Page 1 of 1

Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:24 pm
by Ashen
A guy over on Modretro did a nice little writeup on this and I asked permission to copy it over here. All credit for this writeup to Zeldaxppro.
zeldaxpro wrote:Hey guys zeldaxpro here with a theory on GameCube IPL. I am currently in the process of making a GameCube Portable and have been testing many GameCubes to decide what motherboard is the best to use with a Wiikey Fusion Modchip. I recently bought a lot of 5 GameCubes labeled "AS IS" and I was diagnosing the problems (turns out the only problems were faulty disc drives). When I was trying out one of the GameCubes, I noticed that it had a red "Press Start" menu instead of the normal purple Start menu that all the others had. Now I did some research about this in regards to IPL and have not found anything. So I am presenting my theory: If your GameCube "Press Start" Menu is Red, then it is IPL 1.0 and incompatible with the Wiikey Fusion.

Ashen made a statement on GameCube IPL:

All PAL GameCubes = IPL 1.1+

NSTC-U/J GameCubes:

Dol-CPU-10: IPL 1.0
Dol-CPU-11: 50/50 chance of IPL 1.0 or 1.1
Dol-CPU-20/30= IPL 1.1+
Dol-101 (Rev C)= IPL 1.1+

Me and a friend have tested out all the GameCube Motherboards we had and here were the results:

1. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-10, Made in Japan: Red Start Menu
2. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-11, Made in Japan: Red Start Menu
3. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-11, Made in Japan: Red Start Menu
4. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-11, Made in Japan: Purple Start Menu
5. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-11, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
6. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-20, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
7. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-30, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
8. Dol-001, NTSC-U, CPU-30, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
9. Dol-101, NTSC-U, CPU-50, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
10. Dol-101, NTSC-U, CPU-50, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
11. Dol-101, NTSC-U, CPU-50, Made in China: Purple Start Menu
12. Dol-101, NTSC-U, CPU-50, Made in China: Purple Start Menu

Now these results match up to Ashen's statement on GameCube IPL (the information below is based just on our test results):

NSTC-U/J GameCubes:

Dol-CPU-10: IPL 1.0....Had a Red Start Menu
Dol-CPU-11: 50/50 chance of IPL 1.0 or 1.1....Both had Red and Purple Start Menus
Dol-CPU-20/30= IPL 1.1+....Had Purple Start Menus
Dol-101 (Rev C)= IPL 1.1+....Had Purple Start Menus

So this information shows that Red Start Menus indicate IPL 1.0. Now I am not saying this Theory is true, but the evidence above is leaning toward validation. If you guys have anything to add feel free to post it. Thanks for reading.

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:25 pm
by megalomaniac
Nice and simple if the theory holds true...

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 11:53 am
by liquitt
ha! i never knew!

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:48 pm
by retronerd
Hello i have an Dol-CPU-11 NTSC with Red start text. Can i use the wasp with this Gamecube?

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:22 pm
by Streetwalker
There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:44 pm
by retronerd
Streetwalker wrote:There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.
What do you mean? I already have an wasp chip and tought my console was not compatible?

can i flash swiss on wasp using an wii?

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:10 pm
by emu_kidid
retronerd wrote:
Streetwalker wrote:There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.
What do you mean? I already have an wasp chip and tought my console was not compatible?

can i flash swiss on wasp using an wii?
This is what happens when you read forum posts from 2013 - as Streetwalker said, you can use it on IPL 1.0 if it's running Swiss.

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:29 am
by retronerd
emu_kidid wrote:
retronerd wrote:
Streetwalker wrote:There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.
What do you mean? I already have an wasp chip and tought my console was not compatible?

can i flash swiss on wasp using an wii?
This is what happens when you read forum posts from 2013 - as Streetwalker said, you can use it on IPL 1.0 if it's running Swiss.
Okay! But i have an NTSCU 1.1 is that ipl 1.0? can i flash swiss to wasp using a wii console?

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:19 pm
by retronerd
Streetwalker wrote:There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.
Is it possible to flash it with an wii?

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:46 pm
by teconmoon
retronerd wrote:
Streetwalker wrote:There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.
Is it possible to flash it with an wii?
Yes, it's how I flashed my WASP Fusion that I ordered from eurasia

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 4:13 pm
by retronerd
teconmoon wrote:
retronerd wrote:
Streetwalker wrote:There is no problem with using wasp on ipl 1.0 as long as swiss is flashed on it. If you order from badass consoles it will already be done.
Is it possible to flash it with an wii?
Yes, it's how I flashed my WASP Fusion that I ordered from eurasia
Thanks! My mobo is NTSCU V11 vith red Start logo can i be sure it is IPL1.0?

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:44 pm
by teconmoon
retronerd wrote:
teconmoon wrote:
retronerd wrote: Is it possible to flash it with an wii?
Yes, it's how I flashed my WASP Fusion that I ordered from eurasia
Thanks! My mobo is NTSCU V11 vith red Start logo can i be sure it is IPL1.0?
There is not a definitive way to determine if your IPL is 1.0, based on the first post. It also doesn't matter what IPL you have if you're planning on using your GameCube for Swiss.

WiiKey / WASP Fusion support IPL 1.0 AFTER Swiss has been flashed to it, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:54 pm
by retronerd
teconmoon wrote:
retronerd wrote:
teconmoon wrote: Yes, it's how I flashed my WASP Fusion that I ordered from eurasia
Thanks! My mobo is NTSCU V11 vith red Start logo can i be sure it is IPL1.0?
There is not a definitive way to determine if your IPL is 1.0, based on the first post. It also doesn't matter what IPL you have if you're planning on using your GameCube for Swiss.

WiiKey / WASP Fusion support IPL 1.0 AFTER Swiss has been flashed to it, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
Thanks! I want to know if i shall buy a wii just to flash the wasp, if i had ipl1.1 i doenst need a wii, thats why

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:32 pm
by teconmoon
I would either borrow a Wii from someone or just buy one off eBay that has a broken disk drive. This for example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/282186112304

But then you'd need a Wii remote, sensor bar (or candles), power cable and AV cable, so buying a Wii JUST to flash a WASP isn't a great idea.

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 3:51 pm
by retronerd
teconmoon wrote:I would either borrow a Wii from someone or just buy one off eBay that has a broken disk drive. This for example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/282186112304

But then you'd need a Wii remote, sensor bar (or candles), power cable and AV cable, so buying a Wii JUST to flash a WASP isn't a great idea.
I found a cheap wii:) do i need an sdgecko to flash the wasp when i using the wii?

Re: Identifiying (roughly) what IPL you have.

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:48 pm
by teconmoon
retronerd wrote:
teconmoon wrote:I would either borrow a Wii from someone or just buy one off eBay that has a broken disk drive. This for example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/282186112304

But then you'd need a Wii remote, sensor bar (or candles), power cable and AV cable, so buying a Wii JUST to flash a WASP isn't a great idea.
I found a cheap wii:) do i need an sdgecko to flash the wasp when i using the wii?
Yes you do, follow the wiki instructions for best results: http://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.ph ... sion_Flash