Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
whitemantis23
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 11:11 pm
Location: Belgium

Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by whitemantis23 » Sun May 13, 2012 4:28 pm

Hello

I have read in a post somewhere on this forum that you can apply patches on triforce / gamecube games. Does anybody has more information on this? Since i'm trying to run also my triforce games on my gamecube.... i'm not very common with patches so if someone could provide more information on how to write these, what knowledge do you need, which program do you use,...and if possible maybe email me an example.... ( in case > email triforcepower@hotmail.be).

Thanks
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by Dragoon » Sun May 13, 2012 4:33 pm

You need knowledge on asm, c++, the internal working of the gamecube, how an iso is created, and some other stuff that beats me.
Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4645
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by emu_kidid » Sun May 13, 2012 10:51 pm

crediar made some patches for the Wii to be able to run Triforce games, but they would need to be ported to the Gamecube. I haven't taken any steps towards doing this yet as I've been so busy but it would be nice to one day have this functionality.
Image
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Mon May 14, 2012 9:32 am

has crediar made his patches public?
would be great to test mario kart gp and gp 2 on my wii but cant find these patches
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4645
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by emu_kidid » Mon May 14, 2012 10:02 am

No and imho they were only specific for Mario kart
Image
whitemantis23
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 11:11 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by whitemantis23 » Mon May 14, 2012 5:54 pm

I have seen the videos from crediar, but how does he patch it? with C++ or assembly?
I would like to start experimenting with some patching since i have a spare gamecube that i would like to modd.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4645
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by emu_kidid » Tue May 15, 2012 1:02 am

the patches are in assembly and a combination of C that runs on the IPC (Starlet) CPU via calls hooked in by using assembly to patch certain functions.

The problem is that as the GameCube does not have such a "spare" CPU or extra memory, the patches would need to be ported to the GameCube to not utilize the extra CPU and do everything on the PowerPC. This introduces many issues, primarily memory constraints, but it is possible with a bit of work which I hope to get to port one day.
Image
whitemantis23
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 11:11 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by whitemantis23 » Thu May 17, 2012 5:59 pm

So if i understand wel, he patches the game with assembly instructions so that the CPU can play the game on the WII? Do you think that an modded gamecube can read a writen mini Dvd where the patched game has been burned on? Since there is not a sd card slot available for the gamecube (maybe SD gecko adapter).
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4645
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by emu_kidid » Thu May 17, 2012 10:27 pm

Yes, it's possible but very complex to do.
Image
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by wii_HD » Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:17 pm

So........

Turns out the wii TriForce - quadforce - emulator as been leaked then released in final unfinished form by the upset author (crediar)

I do understand why crediar is pissed but when you release code to parties you do not trust - 100% lock down - what do you expect how many times as this happened in the past.

Circles within circles.

Chalk up another body of abandonware.
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:40 pm

hmm im very sad :( wavebird support would be good.
maybe if crediar made an announcement that this piece of code will be released when its done, nobody had leaked it but he never said if it will be released or not he only posted videos of it.

hmm but now I will try it :D waited so long to play these to games :D
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:41 am

The two Mario Kart games are working. Several users have also reported functioning Wavebird support, even though they are supposedly unsupported.
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:43 pm

hmm for me the games simply dont even boot up.
put the games on sd:/games
installed quadforce
installed dios mios booter

start DM Booter -> choose a game -> Trriforce splashscreen shows and then it simply freeze with the splashscreen.
in the left upper corner is text with (gc-loader 0.4 09.06.2012)

Nothing more happens. tried 2 different sd cards but both are showing the same result.

what could be wrong?
I have a gamecube game in the drive but this shouldnt be the problem.
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1776
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by liquitt » Sun Jun 17, 2012 4:57 pm

oh humanity, you never fail to show your real face
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:47 am

hmm tried several things. my iso's are not corrupted. tried different isos but it simply freezes at the triforce screen.
tried a clean reinstall. first a clean Mios-v10.wad then quadforce.wad but it gives me the same error.

could the sundriver be the problem for this strange error?
the wii sees all the time a gamecube iso inserted when using a sundriver (the sundriver menu) could this be the problem?

or do you have another idea what could be the problem?
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:00 pm

Try installing a fresh RVL-BC-v6.wad.
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:34 pm

have done this already. nothing. same as before.
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:43 pm

sm4rty wrote:have done this already. nothing. same as before.
Not sure what's going on then. Using the latest DML Booter?

http://code.google.com/p/dios-mios-boot ... loads/list
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:45 pm

yes im using r22
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:48 pm

If it doesn't work after installing quadforce_v0.1.wad, a new RVL-BC-v6.wad, and the latest DML booter, it could be interference from the modchip. I have YAOSM in my Wii, and the Triforce games load up.
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Did you use DiscEx to extract/install the games to sd:/games?
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:03 pm

yes. discex 0.8
I dont know whats the problem for my wii :(

this is where it hangs all the time.
Image
Attachments
2012-06-18_18-00-52_301.jpg
(1.13 MiB) Not downloaded yet
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 am

Is DML working properly with your SD cards? Are they formatted with 64 k clusters? If not, the EaseUS Home Edition will work: http://www.partition-tool.com/download.htm
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by sm4rty » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:19 pm

tried to format fat32 and 64kb sector size.
tried DML 1.5
but it gets stuck at the exactly same position or i get a code dump.

dont know what could be wrog if even DML freezes at gcloader screen -.-
Attachments
2012-06-19_18-57-02_773.jpg
(1.57 MiB) Not downloaded yet
2012-06-19_19-03-15_557.jpg
(1.15 MiB) Not downloaded yet
noobcube
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Gamecube/ triforce game patching

Post by noobcube » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:44 pm

Does your modchip have a disable option? If so, try that. It could also be incompatible SD cards. Do you have d2X v8 final installed? As I understand it, Triforce runs using a modified MIOS, so it should not produce a code dump (which would be CIOS related).
Post Reply