gamecube softmod

Find all your GameCube topics here
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:54 pm

hello guys i have a gamecube and i want to softmod it ... i have an action replay 1.6 and a memory card 64mb from action replay , a wiikey , sdhc card 4gb ..... i put the codes to action replay for the sdload softmod but i cant patch my sd card and i didnt know what file i put inside sd card please guys help me i stuck for one week and i cand do this alone anymore please help me guys 111
User avatar
Jaecus
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:54 am
Location: England

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by Jaecus » Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:08 pm

I think it does not support SDHC only standard SD will work (<2gb)...
judging from the fact Datel's SD Media Launcher had the same limitation and its basically the same crap.
This topic doesn't belong in GC-Linux.
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:28 pm

sorry for wrong post .... do you know another method to play games via sd card ?
HomelandReloaded

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by HomelandReloaded » Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:52 pm

Datel SD Media Launcher works with a 2Gb SD card. If you want to load bigger files then you could use SD Media Launcher to load Swiss from the 2Gb card, and use Swiss to load media from a 32Gb SD card in an SD Gecko in Slot B.
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by Dragoon » Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:10 am

Homelandreloaded, he is using an old version of AR that let's you add codes not the shitty 2.x version.
blazegc, are you able to load dols from memorycard or SD, if not I could set it up for you if you want (you need to send your mc to me then, I have an AR like yours too), postal costs are for you though.
Image
Lutzero
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:05 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by Lutzero » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:51 pm

OK, this is how i softmodded my GC,
I hope this helps you, if it doesn't, sorry ;) (not mine just copy-paste from document i have):

PHANTASY STAR ONLINE 1&2 + BROADBAND ADAPTER METHOD
===================================================
You will need 2 memory cards for this. One for holding your save
character from PSO, so you can load DOL files. This doesn't need to be
a Nintendo memory card, it can be a 3rd party one. The other one will
need to be an official Nintendo Memory Card, 59 or 251 blocks.

Insert the official Nintendo Memory Card into SLOT B, and insert the
other one into SLOT A.

Step 1: You need set up your PC and Gamecube (with broadband adapter)
to talk to each other. If you have a router, then connect both the PC
and Gamecube to the router, or you can choose to use a cross-over
ethernet cable connecting your PC straight to your Gamecube's BBA.
Then, on your PC, set your internal IP address to 192.168.1.100,
subnet mask as 255.255.255.0. You can do this in the control panel,
network settings for your network card.

Step 2: Fire up your copy of Phantasy Star Online and head on over the
to options menu. Choose network option, provider option, and then
'yes' to go into the network configuration screen. When you are at the
configuration screen select network setup and choose "manualy set an
IP address". Press the next button and enter 192.168.1.32 for the IP
address, 255.255.255.0 for the subnet mask, 192.168.1.100 for the
default gateway, and finally 192.168.1.100 for primary DNS. After
entering in the info press next and save your settings to memory card.

Step 3: Open up a command prompt on your PC: start, run, type in
"cmd.exe" and press enter. Assuming that you extracted all the files
from "GCoS15-install.zip" to "c:\gc", type in "c:", and press enter to
change into the C drive. Then type "cd gc" and press enter to change
into the directory. Next type "psul.exe -s" and press enter. This will
make your PC listen for a connection from your Gamecube.

Step 4: Now on PSO choose the Online Game option at the title screen.
Follow the onscreen directions and create your character. After you
have created your character and saved it to the memory card and the
game asks if you agree to the user terms say yes. The game will begin
to load and you will see a warp hole type screen. At this point the
game is initializing the Gamecube BBA for connection.

Step 5: Back on your computer, you should see that your PC and
Gamecube made a connection. Your PC should have sent data to your
Gamecube, and your character should be saved on your memory card in
SLOT A.

Step 6: Now, in the command prompt, type the following:

psul "1 format.dol"

and press enter. Go back to your Gamecube, and start PSO. Again,
choose the Online Game option at the title screen and select the
character that you created.

Step 7: This time, the game should load a black screen with text. This
step will erase everything on your memory card. Make sure your
Official Nintendo Memory card is inserted into Slot B. Press A to
format it, as the on-screen instruction say. Once it says 'done', turn
off your Gamecube.

Step 8: Take out the Phantasy Star Online disc from the drive, turn on
your Gamecube and go into the GC bios save manager, it should say you
need to format, so format it. Once that's done, turn off your
Gamecube.

Step 9: Go back to your computer and repeat Steps 3-6 for "2 install-
ARcodes.dol", "3 install-level2.dol" and "4 install-gcos15.dol". For
these files, once you start them on your Gamecube through Phantasy
Star Online, press X to write the file, and press R to select slot B.

