My WODE Gamecube Original

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:28 am

Hello members of GC-Forever Forums, in first place, my apologies for the large absence of our forum of my part. Many occupations in my life and as i no had a Wode or Wiikey Fusion to mod my Gamecube or Wii to testing and share knowledge with you people, i refrained of participate in the topics.

However, recently my sister traveled to Europe for vacations, particulary to Spain and France, and i had the oportunity of obtain any of these chips and finally modify mi precious GC. The chip purchased is a Wode Jukebox, in the ChipSpain Store, in Spain which still has stock of this chip for 49 EUR.

I modified my GameCube with Wode and i share my results with you. I used various tutorials of the GC-Forever forums to make the differents procedures and modify the cube. My intention was to preserve the GC integrity the most possible, for the use of original dvd drive to rip games and play the Streaming games, keeping the originality of gamecube. Due the big size of the Wode Jukebox, i decided the best place to locate the chip was under of the motherboard. To hold the chip, i soldered 3 wires to the metal cover to the isolated points in the corners and one more unwelded in the last corner of the wode chip. Also I made the connections for the power directly from the regulator board. Obviously i place the protective sticker under the Wode chip to insulate of the metal cover. (See The Picture below):

Image

Once the chip set, I started making connections to connect the Wode with the motherboard and the DVD drive.

I based my work on this tutorial of Ashen: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=759 I did as it is explained there, only soldered 19 wires. I use 80 Wires IDE Cable:

Back side

Image

Front Side.

Image

I extracted the DVD drive connector from the mainboard, with no damage and with a dremel i made a little groove hole to pass the cable which connet again the dvd drive later.

Image

The Idea of extract the dvd drive connector with no damage, is recyclate later to connect the drive to wode maintaining the original shape.

Image

I soldered the cable going to the host connector of the wode to the motherboard of GC and covered it with hot glue to protec and isolate. I left the 29 pin cable to connect it apart later. To pins numeratiion i use this guide from Ashen: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=416

Image

Later, I measured the distance needed to connect the cable to the host port of the wode, and I bent the wire to make it accurate and well accommodated.

Image

Then I started working in the cable connecting the DVD. I left it much longer due to the distance to the connector wode. Other measurements allowed me to bend the wire to make it well off, like the other, and pass right through the middle of the chip headspace.

Image

I pass the wire for the groove hole and commencing soldering every wire to the original dvd connector. Note: I cut each connector pin leaving only the distance needed for welding. For the pins numeration i use this guide from kel01: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=758&start=24

Image

Also soldered the GND and 5V wires at their original points (only 2 each) and made ​​welding, covered with hot glue. Note: The large alone white ide wire, is the pin 29 cable wode host side. The short alone wire, back the 5v wires (red) is the pin 29 cable DVD side.

Image

Locating the connector in place and welding the two attachment points.

Image

Then order the cables correctly.

Image

Image

Image

Image

And connect ...

Image

The site less problematic to place the flex of Wode Slave is passing through these 2 screws. I put on piece of electrical tape to protect the flex pressure between the mainboard and the metal cover.

Image

Image

Later connect the slave flex, bending so you pass under the dvd cable aligns with the site between the 2 screws where going out.

Image

Image

Image

Put the mainboard in place.

Image

Under construction.

Troubleshooting

At first, the wode on but did not work, and the error screen appeared in the GC. After thoroughly reviewing the connections and i make sure all was well, I noticed that the problem was in the switch that detects whether the lid is open or closed (Host connector-mainboard pin 23). In his tutorial, Ashen indicates, which this pin must be connected normally to GND through a normally closed push button or switch on / off. However, in this state, (pin 23 to gnd) the GC did not recognize the WODE and throws the error screen. The solution was to leave this switch off (pin 23 and gnd disconnected). I do not know if this is an isolated case, or if so, it sought answers reading a lot on forums and everywhere appears that this switch must be on. I would discuss this matter with you people if possible.

After, During performance testing, I noticed that the wode worked intermittently, ie sometimes not work and gamecube put the error screen, and others moments works correctly and runs backups for any mass storage. Reading and reading our forums for hours, in the tutorial of Ashen, i see the 32 pin 3.3v supply in the Wode Host Connector lacking. To fix this, i made a bridge between 3.3v of Wode power Host connector and pin 32 of the host connector. And put the upper protection sticker of wode.

Image

After this, the wode worked properly, at least from the storage devices. Maybe some random errors occasionally.

Image

Image

Also at the principle, my GC drive doesn't work. This problem occurred because i placed all the wires on dvd port incorrectly, specifically in inverted number position (1 in 29, 3 in 28, 4 in 27, etc) This error arises from the fact that the numbering of all wires and was not directly stated in the tutorials (at least i not see it).

Image

I noticed the problem when I put a Wii drive unit to test, because the position of the flex that connects with the drive to the wode. and seeing the pin numbering of the wii units defined by Ashen.

Image

I builded every cable exactly to the Ashen tutorial, following the same numeration he is indicates to the host port. I thought it was the same for both cables. A fool error on mi part. Therefore remember that pin 1 is the one next to "DVD" word in WODE and32 is next to J4 as indicate megalomaniac in the discussion.

