Swiss memory card emulation

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Post Reply
sd_dracula
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:02 pm

Swiss memory card emulation

Post by sd_dracula » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:15 pm

Hi guys,
I just downloaded Swiss v0.5r963 and trying out the memoery card emulation but not sure if I configured it correctly because whenever I launch a game I get card is corrupted and need to be formatted.
I am running a PAL GC with gc loader on latest FW and an SD2SP with a 2GB SD card. Swiss runs from boot.iso on the gcloader.
All the games are on a 128GB SD in gcloader and on the SD2SP i jus thave igr.dol for the reset.

Do I have something misconfigured or the functionality is too new and it is hit and miss?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1041
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Extrems » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:52 pm

Format it.
Django
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Django » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:54 pm

I had the same issue. Thanks for the reply. Now I see its posible to mount virtual MC and see it on the GC menu. How do I mount the memory Card?

Image
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1041
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Extrems » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:02 pm

Use boot through IPL.
Django
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Django » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:14 pm

i have the "Boot through IPL" enabled (I see the GC boot screen when I start the console or after starting a game), but GC menu says I dont have any MC on both slots. If I plug a MC on slot B it says B has a MC, but not on A. Im using a SD2SP2 with a 8GB card
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1041
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Extrems » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:18 pm

You must start a game using it, and then hold the A button to cancel boot.
Django
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Django » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:23 pm

Works perfect. Now I can copy all my PSO Quest to the virtual MC (almost 300 blocks on 2 251 cards) Thank you so much.
sd_dracula
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by sd_dracula » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:54 pm

Extrems wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:52 pm
Format it.
I did but then powered off the GC, loaded another game and corrupted again.
Django
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Django » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:08 pm

sd_dracula, if you're using a SD bigger than 2GB format It on exfat with 32Kb cluster.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1041
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by Extrems » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:13 pm

sd_dracula wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:54 pm
I did but then powered off the GC, loaded another game and corrupted again.
You have a set of memory cards per game region. Were they the same?
sd_dracula
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by sd_dracula » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:28 pm

There is a chance one game was PAL and one NTSC, let me try it again.
And the card in the sd2sp2 is 2gb
sd_dracula
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: Swiss memory card emulation

Post by sd_dracula » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:45 pm

Yup that was it thanks, I loaded pal then ntsc so had to format twice and I assumed I formatted same cards :)
Let's hope the wireless controller issue gets fixed next
Post Reply