How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
chrinfinity
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 8:26 am

How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by chrinfinity » Tue May 15, 2018 9:19 pm

Hello all,

Swiss is kind enough to save the per-game settings at the end of the swiss.ini file, like so:
#!!Swiss Settings End!!

ID=GZLE
Name=THE LEGEND OF ZELDA The Wind Wak
Comment=No Comment
Status=Unknown
Force Video Mode=480p
Force Vertical Filter=2
Force Anisotropic Filter=No
Force Widescreen=2D+3D
Force Text Encoding=Auto
Mute Audio Streaming=No


ID=GALE
Name=Super Smash Bros Melee
Comment=No Comment
Status=Unknown
Force Video Mode=480p
Force Vertical Filter=2
Force Anisotropic Filter=No
Force Widescreen=2D+3D
Force Text Encoding=Auto
Mute Audio Streaming=No
My question is, can I somehow tell swiss that I want a certain set of settings as the blanket defaults for all games? Without needing to have a separate section in the swiss.ini for each game, unless I have a specific game I want different settings for?

P.S. When I go to page three of Swiss's settings it has the settings for the "current game," I thought this might be it, but they are not changeable on my screen. So I'm not sure what's up with that either.

Thank you :)
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4699
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by emu_kidid » Wed May 16, 2018 12:25 pm

chrinfinity wrote:
My question is, can I somehow tell swiss that I want a certain set of settings as the blanket defaults for all games? Without needing to have a separate section in the swiss.ini for each game, unless I have a specific game I want different settings for?

P.S. When I go to page three of Swiss's settings it has the settings for the "current game," I thought this might be it, but they are not changeable on my screen. So I'm not sure what's up with that either.
No one has asked for this before but I can see how it makes sense to have it. I can probably make it so that when you go to page 3 and you're not viewing the settings for a specific game it can be "default settings" which are saved elsewhere in the .ini and applied to all games unless overridden.
Image
chrinfinity
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 8:26 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by chrinfinity » Wed May 16, 2018 11:21 pm

That would be absolutely delightful. Thank you.
MickPeach
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:28 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by MickPeach » Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:33 am

I could also use a "Default Settings" Trying to run gbi off a regular gamecube memory card and swiss will boot it but not let me apply settings to the gbi like it would a game . Any help would be Awesome Thanks in Advance .
User avatar
razorleafattack
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:16 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by razorleafattack » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:16 pm

Was there ever any update on this? I'd love to force every game boot in 480p by default. It would be great if possible to still specify certain games to boot in 480i. Even if I need to just manually modify the .ini
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Extrems » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:59 pm

razorleafattack wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:16 pm
It would be great if possible to still specify certain games to boot in 480i.
Why? That shouldn't be necessary.
User avatar
razorleafattack
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:16 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by razorleafattack » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:33 pm

Extrems wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:59 pm
Why? That shouldn't be necessary.
IDK I was thinking in case there were compatibility issues. Not that I've run into them yet. Is there any way of setting the games to start in 480i by default?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Extrems » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:05 pm

The patch is designed to fallback on 480i as needed. If it doesn't work, it's a bug that must be reported.
User avatar
razorleafattack
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:16 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by razorleafattack » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Extrems wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:05 pm
The patch is designed to fallback on 480i as needed. If it doesn't work, it's a bug that must be reported.
Sorry, I'm not sure what patch you are referring to.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Extrems » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:27 pm

All the game options in Swiss are patches applied at run-time.
User avatar
razorleafattack
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:16 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by razorleafattack » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:51 pm

Oh, I see what you mean. So there isn't any way to set the 480p option universally/ as the default mode? Gotta do every game individually?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Extrems » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:01 pm

That is currently indeed the case.
User avatar
razorleafattack
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:16 am

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by razorleafattack » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:24 pm

Extrems wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:01 pm
That is currently indeed the case.
Ok, thanks for confirming.
Link99
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Link99 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:45 pm

Hi,
I have another question about swiss:
The "default game-specific settings" option is availabe since a view weeks. I tried it in my environment, but it hasn't worked.
Did I understand it correctly: If there is no config for the game in the ini file, the game should start with the defined default settings?
In my case, the game starts with the standard settings (PAL 50Hz).
Did I something wrong? Or is there an special option to activate the default settings?
Thanks for the support and the great work.
Last edited by Link99 on Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Papy.G » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:58 pm

Good news that the patch falls back to 480i, I often switch between systems and I had the case where the progressive mode was predominant, and the fallback was to 240p instead of 480i. Should it happen with the new version, I'll report it.