Image
Under construction.

Sorry the bad english. Those English speakers who wish to correct paragraphs, write the private and gladly will place the relevant corrections.
Attachments
IMG-20140425-01493_zps500a9b8c.jpg
(143.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140425-01491_zps26750837.jpg
(142.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01472_zps812756b0.jpg
(48.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01471_zps2d7b8dca.jpg
(49.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01467_zpsbd936c86.jpg
(74.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01466_zps7fc1ea1a.jpg
(91.3 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01463_zps48d9c8f5.jpg
(75.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01462_zps8ced735c.jpg
(83.86 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01460_zps85d772f9.jpg
(115.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140421-01459_zpsc778ce61.jpg
(99.7 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01427_zps6b3a11a2.jpg
(90.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01426_zpsf7b3b9dd.jpg
(65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01424_zps1fc1d301.jpg
(136.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01423_zps23634781.jpg
(146.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01422_zps1468e7d5.jpg
(99.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01421_zpsc01b3c6d.jpg
(112.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140419-01420_zps461ad5d5.jpg
(95.02 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01414_zpse3666cc7.jpg
(76.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01408_zps3f3d04d8.jpg
(115.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01407_zps1b371fb4.jpg
(99.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01406_zps022ab46e.jpg
(165.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01405_zpsf5f60e49.jpg
(84.47 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01404_zps48dcff2b.jpg
(89.1 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01403_zpsce384c72.jpg
(41.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140418-01402_zps4c066ee0.jpg
(41.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet
3.png
(853.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1.png
(944.44 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by linkerm on Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:43 am, edited 11 times in total.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:47 am

great idea to cut that location and pass a cable thru
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:27 am

Very nice mod so far !
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by kel01 » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:15 pm

Nice work. It will be interesting to see where you put the rest of it. Fitting a WODE inside a GC is not the easiest task as there is not much room to play around with.

As far as I remember the ripping feature will not work on the GC.

If you need any tips with fitting the LCD board then let me know. It's been a while but I would say that was probably the most awkward and time consuming part.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:35 pm

Well according to Mega, WODE ripping works. I don't remember if it's only with a Wii drive or if it works with the GC drive though.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:54 pm

WODE ripper only works with a Wii DVD drive
Use CleanRip for a WODE with GC DVD drive
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4496
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:49 pm

Looking pretty good there, it's not an easy feat to install a WODE let alone keep the original DVD drive connected, well done!
Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:52 pm

Hi friends thank you for participating and for giving the nod to my work. I waited almost 4 years since the first discussions in Gc-Forever to make it happen. I'll placing the progress, because I'm still solving the remaining problems and the design, I hope to have your support. ;)

For example, i have not yet managed to make the DVD drive works. Already checked the connections and everything is in order, but for some reason, when I start a game from the unit, (flat wode) it starts the disc, until arrives one time it freezes, the blue LED on the wode off and the error screen appears on the gamecube. If i use Wode Rip Mode, disk initialized, but it's frozen again and appears in the wode screen the message error 102. When frozen, the disc stops but the laser is left on until the lid switch continue pressed. I leave a video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkpuP_q ... e=youtu.be :cry:
Last edited by linkerm on Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:33 pm

There's that "Wii eject" message. Did you try another game ?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4496
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:37 pm

Based on the video, it sounds like the disc passed authentication, and the laser either failed to read the disc (I couldn't hear it well enough, but maybe the laser did a few quick seeks and died), or the region is being forced incorrectly on your WODE for the GameCube you've connected it to.

The fact that the drive is receiving commands successfully to reset it and read the disk ID is a very good sign though.
Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:14 am

Thanks for your answers dear friends. I've tried two drives and the problem persists. The drive in video is not modified. I placed another drive with xeno and emu_kidid is right, the disc passed authentication, xeno green led on, but for some reason, it freezes and the error occurs. I suspect the Wode, thoroughly checked the connections several times and I are fine. O maybe the configuration of the pins 29 on both sides of wode, the host and DVD. In the host side i put a swich with changes GND or 1.9v. The pin 29 dvd side its connect to GND, by the kel01 tutorial i follow. And no forget of the pins 23 and 32 problem i mentioned in the troubleshooting.

Estimated Streetwalker the Wii Eject message means that button must be pressed (in this case the swich) to out Wode flat mode. Almost forgot to mention that I tried the drive in another gamecube and works well.

greetings.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4496
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:51 am

Did you check the region setting on the Wode? I'm not 100% sure but it might play a role.
Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:43 am

Yes my friend, i checked, in wode menu, Wii region is established in US Setting, patch Off. If game patch is in on. Occurs same case. I remember long time ago, i use GCOS to change the IPL Region when I had installed qoob (which withdrew to install wode), i tried setting the EUR to probe and no results. originally my GC it's american but for the use of gcos, i not sure if i changed the ipl region or not in that opportunity. I have other wode and I will try to discard the chip. I have questions. I read about pin 31 required to connect to GND in the Wiikey Fusion, and somethin about XenoFusion Mod. Anybody please explained me for what is this? and if applicable in the wode

Thanks a lot.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:41 am

PIN 31
wode does not need pin31
its only for WKF/WASP and only if using a Wii DVD drive...




since you can load isos from usb media, then you know your wires from WODE to GC are good.
the only times ive had problems with reading DVD disc from WODE or WKF is from a wire problem..
you might want to check again the pinout and confirm continuity...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:13 am

Thanks Megalomaniac. The Xeno fusion mod is for what? Please explain me bro. I tried the other wode and same error is to occurred. I'll have to double check the connections again. Meanwhile to response kel01 this is my idea of ​​where I want to position the screen and stick of wode.

