Boot Directly to Swiss from SDGecko?

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
dantheman2865

Boot Directly to Swiss from SDGecko?

Post by dantheman2865 » Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:35 pm

Good Day,

I've been tinkering with Gamecube hacking for about 2-3 years now and looking for a shortcut. I have a DOL-001 (USA) with a XenoGC and a BBA. Currently my method for loading homebrew is to boot GCOS 1.X, load the Swiss DOL over the network and then boot things off the SD card (through the SDGecko). The primary reason I am doing it this way is because that GCOS disc is the only homebrew disc I have ever gotten to boot properly. :lol: Secondarily, playing backed up games over the BBA is pretty unstable...

Anyway, my question is this: Is there any part of the GC boot process that supports booting directly off the SD card over EXI? If so, could we make a desktop utility that formats the card the proper way to support this? I tried looking for some clues in YAGCD but my programming experience is mostly with embedded computers (Atmel, etc.).

I am pretty sure this is how SDML worked but I know there was some additional hardware involved in that, not just an SDGecko.

I noticed an "Install" function in Swiss 0.1, is that what this does? If so, could this be adapted into a desktop program? If you can point me to the source code responsible for "Installing" I could replicate it in .NET. :lol:

Thanks for your help!
infact

Re: Boot Directly to Swiss from SDGecko?

Post by infact » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:21 pm

I will try to keep my answers short, if you want to know further details feel free to ask. ;-)

There can be multiple reasons, why your cube is not booting any other homebrew disc beside that gcos disc. So there are many possible fixes for that (laser tweak, other dvd burner, other dvd brand, trying a confirmed working homebrew iso, etc.)