Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
Post Reply
Krisk77
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:09 pm

Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by Krisk77 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:17 pm

Hi all,

I have a Viper GC (original non usb) chip that was flashed with GCOS 1.5 about 12 years ago, yet the programmer is now lost.

Is there anyway of reflashing this back to a Cobra bios without a programmer? I know it can be done via a dvd-r if Cobra is already flashed.

I already tried Swiss but it complained that the VGC file was not recognised/supported even though file managment was enabled.

Tia.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by Streetwalker » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:14 pm

There's currently no way to reflash it without a programmer if you're not already running Cobra.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:20 am

I can reflash it if you're willing to send the vipergc to me.
Image
Krisk77
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by Krisk77 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:25 am

emu_kidid wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:20 am
I can reflash it if you're willing to send the vipergc to me.
Were are you located?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:21 am

Krisk77 wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:25 am
emu_kidid wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:20 am
I can reflash it if you're willing to send the vipergc to me.
Were are you located?
Australia. Or I can send you a spare parallel programmer but it needs a flex cable (and you can keep it)
Image
Krisk77
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by Krisk77 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:15 am

emu_kidid wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:21 am
Krisk77 wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:25 am
emu_kidid wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:20 am
I can reflash it if you're willing to send the vipergc to me.
Were are you located?
Australia. Or I can send you a spare parallel programmer but it needs a flex cable (and you can keep it)
I'm uk based. If you can send the programmer i'd really appreciate that. PM your details so can pay for the shipping and programmer.

Thanks.
Krisk77
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by Krisk77 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:08 pm

That was the message in paypal.
Attachments
Screenshot_20190201-115657.png
(86.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:50 am

Krisk77 wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:08 pm
That was the message in paypal.
Yeah, replied in PM, wrong email sent.
Image
Krisk77
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by Krisk77 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:35 am

Hi,

Payment sent. Btw, I saw an old post of your's listing a Viper GC complete for $60 AUD. I guess you may have sold that now?

Thanks.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing a Viper GC chip without a programmer.

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:39 am

Payment received. Yeah I've sold it.
Image
Post Reply