Swiss Nightly Build

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4376
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:37 pm

Nukatha wrote: it is rather green.
This may be the result of a bug that may occur sometimes based on interrupt timing. Try again a few times and see if it gets any better. I really need to fix this :(
Image
Nukatha
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:22 am

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Nukatha » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:46 am

emu_kidid, I think it was just my TV.
I hadn't played Tales before, and when I saw Noishe I thought he looked greener than the first time.
Full disclosure: Running Tales from an original disk. I remain the only person still booting homebrew with PSOload lol.
But it 960i certainly didn't play nice with my Samsung LCD. Was really jittery.
So, I'll just blame my TV.

Is there a quick rundown of the actually resolution that Swiss tries to force for all the non-standard resolutions (We all know what 240p, 480i/p, and 576i mean, I just mean the others).

That said, I pressed the 'reset' button on my gamecube, and Tales rebooted with the color signal from the red/blue component cables swapped (if I switch them, the colors then look normal), and the game ran at ~0.25x normal speed.
I have experienced that before. If you play the NTSC version of Eternal Darkness and rapidly mash 'A' to send the game into progressive mode, there's a chance to cause the same effect (pb/pr signals switched and super slow gameplay). This was running unmodified off the original disk. So, no Swiss. I think I've caused this twice. Naturally, I thought that it was just a sanity effect and played it for a while before I realized that it was actually glitched out.
Last edited by Nukatha on Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Andross89
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 10:02 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Andross89 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:28 pm

emu_kidid,

At the next Swiss update, can you implement "jump to" when we press left or right (same as snes9xgx)? This would make it easier to select a game in the middle of the list than to press down or up several times. Thank you.
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by boredomca » Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:54 pm

Swiss .4 not playing ssbm on gamecube dol 001 with Wii SD. It will get passed the menus but freezes when starting game On 8 gig pny sdhc. 2 gig SD not loading game at all. I missing something?
User avatar
Andross89
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 10:02 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Andross89 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:02 am

boredomca wrote:Swiss .4 not playing ssbm on gamecube dol 001 with Wii SD. It will get passed the menus but freezes when starting game On 8 gig pny sdhc. 2 gig SD not loading game at all. I missing something?
Have you tried version 1.02 of Melee? It worked perfectly here.
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by boredomca » Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:36 pm

I don't remember but I will look into it. Thank you for the advice
User avatar
boredomca
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by boredomca » Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:09 pm

Yes. I had v1.00 but v1.02 works flawlessly. Thank you so much
whyat
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:01 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by whyat » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:33 am

I recently updated my wode setup from 3.77 to 4.31. There is a major bug as it hang at saying "setting updevice". How do I fix this? The bug also exists in 4.30.
Blake5100
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:32 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Blake5100 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:15 pm

I was wondering if it's possible to have swiss autorun a game off of an SD-Gecko at startup?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:26 pm

It's feasible but not implemented.
alex90
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:25 am

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by alex90 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:00 pm

Hope there will be some more updates soon. Haven't been any in a while.
cmurph
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:51 am

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by cmurph » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:06 am

I can't seem to get the Swiss to load. I bought an SD Media Launcher from Datel. It arrived in a DVD look case with the Black Media Launcher and a Action Replay Disk. I bought a 2GB SD Scandisk memory card from Amazon.ca. According to the wiki it's suppose to work...

I copied the SDLOADER.BIN and Swiss_r451.dol files on to the card and start the disk in the GC. But the Action Replay never recognizes the card and goes straight to the Action Replay menu with the preloaded games menu. I've tried both slot A and B. The disk always freezes when I place the card in Slot A.

I've tried formatting the Card to FAT32 and back to FAT but neither will appear. I also have a grey GC looking Gecko for the memory card which I've tried in both slots but no go...

Now I don't know what to do.

All I want to do is run the GameBoy Interface to play FFTA. I haven't added the GBI files onto the card but that doesn't matter since it doesn't seem to do anything at the moment with the swiss files.

