My WODE Gamecube Original

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:13 pm

Well I put GNDs wires and the same problem persist. I mount a Wii drive and flat wode its work, the wode malfunction is discard. Analysing the problem I have arrived to this observation: Where is the pin numbering of the wode and wiikey/wasp DVD port begins? In the tutorials of Ashen this important thing is not indicate, only the wii dvd and host port of wode-wiikey/wasp.

Image

I Made both cables identical and connect these follow the same numeration pattern of the host-wii dvd ports. However, when I connected the wii drive, i observed the flex position and I think the numbering of both ports in wode-wiikey/wasp are reversed, maybe to follow a line (flat). Anyone confirm if I'm right? Because maybe the problem is all wires in dvd port connector are in incorrect number position (reversed) :o then pin 1 is not that pointing the arrow at the dvd port, really is the 32.

Greetings.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:11 am

1 is next to "DVD"
32 is next to J4
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:07 am

Thanks megalomaniac, all wires are in incorrect place. I work to fix it. Tomorrow post my results. I have another question. I read clean rip not made a 100% rip with xeno and this chip it be off before use clean rip. How i do it? I read about connect gnd to pin reset in the xeno with on/off swich. Or disconnect the vcc. Please explain me.

Image

Thanks bro.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:47 am

you dont need a xeno
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Diminuendo
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Diminuendo » Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:59 am

If I remember correctly a Xeno wont even work with a WODE, only a WKF
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:02 am

Diminuendo wrote:If I remember correctly a Xeno wont even work with a WODE, only a WKF
it works with both, but its also unnecessary to use one
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:21 am

Finally i made it! GD Drive its works! The problem was all wires are inverted in the number position (1 in 29, 3 in 28, etc) on DVD cable. This error arises from the fact that the numbering of all wires and was not directly stated in the tutorials (at least i not see it). I builded every cable exactly to the Ashen tutorial, following the same numeration he is indicates. I thought it was the same for both cables. A fool error on mi part.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-cCR3k ... e=youtu.be

YEAH! :D

Thanks for all advice and the patience to respond me.

I also removed the bridge between pin 32 (which was actually 1) ​​and vcc 3.3v on DVD port in WODE because it was wrong.

Image

Megalomaniac, my GC drive have a xeno, i am thinking in not dismount it, therefore i made my question about disable it. I know it's no longer necessary because the Swiss, but i want keep it to avoid me the work of dismount, and for others tests. Please tell me what method is safe to disable xeno to make cleans rips, and reactivate it, one time the rip is finish. I thinking build the reset pin to GND. Please advise me. Thanks Bro.

Greetings.
Last edited by linkerm on Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:39 am

just make contact with reset and GND
thats it

solder leads to a switch so you can hold it in "off" state until you are done with rip
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:53 am

Thanks again megalomaniac. Finally i can work in the Wode screen position on GC. I actualize the first post with the information about the dvd connector problem. I hope you like it. soon i post my progress about the screen.

See ya!
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:18 am

If you upgrade the Xeno firmware, Swiss will automatically disable it, allowing you to boot DVD backups in flatmode without booting Swiss since you have the Xeno.
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:31 am

Thanks Streetwalker for the advice, Did you explain me the process to upgrade xeno please? Or maybe post a link i can it read. Thanks a lot.

Greetings.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:46 am

The procedure is on the wiki. It's basically a matter of setting the reset switch on the Xeno and running a DOL.
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:57 pm

Alright, i see the wiki http://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.ph ... noGC_Clone and this post viewtopic.php?f=15&t=439&start=96. But i have a question again. What version of dol it's required? Are varied and do not know which one to use. If you can, or another one clarify me more deeply, really appreciate it. Thanks again.

See ya!
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:33 pm

download/file.php?id=282
Download this, the DOL to use is the one at the root of the archive (name's XenoFlash or XenoFlash1.05, something along these lines).
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:50 pm

Ok. I will try to flash the xeno later and post my results. Soon show my work about the Wode screen position. Very thanks to you and all for your help to solve these problems in my mod. I really apreciate it.

Greetings. ;)
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by kel01 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 11:38 pm

Glad you got it sorted in the end. It will be interesting to see the end result.
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Sun May 04, 2014 1:09 pm

Hello guys sorry for the absence, i was sick the entire week, and didn't worked these days in my GC mod. Today i feel better and start my work again. This is my idea about the place of the other board of wode in my gamecube.

Image

To make it, i decide to sacrifice this little original piece of GC to make the board sustain.

Image

i cut this piece in three parts, First separate this.

Image

Later cut the rest in the middle and solder every one over GNDs points on WODE board, then bend to coincide with these holes.

Image

On the other hand, i use the 80 wire ide cable to connect again the SD port.

Image

Bent the cable to fit properly on this site and reach the wode.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I will place the USB port next to the SD. Working on it.

Under construction.

Greetings.
Attachments
IMG-20140504-01529_zps189b66ef.jpg
(83.86 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01528_zps2701e499.jpg
(79.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01527_zpscce81fa0.jpg
(96.77 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01526_zps300d5d85.jpg
(94.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01524_zps4180a178.jpg
(106.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01523_zpsd6fd6975.jpg
(111.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01522_zps124072e7.jpg
(120.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01521_zpsd7cee9dc.jpg
(140.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01511_zps68c00d23.jpg
(96.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet
IMG-20140504-01509_zps53fb3709.jpg
(95.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by Streetwalker » Sun May 04, 2014 1:17 pm

Yeah that piece you used connects the controller board's ground to the RF shield. Which is useless because ground is already connected to the motherboard through the FFC.
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue May 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Hello guys, sorry the adsense, many life occupations. I Worked again yesterday in my mod and here show my progress.

The final site to play Wode screen is the GC disc Cover. I not yet decided the site for the stick selector. I not sure to place it in the GC cover, beside the Wode screen or in another place. While I solve the dilemma, show i did for now:

Image

Image

I solder directly the new 30 pin flex in the Wode screen flex to lengthen it. And to pass the flex, i made various groove hole in these places it shows in the photos.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Finally, i bent the flex, with the necessary measures to cover the distance to where i locate the Wode Screen Card.

Image

And this is the cable with the Stick and backlight connections, these place is provisional in case to place the stick in the disc cover. It pass for the back side of the Screen flex, using the same holes.

Image

And these is the Sd an usb location.

Image

Greetings.

Under Construction.
Attachments
DSC01516_zps4a474d73.jpg
(70.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01515_zps863f7d02.jpg
(90.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01513_zps956aa9c9.jpg
(87.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01512_zps2ee79bc8.jpg
(52.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01511_zpsee5a335d.jpg
(66.03 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01510_zpse4cb79f5.jpg
(53.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01508_zpsfb623385.jpg
(51.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01504_zps5a203b2f.jpg
(54.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
DSC01498_zps94343262.jpg
(83.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
ShockSlayer
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 7:21 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by ShockSlayer » Tue May 27, 2014 5:13 pm

I must say I love the ANAL port.
Image
linkerm
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:56 am

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by linkerm » Tue May 27, 2014 6:14 pm

I had not noticed that little detail ... :shock:

You are a pervert. :lol:

This GC likes the backdoor. :mrgreen:

Greetings.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by megalomaniac » Tue May 27, 2014 7:23 pm

ShockSlayer wrote:I must say I love the ANAL port.
LMAO...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by kel01 » Thu May 29, 2014 1:12 pm

That's some quality soldering, where you connected the 2 FCC cables together 8-)

Most people including myself would probably end up melting both FCC's trying that.
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by liquitt » Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:40 am

WOW - that is fucking cool!!
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
User avatar
deckard
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: My WODE Gamecube Original

Post by deckard » Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:26 am

Sick project, very unique ideas. I dig the placement of the wode screen. Would be cool if you could somehow fit a modded crystal over the screen to make it look even cleaner but still see the display.
Post Reply