Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Post Reply
Sowden1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 pm

Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Sowden1 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:54 pm

Hey guys. So I wanted to get a heavy duty card for my soft modded (using ActionReplay and a SD memory card slot bought off of ebay) Gamecube to play my backup games on. Well I accidentally bought a 64GB SDXC Class 10 card, only to find out that it doesn't format to FAT32 natively. So I found a process online using a program called EaseUS Partition Master to trick the card into formatting to FAT32. I did the process that I found in a video online, and sure enough Windows 7 tells me that its FAT32. I put my ISOs on it and it loads the card up in Swiss. I can even play a mp3 off of the SD card. However when I press X to load the game, it freezes at 100% (I've tested 4.377 and 4.382). I've tested the same ISOs on my booting card (a 8GB SD (non SDHC) Class 2) and it plays the ISO just fine. I even partitioned the card to be set at like 31GBs just to mimic it as a 32GB card and it still didn't work. I think I'm just tempting fate here, but has anyone been able to get a 64GB card to work with Swiss?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4374
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:40 pm

I have a 128GB SDXC no name card that works just fine. Try it on the lower speed setting in Swiss and make sure the connection to the card is clean.
Image
Leepixx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Leepixx » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:45 pm

Will 128GB SDXC cards also work on a Wiikey Fusion? Would be great to hear that!
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:40 pm

They will work, but only the lower 64GB is usable on the wkf.
Leepixx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Leepixx » Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:38 am

Oh, that's too bad! Can't this be solved with a swiss update or is it an unchangeable WKF issue? Otherwise I can just use my SD Gecko to load all my GC-games in swiss, 'cause there is no GB limit on this device, right?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Streetwalker » Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:07 pm

Yeah, it's a WKF issue. If you use an SD gecko you can use cards up to 2TB without any issue, but compatibility and loading speed will suffer a bit.
Leepixx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Leepixx » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:26 pm

Good to know. Thanks a lot! :)
Sowden1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 pm

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by Sowden1 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:03 pm

Finally got back to this topic, only months seven later :o Anyways, I bought a new random 32GB SDHC Class 10 card and it works now. I had a 64GB from Transcends and then a 32GB from a company that I can't remember right now, but neither of them worked. But the new one was formatted in FAT16, so it worked right off the bat. But emu_kid, I am wondering how you have a 128GB SDXC card working with Swiss. How do you have the card formatted?
Last edited by Sowden1 on Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tueidj
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by tueidj » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:54 am

It wouldn't be formatted as FAT16, since that has a maximum partition size of 8GB.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4374
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Failure loading backups on a 64GB Card

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:57 am

Sowden1 wrote:Finally got back to this topic, only months later :o Anyways, I bought a new random 34GB SDHC Class 10 card and it works now. I had a 64GB from Transcends and then a 32GB from a company that I can't remember right now, but neither of them worked. But the new one was formatted in FAT16, so it worked right off the bat. But emu_kid, I am wondering how you have a 128GB SDXC card working with Swiss. How do you have the card formatted?
Use FAT32.
Image
Post Reply