GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
Post Reply
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:44 am

Hey, so apparantly there's a bug in how 2.4a calcluates colors and a 2.5 rewritten version is on the way that's fixed this?

but I can't get much info on how to actually program the board other than RS232, would something like this https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/USB-To-RS232 ... SwsaZa2n8y work?

I happen to have one I used with a raspberry pi a while back.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:19 am

This looks like it should work. The pinout of the serial header on the Pluto is described here on page 14.
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:29 am

okay cool, thanks!
d4rkst4r
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Post by d4rkst4r » Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:30 pm

Hello everyone,

I tried to reprogramm my Pluto-IIx HDMI board over the serial interface. Unfortunately with no success.

I used a FTDI chip FT232R and connected it in this way:
FTDI GND to Pluto GND
FTDI Vcc (5V) to Pluto Vunreg
FTDI Rx (3V3) to Pluto Tx
FTDI Tx (3V3) to Pluto Rx

Then I opend FPGAconf, chose Pluto IIx S200 as the board and configured the right com port. After selecting the GCVideo DVI p2xh bit-File I pressed the button "program boot-prom".
But I always get an error: communication timeout.

Do I miss something? Has anybody succesfully updated the GCVideo firmare over the serial Interface?

I also tryed to invert the tx signal of the FTDI chip with FT_Conf but still not working.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Post by Papy.G » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:46 am

Maybe forgot to put pull-up resistor somewhere on the lines? :P
Don't know the pluto Board and FTDI you are using, but it is a very common issue when dealing with that kind of raw serial connexions. :roll:
Overclocked DMG
AGB/supercard miniSD
DS Fat/NeoMK3 2006 512Mb
DS Lite/flashme V8noautostealth/Supercard miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GBP/WiiSD+Gamexploit
RVL 001/RGB/CMP/WiiSD
d4rkst4r
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GCVideo DVI PLuto board reprogramming

Post by d4rkst4r » Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:16 pm

Thanks for your advice! Since I am on holiday I do not have access to an oscilloscope. For now I bought the official programming adapter from knjn. When it is delivered and I am back at work I will compare the signals of the official adapter to my FTDI chip with an oscilloscope. I will let you guys know if the official adapter works and I was able to find the issue.
Post Reply