Swiss 0.1

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Hucklebuck
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by Hucklebuck » Sat Nov 05, 2011 3:34 pm

what does the usb-load.dol do?
Nukatha
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:22 am

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by Nukatha » Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:14 pm

I would assume that usb-load allows the 'Cube to load from a custom-built USB port, connected to one of the ports on the bottom of the Gamecube.
User avatar
infact
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by infact » Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:05 pm

more likely to be used with an usbgecko...
infact
Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:41 am

usb-load is what I use to load .dol files to my gamecube via usbgecko
Image
panmusic
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by panmusic » Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:16 am

Emu_kidid,is everything going in schedule for the weekend release?

Also,can you comment to us about the Wind Waker and Luigi's Mansion status?

Thanks in advance! :-)
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Nov 06, 2011 1:09 pm

panmusic, unfortunately I've been dealing with real life this weekend. Got some progress done, but just not enough for a solid release..

I need to implement & test a few things regarding file copying that might corrupt devices as well as implement some things in the info section.. also debugging Zelda WW & Luigis Mansion issues since I want to get those out of the way too.

I estimate a couple more nights working on it before a solid release is made, but for now, you can have a compiled r69 DOL to keep you busy.
Attachments
swiss-r69-uncompressed.zip
(632.04 KiB) Downloaded 276 times
Image
panmusic
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by panmusic » Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:05 pm

Excellent work Emu_kidid!!!!!

I have tested it already and I am amazed.Forcing 480p actually works this time and for the most games.Only some third-party games that run normally in 50hz are not compatible (PoP games,Skies of Arkadia,Beyond Good and Evil) but every other game I tried runs flawlessly,even some Nintendo games like Wave Race BS that support only 50hz.Only 2 Nintendo games I tried have some tiny issues with 480p and these are Super Mario Sunshine and Wario World. Both of them have a size screen issue and I mean that in SMS the screen is lower than normal and in WW the screen is far left.Weird...

I have not words to thank you enough! :-)
Rage518
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:52 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by Rage518 » Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:07 pm

What problems have other people had with Wind Waker? I've been playing it for over 6 hrs with loading it from SD Media Launcher with no problems. The only "issues" are heavy loading scenes like when an island comes into close view when sailing and it stutters for a second or two, or when going in and out of loading scenes between areas the sound stutters for a second. Other than that the game has been running great, I'm using revision 62 of swiss and the game and my cube are NTSC.
panmusic
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by panmusic » Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:34 pm

Rage518 wrote:What problems have other people had with Wind Waker? I've been playing it for over 6 hrs with loading it from SD Media Launcher with no problems. The only "issues" are heavy loading scenes like when an island comes into close view when sailing and it stutters for a second or two, or when going in and out of loading scenes between areas the sound stutters for a second. Other than that the game has been running great, I'm using revision 62 of swiss and the game and my cube are NTSC.
Try to open the map inside a dungeon.Instant freeze always. ;)
User avatar
infact
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by infact » Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:38 pm

Rage518, it only freezes when played on a wii.
infact
Image Image
Nukatha
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:22 am

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by Nukatha » Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:03 pm

I am pleased to announce that PSOload boots this guy perfectly!
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Nov 06, 2011 9:59 pm

Good to hear it's going good so far - I'm still working on 480p cause I've noticed a few games that don't support it yet too.
Image
roubagalinhas
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Braga, PT

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by roubagalinhas » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:34 am

emu_kidid wrote:Good to hear it's going good so far - I'm still working on 480p cause I've noticed a few games that don't support it yet too.
i guess some never will, like those who dont support progressive scan on their NTSC counterpart, right?

finally i got my sd gecko off my wii :mrgreen:
it was really stuck and i thought i was going to break something
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:59 am

games that don't support 480p in NTSC can still have it forced - got a NTSC game that doesn't support 480p?
Image
roubagalinhas
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Braga, PT

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by roubagalinhas » Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:12 am

well, the only times i tried forcing 480p i think i was using PAL games (cant remember the titles), and the only thing i remember is that it didn't work

from there on i never used that option again, as all the titles i've played support native progressive scan
Paul.str
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by Paul.str » Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:08 am

Probably a dumb question, but in what language is Swiss written?

