Page 1 of 1

PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:07 am
by donhonk
Happened upon a copy of PSO 1 & 2 (not plus.) and I also have the broadband adapter. Ive got no other methods of loading homebrew so I went to try it tonight.

Went through the steps of setting it up, have the Gamecube going into a switch as well as my computer. IP address on computer is set to 192.168.1.100, like every tutorial I found said. For some damn reason I cannot get it to work at all. Ive tried both PSUL / PSOLoad, have them waiting for a connection that never happens. The game just gives me error 102 after a while. From everything Ive read I should be totally good to go. Ive gone a bit light on details here so if you want to ask more settings questions go ahead.

Is there anything super obvious Im missing? Would massively appreciate any pointers.

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:09 am
by donhonk
Also ran across this in a readme of a PSUL I found:


There were 2 versions of the American PSO released. Only the newer version of
the American PSO - after January or so - will work. It will be fixed in a
future version.

Man how the fuck do I figure that one out? Is that even relevant anymore? (As in, this PSUL might be old.)

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:47 am
by emu_kidid
How have you connected the GameCube to the PC, are you connecting directly & with a crossover cable? This is usually the best method because you will be able to see when the ethernet connection transfers data to/from the GameCube.

Also, depending on your OS, make sure that PSOLoad is allowed through the firewall.

The two versions PSUL readme is refering to are pointless, just use PSOLoad instead.

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:55 pm
by Streetwalker
He said that he uses a switch.

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:32 pm
by donhonk
Yeah I'm using a switch, I've pinged the ip of the gamecube successfully while it was doing the warp screen so I know they have a connection. The firewall bit is interesting, I'll check if it's blocking anything. Thanks!

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:33 pm
by donhonk
Ok, instead I just built a crossover cable and used that. Success! Well partially, I had to use the -i command because autodetect didnt work, which cant be used with -s too? so I just loaded the testdemo4.dol. Fuck! How do I do that?

Note: PSOLoad said served DNS query from my Gamecubes IP address. Eventually the cube times out and it gives me a No.101 error.)


EDIT: Ok sorry, I just dont know CMD prompt that well. Found out I can use -s and -i as long as they are separated by &. Fuck yes! It works!

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 8:41 pm
by Streetwalker
donhonk wrote:I can use -s and -i as long as they are separated by &
Who the hell wrote that argument parser ?

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:51 am
by emu_kidid
CrazyNation are some crazy dudes, I hope he gets PSOload working.

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:03 am
by donhonk
Yep, PSOLoad works great. Thanks for enduring my noobish journey. Now to make an SD gecko...

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:14 am
by Streetwalker
Have fun. :)

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:02 am
by Srandista
So I went this road lately, and man, what a ride it was...

Since I wasn't able find anyone with hacked Wii locally, and everyone here is singing praises to BBA, I told my self that I will give it a chance and went to buy BBA. I also found cheap copy of PSO (PAL version), although without manual, but these days it doesn't really matter.

After I gather everything needed, I tried to softmod my GC. I only needed to run GCMM there, since I will be using another exploit from FIX94. But even though PSOLoad was making connection, it wouldn't launch GCMM. Tried Swiss as well, but no luck. As last resort, I tried PSUL. With it, I at least knew, how far with upload I am. And finally, magic happens and with PSUL 1.1 I was able run both Swiss (even newest version r634) as well GCMM (1.4f).

I know, that not many people would even try to go this road (softmod their GC via PSO+BBA), and even if they do, they maybe won't face these issues. But if yes, I can say, that at least in my case working combination was PSUL 1.1 with Swiss r634 and/or GCMM 1.4f.

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:36 am
by Aleron Ives
Thanks! People in the PSO community need a way to run GCMM to back up their saves, so those who play on a real cube might find this helpful.

Re: PSUL / PSOLoad help?

Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:34 pm
by Srandista
Ok, shame on me... I wanted to test a bit more, to find what is latest Swiss revision, which will work on PSUL, when I find out, that I wasn't using PSUL 1.1, but 1.0... :|

So scrap what I said previously, with PSUL 1.1 (this time actually using it), you can load even newest Swiss (r634 at the time of writing), and also GCMM 1.4f directly (you don't have to run it from Swiss). I updated previous post accordingly.

Well, lesson learned for the future... Double check version of tools you're using... :oops: