Newbie PAL Gamecube questions. Please help!

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Kaart

Newbie PAL Gamecube questions. Please help!

Post by Kaart » Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:04 pm

I'm completely new to the Gamecube modding scene and not a native English speaker but please bear with me.

This is probaly a realy noob question but I cannot find a definitive answer anywhere on the internet. I own a PAL Gamecube with some games. I'm trying to get the best image quality possible and looking to buy a Carby HDMI adapter.

I know that PAL games don't support 480p but can be forced to run in 480p with Swiss.
1. Do the games look the same as NTSC games using a NTSC Gamecube?
2. And are they running in 60hz? Even if they don't support PAL60 like most PAL Gamecube games.
3. Is there an other/better way to play PAL Gamecube games in 480p/60hz other than buying a NTSC Gamecube and games.

Thanks in advance!
Extrems

Re: Newbie PAL Gamecube questions. Please help!

Post by Extrems » Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:43 pm

1) Yes, or better.
2) Yes, but PAL-optimized titles can run fast. 576p is also an option.
3) No.
Kaart

Post by Kaart » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:53 pm

Extrems wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:43 pm
1) Yes, or better.
2) Yes, but PAL-optimized titles can run fast. 576p is also an option.
3) No.
Thank you for your answers. What are PAL-optimized games? How do I know if a game is PAL-optimized? I have the following games.

Metroid Prime
Metroid Prime 2: Echoes
Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem
Super Smash Bros. Melee
Star Wars Rogue Leader: Rogue Squadron II
Pikmin 2
TimeSplitters 2
Beyond Good & Evil
Mario Kart: Double Dash!!
Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes
Resident Evil 4
The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
Soul Calibur 2
Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time
SSX 3
Super Mario Sunshine
Extrems

Post by Extrems » Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:08 pm

They're games running at normal speed in 50Hz.