Link99> Try to press B on game startup, to activate the 60Hz mode. There are some PAL games that don't support 60Hz modes, it is often better to let them keep the 576lines scheme, even in progressive modes, if you don't want to face display weirdness.
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
Link99
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Link99 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:22 am

Papy.G wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:58 pm
Link99> Try to press B on game startup, to activate the 60Hz mode. There are some PAL games that don't support 60Hz modes, it is often better to let them keep the 576lines scheme, even in progressive modes, if you don't want to face display weirdness.
Thanks for the tip, but that's clear. What I am talking about is this "new" feature:
Since release r649:
This release adds default game settings, and a revised appearance on the settings pages.
https://github.com/emukidid/swiss-gc/issues/199 > referenced to this thread

I want to use it, to enable the enhancements by default > "Disable Alpha Dithering" and "Force Anisotropic Filter".
Also I want to force the video mode to 480p, except these games which have game-specific-settings.

I will try a nightly build in the next days, maybe it works.
Thanks a lot for the help.
Last edited by Link99 on Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4699
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:57 am

What does Swiss briefly display the video mode as prior to booting up the game as?
Image
Link99
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Link99 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:23 pm

emu_kidid wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:57 am
What does Swiss briefly display the video mode as prior to booting up the game as?
With no specific game settings, the games (PAL) are booting up with 576i. When I take a look into the game settings (without saving), the value of the "force video mode" option is set to "no".
Thanks for your fast reply.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Papy.G » Thu Oct 31, 2019 6:59 am

Tested yesterday with the r685:
Use an "HD" able console, set 576p for WW, save and run it, OK.
Get back on a gamecube with RGB cable, check the game's specific settings for WW, to confirm 576p is selected, launch it, then, SWISS displays 288p as the selected video mode, and no doubt the game is running at that resolution.
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
mario64
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by mario64 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:46 am

Is this feature supposed to be working? I’m using build 756 and set global default to force 480p. Yet when I launch a 480i game it doesn’t get forced to 480p. The only way around this is to make a per game config.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Extrems » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:47 am

It only work if you haven't saved settings for that game before.
mario64
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by mario64 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:48 am

Extrems wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:47 am
It only work if you haven't saved settings for that game before.
I haven’t. I started with a brand new Swiss.ini
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Papy.G » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:35 pm

I can confirm, tried with no ini at first, just set 480p as the default for all games, save, launch SMS, no progressive mode enabled.
Extrems wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:05 pm
The patch is designed to fallback on 480i as needed. If it doesn't work, it's a bug that must be reported.
Tried today as version 0,4 release 756 of SWISS on SDGecko in SlotB, DOL-001-EUR, Exploit under fire/NiHuSu DoLauncher, ISO on the SD2SP2:
Boot into SWISS with GCPlug (GCVideo) as the video cable (576p), choose SMS ISO, set local video mode forcing to 480p, save on the SD, launch the game, SWISS prompts that 576p is selected, press B at launch to choose 60Hz mode, check on the TV, 480p activated from then.
Turn off the GC, pull off the GC plug then plug in the RGB cable.
Boot into SWISS (576i), choose SMS ISO, check that video mode forcing is set to 480p, OK, discard and exit, launch the game, SWISS prompts that 288p is selected, press B at launch to choose 60Hz mode, and can see on the screen that 240p is activated from then.

Here with any of my consoles and games (mostly Pal), it's as if the progressive mode has priority over the lines. That said, I like that the lines count is somehow free, that lets 50Hz only games do what they want instead of freezing or green screen or whatever. If getting proper fallback from 480p to 480i makes us loose that behavior, it may not be worth it.
Extrems wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:27 pm
All the game options in Swiss are patches applied at run-time.
Do the patches that are written on the SD at launch for some games need to be on the same card as its dedicated ISO?
And if no, are they needed just once when we launch a game or do they need to be accessed from the SD any time while playing?
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by Extrems » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:50 pm

Papy.G wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:35 pm
Boot into SWISS with GCPlug (GCVideo) as the video cable (576p), choose SMS ISO, set local video mode forcing to 480p, save on the SD, launch the game, SWISS prompts that 576p is selected, press B at launch to choose 60Hz mode, check on the TV, 480p activated from then.
This is normal as there's an exception for this game. You don't have to press B.
Papy.G wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:35 pm
Boot into SWISS (576i), choose SMS ISO, check that video mode forcing is set to 480p, OK, discard and exit, launch the game, SWISS prompts that 288p is selected, press B at launch to choose 60Hz mode, and can see on the screen that 240p is activated from then.
This is not the fallback in the patch, but in the setting.
Papy.G wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:35 pm
Do the patches that are written on the SD at launch for some games need to be on the same card as its dedicated ISO?
Yes, but why is this relevant? You aren't given any choice.
Papy.G wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:35 pm
And if no, are they needed just once when we launch a game or do they need to be accessed from the SD any time while playing?
The latter.
mario64
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: How to change Swiss defaults for game-specific settings?

Post by mario64 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:54 pm

Forgive me but I'm still unclear on whether the global defaults are supposed to be working in 756. Are they? On my GC they're being ignored
Post Reply