Help choosing mod path

Portables, case replacements, mods etc, all in here!
Hybird

Help choosing mod path

Post by Hybird » Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:08 am

Hi all, I'm quite new to the whole modding scene but would like to take a crack at it. I'm having a hard time deciding what I should do and which chip to buy. My end goal is to have a gamecube that can run backup GC games, and also has the ability to run emulators for others systems. Back in the day, my cousin had an x-box with the viper chip (I think?) and a disc that he could use to play a bunch of roms for systems like sega, nes, snes, neo-geo, atari, all the good old ones. I essentially want to duplicate this on gamecube. Problem is I can't figure out what is the most up to date and best method to mod my system.

I read that the viper chip was a good one and it seemed you needed a cobra bios to use it, but then the more I read the more it seemed like this chip was out dated. Even worse, almost impossible to find online.

Then I read you could do a softmod with a SD memory card, adapter, and some cheat code disk. But I was not sure that this method would give me the ability to run emulators.

The most recent chip I have found is the Xeno v2.0 and v1.0. Then I get to this forum, and I am beginning to doubt this is the best way to do things.

What is the way people are going these days? Any guidance would be great, I've been scouring the internet for hours trying to find out what I need to get emulators working, and where I should devote most of my learning. I am an engineer and have spent quite a bit of time with microprocessor programing, soldering, and the likes, so the amount of difficulty in each method will not deter me. If you can convince me of a method that gives me the most mod-ability I would be quite happy.

Thanks in advance!
corenting

Re: Help choosing mod path

Post by corenting » Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:50 am