Step 10: Once you're done with all 4 DOLs, load up Action Replay on
your Gamecube with your Official Nintendo Memory Card in SLOT B. Go to
Start Game, open the lid, close the lid, and GCoS 1.5 should boot up.
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by Dragoon » Wed Apr 11, 2012 5:07 am

EDIT: whoops, I thought lutozero was the starter of this thread, you can see this as reply to lutzero only.
Ah, the PSO + BBA mod, you can do it yourself then :D
Also instead of installing GCoS1.5.dol onto your memory card, you can install a dolloader for your memory card, that way you can put more apps on your memory card.
Forget about swiss though :lol:
Image
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Tue May 08, 2012 12:29 am

guys as i said i dont have sd media launcher and its too pretty hard to buy one because i dont have money .... pls help me with sd load .... how it works ? i put all the codes to the AR and i have a sd card 2 gb ..... i put the sdloader.bin on the sd and after i was restarted the gamecube and open the sdload i see a black screen and some green lines to the bottom of the screen
HomelandReloaded

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by HomelandReloaded » Tue May 08, 2012 4:43 am

I just tried it too on both a PAL and an NTSC console, and I get the same result as blazegc (unless I take the AR disc out: then I get No Disc error instead).
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4529
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by emu_kidid » Tue May 08, 2012 5:37 am

did you guys run that sdformat.exe or whatever included with SDLoad?
Image
HomelandReloaded

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by HomelandReloaded » Tue May 08, 2012 5:51 am

I ran SDpatch.exe. I also tried replacing the AR disc with a game disc as described in the install.txt file.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4529
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by emu_kidid » Tue May 08, 2012 5:54 am

SD Card, not SDHC card, right?
Image
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Tue May 08, 2012 1:14 pm

i use sd card ..... why sdload cannot open ?
HomelandReloaded

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by HomelandReloaded » Tue May 08, 2012 5:31 pm

Yes, it's a 2GB SD all right, formatted as FAT (made by Integral Memory). I also tried with a newer version of Action Replay (1.14b) and get the same result. The GameCubes I'm using are DOL-001.

As an experiment I tried loading SDLOADER.BIN and testdemo.dol from SD Media Launcher, and they both give a black screen. I'm not sure if this tells me anything though.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4529
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by emu_kidid » Tue May 08, 2012 10:42 pm

No that doesn't tell you much. The fact that you get the green screen means that some of your codes are correct, but are they all correct?

I've never done the procedure myself but I should probably get a proper/tested guide up on the Wiki when it's worked out :P
Image
HomelandReloaded

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by HomelandReloaded » Wed May 09, 2012 6:58 pm

I have carefully checked all of the codes, and I am certain that they match the ones on the SDload wiki entry. By the way, I do not get any green on the screen - just black. I am using a composite AV cable for the test.

Has anyone else got this to work?
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by Dragoon » Wed May 09, 2012 7:56 pm

I have, although I think I do not use the same codes as describes on the gclinux wiki.
Image
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Thu May 10, 2012 1:02 am

maybe the sdload codes on the sites are wrong ... do you have the right codes for sdload ? someone that he use sd load !!!
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4529
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by emu_kidid » Thu May 10, 2012 1:28 am

I have the codes at home - I should try it out ..
Image
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Thu May 10, 2012 2:15 am

can you give the codes ?? can i use with the sdload the libogc ?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4529
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by emu_kidid » Thu May 10, 2012 2:27 am

I need to dig it up.. it's from 2005 or so when I wrote this: http://www.maxconsole.com/maxcon_forums ... l.dol-hack
Image
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Thu May 10, 2012 2:31 am

what is the samsons install and memcard install ? pls explain me ...
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4529
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by emu_kidid » Thu May 10, 2012 2:34 am

lets you have a DOL other than SDLoad load up from Action Replay + memcard hack... but to perform it you need a working homebrew setup already.
Image
blazegc
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:50 am

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by blazegc » Thu May 10, 2012 2:46 am

ooooo i see .... anyway do you install the sdload on your gamecube ? please help me im stuck with my installation
reprep
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:34 pm

Re: gamecube softmod

Post by reprep » Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:41 am

i have a working homebrew setup (action replay and sd gecko and a 2 gb SD card which can boot .dol files)

i can boot whatever .dol i want from my sd card by this setup. though as the sdload doesn't support sdhc cards, i have to change the sd card to sdhc card for extra storage after i boot swiss which is an extra step.

i read .dol files can be uploaded to memory cards and if i can start swiss from my memory card in slot 2 via my action replay disc, i can leave my sd gecko in my slot 1 with a large size sdhc card in the slot.

all tutorials i find on net needs either pso or datel max drive pro to upload .dol files to the gc memory cards. as we now have memory card managers which can upload .gci files from sdgecko to memory card, and it is possible to convert .dol files to .gci format via datel max drive pro's pc side conversion software, only an old Action Replay disc (code input enabled) should be enough to accomplish this.

even though i believe i can change the old tutorials to use swiss instead of gcos, and upload the required .dol files to my gamecube memory card after i convert them to .gci , all attachments of the tutorials are gone.

does anyone have more info on the subject or has the GCoS15-install.zip which i believe has enough files to at least boot gcos from memory card?
Post Reply