How to know if Viper chip works

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
Post Reply
EthernumRasa
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:10 am

How to know if Viper chip works

Post by EthernumRasa » Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:04 pm

so i have a viper chip installed in a 001 gamecube. it was not able to read backups just originals. now i had time and tried tweaking the laser as i thought that it was the problem. originally the laser was set to around 200, and whatever setting i tried it didnt work. After tweaking the laser is dead now^^. so i tried switching out the laser from one of my other gamescubes.
IT showed 180 Ohm on the replacement laser. i istalled it and now original games play fine, buuuuuuuuuuuut backups still wount load. not even a burned swiss cd will load, it just reads and then the spinning stops and i get pushed to the gamecube menu. i also tried tweaking this replacent laser fron 180 to around 250 ohn and well still nothing. so is the chip not working (the menu load and everything, and i can even use the explorer on original games to see the files) or am i that lucky that i have two failing lasers :-/

edit: i have cobra 2.1 installed if that matters
cFmisfit
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:48 pm

Re: How to know if Viper chip works

Post by cFmisfit » Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:18 am

If the Cobra menu boots than the chip is working. Maybe an issue with the discs you are using or how you burning them.
EthernumRasa
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:10 am

Re: How to know if Viper chip works

Post by EthernumRasa » Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:23 am

I tried playing around with my normal gamecube where the replacement laser was from and i think the problem is in the laser itself. It died yesterday as well so now i have 2 completely dead lasers😅. I ordered a bunch of replacement lasers from aliexpress from different sellers, i hope by replacing the lasers completely i can fix the problem.
Post Reply