Swiss 0.2

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Air Conditioner » Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:24 pm

Will the updated version work without the DD mobo plugged into the main mother-board? I've only ever gotten Swiss to bott from my Qoob Pro with the DD board in. :D
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4562
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:27 am

Mizumi, yes it'll work without the DD board in ;)
Image
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Air Conditioner » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:49 am

Formerly Mizumi
panmusic
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by panmusic » Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:52 am

Dear Emu_kidid,will Luigi's Mansion be playable in the next version?I am dying to play this marvellous game again... :-)
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by liquitt » Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:21 am

panmusic wrote:Dear Emu_kidid,will Luigi's Mansion be playable in the next version?I am dying to play this marvellous game again... :-)
www.ebay.com :mrgreen:
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Air Conditioner » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:35 pm

Any news on the release date?
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4562
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:56 pm

Sorry, I've been swamped, but my mind is still on ways to improve Swiss - particularly from SDGecko ;)
Image
User avatar
Ploggy
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:09 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Ploggy » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:05 am

panmusic wrote:Dear Emu_kidid,will Luigi's Mansion be playable in the next version?I am dying to play this marvellous game again... :-)

If you've got a Wii then you could try DML (dios mios lite) it's had a pretty substantial update recently that allows alot more Games to be playable at fullspeed (including Luigi's Mansion) ;)
User avatar
_Nold_
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:55 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by _Nold_ » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:18 am

Mizumi wrote:Any news on the release date?
It's still open-source that means: it's done - when it's done :lol:
| DOL-001 (EUR) Indigo | WKF Plug'n'Play Diskdrive Replacement | BBA |
| Internalised: WaveBird, Keyboard Adapter, MemoryCard, SD-Adapter |

| DOL-001 (EUR) | >> First Gamecube Portable - Worklog
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by liquitt » Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:37 pm

wait, does that mean duke nukem forever is open source?
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
Naxil
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:56 pm

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Naxil » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:54 pm

hi people.. can i play 2disk game?? that is possible?
panmusic
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by panmusic » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:56 pm

Ploggy wrote:
panmusic wrote:Dear Emu_kidid,will Luigi's Mansion be playable in the next version?I am dying to play this marvellous game again... :-)

If you've got a Wii then you could try DML (dios mios lite) it's had a pretty substantial update recently that allows alot more Games to be playable at fullspeed (including Luigi's Mansion) ;)
I think that in order to use DML you ought to use a particular cIOS that ovewrites cMIOS used for Swiss.I once tried to install a particular DML wad that after the installation I could not use Swiss anymore (system reset in WiiPower's Swiss-Booter via HBC).
So,I prefer by miles Swiss and actually I tossed an idea in GBA forums to implement Swiss in a future Wiiflow revision (with downloadable covers,Ocarina cheats).
In a second thinking,I hope that my enthusiasm did not angered Emu_Kidid... :oops:
User avatar
Ploggy
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:09 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Ploggy » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:49 pm

I imagine it would be possible to keep Swiss on the Wii's real nand and use DML on an emulated nand. Best of both worlds.!

I should point out I'm not bashing on Swiss, far from it. I'm just saying if a game doesn't work on Swiss that works on DML, whats the harm in switching back and forth. :)
panmusic
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by panmusic » Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:59 pm

I think that Emu_Kidid is actually keeping an eye in DML development.Perhaps every progress DML makes can benefit Swiss too and vice versa!
roubagalinhas
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Braga, PT

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by roubagalinhas » Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:02 am

liquitt wrote:
panmusic wrote:Dear Emu_kidid,will Luigi's Mansion be playable in the next version?I am dying to play this marvellous game again... :-)
http://www.ebay.com :mrgreen:
i have a mint luigi's mansion NTSC-J copy :D
the only downside is that i dont have a wii atm
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by liquitt » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:34 am

panmusic wrote:I think that Emu_Kidid is actually keeping an eye in DML development.Perhaps every progress DML makes can benefit Swiss too and vice versa!
I wouldnt neccessarily think so... After all swiss is a gamecube program and has always been...
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
WiiWizards
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:48 pm

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by WiiWizards » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:57 pm

I am using SDGecko , latest version off swiss and it works, but when I try to load an iso it gives me the error: lid open.
Doesnt the changelog says you dont need a disc anymore ? Sorry if already mentioned but i cannot find the answer..
User avatar
infact
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by infact » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:41 pm

WiiWizards: you have to use a recent svn build and change the behaviour ("Force No DVD Drive Mode" and/or "No Disc Mode") in the options.
infact
Image Image
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Air Conditioner » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:35 am

Any new updates on development?
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4562
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:45 am

Image
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Air Conditioner » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:53 am

Oh sorry. I missed that page.
Formerly Mizumi
Paul.str
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Paul.str » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:05 am

Why did you sneak mp3 support into swiss?
(I haven't tested it, I was just digging through the source and saw it.)
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4562
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:45 am

Cause it's a 10 minute code addition, basically I wanted to listen to an MP3 one day that was on my SD card and test reliability reading from certain devices :)
Image
Paul.str
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by Paul.str » Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:13 pm

Why do you include swiss.h in swiss.c, but then re-include a number of functions that are already called in swiss.h?

(#include <gccore.h>) for example is in both swiss.h and swiss.c.

I don't know much about programming, though.
User avatar
KirovAir
Posts: 209
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:13 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Swiss 0.2

Post by KirovAir » Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:15 pm

Paul.str wrote:Why do you include swiss.h in swiss.c, but then re-include a number of functions that are already called in swiss.h?

(#include <gccore.h>) for example is in both swiss.h and swiss.c.

I don't know much about programming, though.
You might wanna ask those questions again after you've learned some programming.. ;)
"The only thing more dangerous than a hardware guru with a code patch is a programmer with a soldering iron."
Post Reply