Image
Attachments
IMG-20140422-01476_zps672bb8a0.jpg
(59.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by linkerm on Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:26 am

xenofusion was a concept before the discovery of swiss autoboot ability for WKF/WASP...
it is nothing useful for your testing of WODE
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:36 am

Thanks for your explanation. I wanted to thank you because of the detailed information that is in the thread of the Mega drive for GC. I think, may be possible transfer data of audio streaming for wode or wiikey-wasp fusion to the drive circuit to decodification and transfer after to mainboard What is your opinion?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:01 am

WKF/WASP/WODE have all been tested with audiostreaming titles..


WODE will passthru audiostreaming data in flatmode only...
WKF will not passthru audiostreaming data correctly without a few changes (internal WKF settings and MEGAwire mod for flatmode only)....
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
tueidj
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:57 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by tueidj » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:06 am

People already asked this but you didn't answer them: are you sure that disc isn't just dirty/scratched?
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:16 am

Well i check again every wire of the dvd to wode conector, check short circuits and continuity and the results it is all fine. Even got the card for the drive and put it in the conecctor and check each wire of the cable was well located, using the signs of kel01 tutorial. The only thing i find strange is that with wode connected to the cable (dvd port), the pins 15-17-19 and 21 marked continuity. Is the same for both wodes, so I think it is normal. Maybe i forgot something. And yes tueidj the disk is in good condition an the drive same. Between all this research, I found reading on a site that was necessary to modify the value of the drive laser for the wode worked well with the GC drive. But I'm not sure. Someone please check the info i posted and tell me it every is fine. I going to sleep in my country is the 4 am at this moment. See you tomorrow. Thanks a lot for all.
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by kel01 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:24 pm

I also had problems getting Flat-mode to work. I ended up shorting the 150 ohm resitor in series with the POT and then turning the POT way down to between 40-90 ohms in the end. Although I didn't like taking the POT down that low I couldn't get it to work any other way.

It could have been caused by my wire porn though because I think mega got Flat-mode working without lowering the POT using one of his Megadrives, if I remember correctly.
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:33 pm

Thanks kel01. Is that info contained in a topic? Might please leave the links to read them. I know I read but can not remember the topic. You see the video? Is the problem that you had looks like that happens to me? Thanks a lot.

Like I thought the location for the display and the stick? I removed the plastic cap logo and the screen is perfectly located on that site. I'm thinking a way feasible to extend the flex of the screen to place it there as desire.

Greetings.
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by kel01 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:05 pm

The info about my problems getting Flat-mode to work are in the thread that you linked to on your first post.

I saw the video but it's been a long time since I had problems with mine so I can't remember unfortunately.

That was the first place that I thought to put the LCD board too but the only problem is that you won't be able to recess it into the lid without getting in the way of the disc spinning. You could just fix it on top of the lid but then you would need to fabricate some sort of housing to make it look nice. The GameCube would no longer look like a stock GC either which is what I was aiming for.
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:55 am

Well bro my idea not is place the entire board screen in that place, only the screen and the stick. Only make a groove hole to pass the flex i need for the screen and cables for the stick. I was thinking other places for the board and SD/USB connectors.

Edit: I follow your advice and read again your post. I see a detail: You my friend put in your mod every GND wire. In my mod, i duplicate the same cable for both connectors (host and dvd) from Ashen tutorial (only 19 wires).

Image

I think the problem is right there, perhaps as the failure that occurred for not place the pin 32 to 3.3v in the Host Connector. Maybe Wode needs every GND in DVD connector to work properly. I try to apply a solution and comment with you people the results.

See ya.
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by kel01 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:18 pm

I see what you mean now. I never thought of separating the LCD and joystick from the board. It probably would have made things a lot easier if I had thought of that but in the end I'm happy with the end result even though it made fitting it very awkward for me :roll:

I used every GND wire because in my setup the only GND's to and from the WODE board were via the FCC cables. I did not use the power connectors on the WODE board at all.

You need to keep GND resistance as low as possible. If you have a big enough GND wire to and from the WODE board and drive then only 1 wire should be enough. In my case I was using 30AWG so I needed to use as many wires as possible.

I can't remeber if the WODE needs 3.3v on pin 32. I have a funny feeling that it doesn't but if you want to try it then just add a wire short from the regulator to the nearby capacitor on the WODE board like in the picture below to take 3.3v from the power connectors to pin 32. I did it to use 3.3v from pin 32 for the power connectors so it should work the same the other way around also.

Image
Post Reply