I have no experience with code, so I can't even tell by looking at the google repo.
I am just curious.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:30 am

It's written in C with some of the fancy stuff like the SD/IDE-EXI reading code that's used in-game being written in Assembly.
Image
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by WiiPower » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:34 pm

Hi emu_kidid, good to see that you were busy, good work. I'd like to steal the 480p code for NeoGamma, but i can't use it because i only have 20 bytes of memory left. Is there any chance to use the code, but without needing additional memory? I see that the game is patched to jump to the function in memory, is that function still executed? Or does the blr at the end means the patch function is just put in between? If the function is replaced, is it bigger or smaller than the replacement? Ok, i guess if it was that easy and clean(in my eyes...), you'd have done it already...

Do you have any advice for me? Right now i'm considering to search some unused memory between 0x80001000 and 0x80001800.
panmusic wrote:
Rage518 wrote:What problems have other people had with Wind Waker? I've been playing it for over 6 hrs with loading it from SD Media Launcher with no problems. The only "issues" are heavy loading scenes like when an island comes into close view when sailing and it stutters for a second or two, or when going in and out of loading scenes between areas the sound stutters for a second. Other than that the game has been running great, I'm using revision 62 of swiss and the game and my cube are NTSC.
Try to open the map inside a dungeon.Instant freeze always. ;)
This only happens on a Wii, and it looks like it's due to some GPU change from gamecube to Wii. Swiss contains a patch that should fix this issue, but i guess it's not applied, or the regions are switched or something. If i could compile Swiss, i think i could fix it in a few minutes.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:02 pm

WiiPower, you could stick that code anywhere and branch to it, perhaps over a few of the unused video timings, or over some useless UART function/etc. I was going to write my own way to do it but this way just works so I left it as-is. I do need to try a few other games which don't want to force such as 007 Nightfire (but I wasn't sure if it was cause it reloaded other DOL's).
Image
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by WiiPower » Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:12 am

emu_kidid wrote:WiiPower, you could stick that code anywhere and branch to it, perhaps over a few of the unused video timings, or over some useless UART function/etc. I was going to write my own way to do it but this way just works so I left it as-is. I do need to try a few other games which don't want to force such as 007 Nightfire (but I wasn't sure if it was cause it reloaded other DOL's).
I think all the 007 games reload some .dol or .elf, so if you didn't add the 480p patch into the prepatcher, that's most likely the reason why it does not work. Hmm, now that i think about it, i want a solution that survives reload processes, which means i need tons of free memory.
tonyXS
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:53 am

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by tonyXS » Sat Nov 26, 2011 7:00 am

hey hey guys, i only want to say "thanks" Emu kid and for your effort i am thankful with you , always do your best man n_n, i speak spanish and is some difficult to writte in olther lengue , sorry if i writte bad or something like that
Rage518
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:52 pm

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by Rage518 » Sat Nov 26, 2011 7:10 pm

Thanks for answering my question about wind waker on wii guys
roubagalinhas
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Braga, PT

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by roubagalinhas » Sat Nov 26, 2011 10:52 pm

i've completed the game without using the dungeon map :lol:
if i'm not mistaken i only missed two treasure chests
User avatar
sakamoto
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:10 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by sakamoto » Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:09 pm

booting emulators from tantric with swiss doesnt work 100%. emulators boot fine with sdload without memory issues. with swiss, emulotors work but gameplay is always choppy?

i tried it with latest version available for viper (r62) on this forum and latest version available on googlecode (r83)... same results
Image DOL-001 EUR Viper GC Extreme | Image DOL-001 EUR Wiikey Fusion or Wode? (soon)
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.1

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:47 am

Yes I've noticed there's also no audio from the later versions of the emulator, I need to look into it.. sounds like I'm not de-initializing something properly.
Image
Locked