Edit: Found a 4Gb SDHC Lexar and no luck either. Action replay just loads the cheat menu of games.... ugh. Why can't it just work? Am I suppose to do something else to the memory card?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:29 am

You don't need sdloader.bin at all, that's for the old action replay that lets you enter codes. SDHC cards won't work with SDML, but that 2GB card should.
dilav
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:54 am
Location: USA

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by dilav » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:52 am

cmurph wrote:
Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:06 am
I can't seem to get the Swiss to load. I bought an SD Media Launcher from Datel.
It's been known that the SDML adapter it comes with is crap and doesn't get recognize. The 2GB card should work, make sure it's FAT formatted, try the tape fix by putting a piece of tape under the circuit board of the adapter, or get a Wii SD adapter.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:46 am

He does have a wiisd adapter. The tape fix is probably your best bet.
cmurph
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:51 am

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by cmurph » Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:46 pm

yeah.... I'm assuming the issue is with the MC but I guess it could be the SD Gecko I bought off amazon.ca too. Probably fakes. Unless I'm doing something wrong... Do I just need to copy the single swiss DOL file to the Memory card for it to work or do I have to alter the card in some way?

The memory card and SD Gecko I bought:

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B000WH ... UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B06XXZ ... UTF8&psc=1

Although the SD Gecko that arrived looks like this one: https://www.amazon.ca/Memory-Converter- ... amecube+SD

The store employee from the pawn shop gave me a Wii branded 2GB SD memory card. I've tried it in the SDML and the Gecko and nadda...

I'll try the "paper/tape" trick tonite and see if it works.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:05 am

There are no "real" SD geckos anymore. The WiiSD adapter is a China special.
cmurph
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:51 am

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by cmurph » Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:48 pm

Hmm... Finally got it to work. I only had to buy another 2gb SD memory card. Bought a Transcend. This one look legit, came with a package and everything. Works beautifully.

My only issue now though is when I try to run games at 240p, the game loads into half a screen. Its weird.
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:19 pm

EDIT: ok after a lot of troubleshooting and thinking, it appears my issue is I'm trying to load from slotB, loading games from slotA works! woot!
now my only issues is iplboot fails to boot from slotA so I have to do some switcheroonies... for now.


I haven't had any luck at all trying to load games from SD-gecko with swiss r451
I've tried two methods of loading Swiss.
1. from Viper Extreme Flash as dol, the viper-lz one.
2. from SD with iplboot flashed to Viper. I use the regular, non-compressed dol.

trying to load many popular games such as Smash, windwaker, harvest moon, f-zero.
I get either.
black screen
stuck on first publisher logo
or an error has occured message/drive could not be read.

none of them getting nowhere into the game, not even a menu. well one time I did get asked about 60hz/progressive before it got the error occured message.

Am I doing something obvious wrong or?

All games works fine burned to disk. very same ISO files.

I've tried sdcards ranging from 2gb fat, 8gb fat32 and 64gb exfat all freshly formatted.


Main reason I wanna get ISO loading from SD-gecko is I wanna play around with Wind Waker randomizer.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:34 pm

Some particular versions of games like Melee and Wind Waker are known to be broken. Melee NTSC version 1.02 and Wind Waker NTSC are known good.
Sooner or later you'll run into a game that doesn't want to load saves from slot B. There's surprisingly many of them so it'd be good to get loading ISOs from slot B instead.
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:55 pm

it's been flawless so far on SlotA, is it an issue with my hardware, or with swiss?
is SlotB working for anyone with r451?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:05 pm

Works fine for me.
rafer_22
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 2:31 am

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by rafer_22 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:18 pm

Sd gecko in slot B works for me with r451
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:41 pm

Streetwalker wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:05 pm
Works fine for me.
well what do you know, after weeks of it not working in slot B, and finally getting it to work by using slot A....
it now works in slotB! same SD, same files. I haven't changed a thing.

must be some retro-ghosts at work here :shock: . sorry to waste everyones time! :(
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss Nightly Build

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:07 am

The contacts can be a bit finicky and Swiss's in-game SD code is extremely sensitive to issues. Sometimes just moving the adapter around or blowing on it helps.
Post Reply