs.
Sorry, I probably should have explained that better. :D What I mean is, you can't actually modify Swiss's main menu resolution via Component cables. The reason on a Gamecube that it ends up outputting video via composite and component at the same time is because they're both running at 480i, my point was that it's forcing 480p as a whole here and there's no way to change it, even if you do so in the settings of the Swiss menu. It was also to demonstrate that when Component is not plugged in, everything runs fine as in it's outputting 480i. There's an issue where you cannot edit the Swiss's main menu resolution despite the option being there to do so. You can edit resolution of games and that ends up working, but it won't work for the main Swiss menu.

The holding L button doesn't work either as stated here.

https://code.google.com/p/swiss-gc/issues/detail?id=71

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:54 am
by Extrems
There's no code backing that option, it's simply not implemented.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:00 am
by megalomaniac
L trigger is currently broken in swiss and a new method is being worked on....


some of the homebrew's i updated (unofficial releases) allow L trigger 480i forcing...
also the video resolution can be set to force many different resolutions within the video settings of each homebrew along with some added stretch modes

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:19 am
by theclaw
Working on a standard "library" of sorts is good. Less excuse for those who might want to code lazily from now on. :)

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:30 pm
by turnerl
Resident evil 4 in Swiss in 576p sure does look amazing! I dont know of any Wii loader that plays GC in 576p?

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:05 am
by BenoitRen
Swiss works on Wii, so...

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:23 pm
by Cisz.
BenoitRen wrote:Swiss works on Wii, so...
Does 576p work if launching on Wii from WiiPower's SwissBooter? According to this post it doesn't:
Vague Rant wrote:WiiPower, Extrems suggested on IRC (a few hours ago and from memory, so I may need correcting on the specifics) that your booter would need to add support for the new 576p VI timing recently added to Swiss. As is, 576p apparently won't work when Swiss is launched via your tool.

I can go as far as saying that 576p doesn't work for me on builds I've tested with that exact setup (SwissBoot > Swiss > Force 576p), with my 576p-capable TV reporting no signal when the Wii switches to that mode. That said, I don't have any other rig on which to test this, so I can't confirm that that's the (only) issue.

I'd say Extrems probably knows what he's talking about, though. Hopefully we can all benefit from glorious 576p soon.
Is there another Swiss launcher that can launch Swiss from the Wii Homebrew Channel and still support 576p?

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:35 am
by BenoitRen
Cisz. wrote:Does 576p work if launching on Wii from WiiPower's SwissBooter?
No, it doesn't. I had the same problem. That's when Extrems gave me a custom build of the launcher, which works.

No idea if I'm allowed to share it.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:06 am
by MockyLock
Hello here.
My ask will go to emu_kidid :
As Swiss is now able (since a few update) to store its settings on the SD card, will it be possible to store the game's setting soon ?
Second ask : what are the improvements you have in mind for the Swiss 0.4 (if you had any) ?

Thank you very much, and congrats for your amazing Swiss :]

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:50 pm
by warpedflash
Thanks for the great software!
I'm loving Swiss with a 32GB SD card in a homemade SDGecko at the moment. Is there any chance of loading iso files from SMB being implemented? I have my SMB share mapped in swiss at the moment anyway so loading from it would be awesome.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:46 pm
by emu_kidid
I have plans for it but nothing has been started yet.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:17 am
by MockyLock
Hi emu_kidid.
Did you read about my post ? I was asking about storing games settings to SD card, if it was something WIP, as you've successfully done the Swiss settings storage.
Thank you !

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:59 am
by emu_kidid
It already saves game settings for SD Gecko, but I need to make it save/load those settings to SD Gecko regardless of boot device.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:08 pm
by MockyLock
yeah, right, i forgot to specify that i was booting Swiss from the WHF.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:56 pm
by novenary
By the way I already brought this up on IRC, if you put swiss itself as your boot.dol (for updates, I use my Xeno clone to boot from DVD), it will just bootloop. Something you might want to fix. :)

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:07 pm
by alzen
Is there any chance that Wii's version of SWISS will allow HID gamepads support the way NINTENDONT does?

As NINTENDONT is open source it should be possible.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:45 am
by emu_kidid
No, I don't anticipate ever adding anything that will require Swiss to run in Wii mode or a hybrid mode where some Wii components are left open (USB).

The fact that Swiss works on a Wii is only due to MIOS/BC, I don't have the time/want to implement anything for Wii.

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:34 pm
by q8v08
I made some progress getting swiss to boot with Nintendont, I remade the gcm with
the gamecube sdk so now it doesn't include the extra file systems, it runs without the gc bios + mc emulation
but with missing graphics the same as loadmii, using the gc bios + mc emulation it makes it past the purple G
Nintendo logo and you can read the disc info unlike the regular gcm, but it shows a black esi exception error screen when trying to run swiss.
Currently only dios mios runs swiss without the missing graphics.

Image

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:14 pm
by alzen
Nice! Would be nice to have bootable SWISS iso that runs on nintendon't - just to run homebrew apps with HID controller.

Hope you'll make it :).

btw. does it read SD card from the main Wii's SD card slot?

Re: Goals for Swiss 0.4

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:49 pm
by novenary
Wouldn't it be simpler to port the homebrew you want to the wii ? It shouldn't be too hard.