SD gecko not working properly?

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
Post Reply
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

SD gecko not working properly?

Post by Air Conditioner » Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:22 pm

Could someone tell me why this isnt working? Iv'e been trying to fix it for a while now and nothings seems to be working... :X

http://imgur.com/a/TCbA8
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
SouLSLayeR
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:36 pm
Location: Greece

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by SouLSLayeR » Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:04 pm

I don't see 3.3 volts going to the sense pin. (= when you power up the gc, the slot should appear empty).
If you connect the sense pin an error message should pop up.

Retake this pic so that the connections are displayed clearly.

Also, if you haven't already done so, read this carefully, and troubleshoot accordingly.
Pay attention to the pictures of the slots and their respective motherboard side, getting them wrong won't end up well >_>
Last edited by SouLSLayeR on Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by Air Conditioner » Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:23 pm

so just put a wire from 3.3v to the sense and see if that works?
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
SouLSLayeR
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:36 pm
Location: Greece

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by SouLSLayeR » Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:25 pm

Yup, just like in the diagram.
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by Air Conditioner » Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:05 pm

Thanks man! It works spiffy now. :D
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
SouLSLayeR
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:36 pm
Location: Greece

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by SouLSLayeR » Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:13 pm

np :D
Actually when I first tried to do that I made (or, actually, didn't :P) exactly the same thing.
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by Air Conditioner » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:25 am

Glad to know I'm not the only one. But for some reason Swiss 0.3 dosn't work. Only 0.2. I guess I'll stick with 0.2 until I can find a fix. But 0.2 runs flawlessly. so no problem there. But it would be nice to get some of those extra options...
Formerly Mizumi
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4645
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:37 am

is 0.3 still waiting endlessly on "Reading slot b"?

after that, what it tries to do is ask the dvd drive if it exists or not, so what's your DVD setup like, no drive? in either case it should continue. try Swiss with no devices at all inserted, what does it do?
Image
User avatar
Air Conditioner
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:40 am

Re: SD gecko not working properly?

Post by Air Conditioner » Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:03 am

How odd. When I boot 0.3 using 0.2 it works.

Image

But its a ton of clicking and whatnot to get it running.

otherwise yes, 0.3 continues the endless loading.

Ill flash 0.3 to my qoob and get back to you about the no devices.
Formerly Mizumi
Post Reply