Flash Swiss to WASP

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Locked
Hucklebuck
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: USA

Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Hucklebuck » Sun Dec 23, 2018 6:50 am

How do I flash Swiss to WASP fusion?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4406
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:39 am

What is it currently running, stock firmware? Is it in a GameCube or Wii?

If you're already running Swiss you just need the .fzn file on a device Swiss can read from. Of you're on the WBFS stock menu you will need to put the latest Swiss ISO on that SD card then have another formatted as FAT32 with the .fzn and .fzn.fw on there to flash it.
Image
Hucklebuck
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Hucklebuck » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:58 pm

Currently it is running Swiss. When I turn on the Cube it boots into Swiss. It's just been along time since I updated it. Just wanted to know the correct procedure so I don't break something.

When I first turn it on, the WASP says detected SD card but failed to initialize,try again. When I try again it works. Why is it doing that? It happens every time I turn on the GC. It's running r382.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:51 pm

Some wasps just do that. Before this was added, they were plain unusable (they would hang indefinitely). If should be possible to automate the retry though.
Hucklebuck
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Hucklebuck » Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:08 pm

I have another question. I just read the Swiss WIKI and it says to "0. Update the Wiikey Fusion/WASP to the official 1.5 firmware first, and set region override to true." I believe I had my WASP firmware set to the first one for auto boot 1.0? Is the 1.5 Firmware better? whats the difference? Then I see in bold print firmware 1.3. I don't know which to use. Which firmware is the preferred firmware for GC use?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:32 pm

Ignore that advice, just update swiss.
Hucklebuck
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Hucklebuck » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:59 pm

I put the .fzn file in and flashed. Now my WASP doesn't initialize the SD card anymore. What now?
Hucklebuck
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by Hucklebuck » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:38 pm

I figured it out. I formatted the SD cards in windows. I unticked fast format, so it took awhile. It recognizes and initiates the SD cards almost instantly.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4406
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flash Swiss to WASP

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:47 am

Had me worried there for a bit, make sure you use <= 64GB SD on the WASP cause that's the max it supports in hardware.
Image
Locked