Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Post Reply
User avatar
Boetz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:57 pm
Contact:

Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by Boetz » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:07 pm

Hi Emukidid and all other super coders!
I would like to know if it is possible to play games of the "Triforce" arcade system (Mario Kart Arcade GP 1 & 2, etc ...) by using a classic GameCube and Swiss?
If so, what is the procedure?
If not, would this function be possible and easily achievable?
A new challenge in a way ...!?!
What is your opinion ?
Platinum GameCube DOL-101 PAL - Viper Extrem - SD Gecko - RGB SCART cable
White Wii PAL - LetterBombed - HBC - USB HDD - Composant cable
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by Papy.G » Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:05 pm

Hello, and welcome.

There are hardware-based enhancements added to the GameCube's mainboard in the triforce that can't just be emulated on a bare GameCube.

According to what I've read here and there, some games are stocked on memory chips and accessed by the console just as in a cartridge-based one so all the RAM can be used by manipulated data while the program itself (code) is fetched straight off the ROM to be executed. Some games would be run off Bigger discs or HDDs, and a Ram expansion can be added too. Don't know wether it is true or not, it seems to be repeated almost everywhere the topic is discussed.

While the Wii is an upgrade to the GC, some homebrew (QuadForce for example) tend to give you an opportunity to play some of them on it, but it is hard to simulate all the controls on standard controller, that an arcade cab isn't.

If it is only for F-Zero AX, the whole thing is on F-Zero-GX commercial disc, there are codes to unlock its full potential. And don't forget to get your hands on a Logitech SpeedForce for Gamecube!
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by Extrems » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:12 am

It's possible.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by Papy.G » Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:19 pm

On a bare GameCube (without hardware add-ons such as a memory expansion) from SWISS?

Do you say that no Triforce games use more than the Gamecube's MB memory, and don't run code any where else than from this very RAM (loading from any mass storage to RAM before executing the code)? That would mean at the cost of (much) longer loading times (wich is only a little concern from the player's side, if not during gameplay, IMHO)
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
niuus
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 2:03 am

Re: Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by niuus » Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm

Extrems wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:12 am
It's possible.
My mind was blown. :o
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4604
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:05 am

It's basically just porting the patches from Nintendont and making it take up less memory or hoping the games work with less arena memory.
Image
User avatar
ledu205
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:39 am
Location: france

Re: Triforce arcade games with Swiss

Post by ledu205 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:02 pm

it would be great to be able to triforce games
Post Reply