WKF Autoboot discovered

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 7:21 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by ShockSlayer » Sat May 18, 2013 10:55 pm

Made up a youtube video showing how to flash Swiss to the WKF:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XwKvi8asFE

Let me know what you guys think, hopefully it'll be of some use!

SS
Image
User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by bearteam » Sun May 19, 2013 12:59 am

ShockSlayer wrote:Made up a youtube video showing how to flash Swiss to the WKF:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XwKvi8asFE

Let me know what you guys think, hopefully it'll be of some use!

SS
Thanks, pal. Your video is great, it helps a lot to those who have difficulty to flash WKF firmware.
MasterKing
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:59 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by MasterKing » Mon May 20, 2013 5:10 am

bearteam wrote:
ShockSlayer wrote:Made up a youtube video showing how to flash Swiss to the WKF:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XwKvi8asFE

Let me know what you guys think, hopefully it'll be of some use!

SS
Thanks, pal. Your video is great, it helps a lot to those who have difficulty to flash WKF firmware.
Hello, Are you gxb? I am a TGFCer,Do you know how to "CHANGE DISC "on new version of swiss
User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by bearteam » Mon May 20, 2013 6:17 am

MasterKing wrote:
bearteam wrote:
ShockSlayer wrote:Made up a youtube video showing how to flash Swiss to the WKF:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XwKvi8asFE

Let me know what you guys think, hopefully it'll be of some use!

SS
Thanks, pal. Your video is great, it helps a lot to those who have difficulty to flash WKF firmware.
Hello, Are you gxb? I am a TGFCer,Do you know how to "CHANGE DISC "on new version of swiss
No way!
Do not ask the same question again and again.
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Mon May 20, 2013 10:18 pm

How would I flash swiss r214 if I'm on 1.0 and I never upgraded to 1.5.
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Duhasst0 » Mon May 20, 2013 10:27 pm

Pretty sure what is posted will work but it's not the revision you want. You are going to have to compile it yourself or see if someone else will. Unfortunately the binaries haven't been released for that revision yet.
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Mon May 20, 2013 10:36 pm

I'll probably just upgrade to 1.5 and then downgrade I guess
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Duhasst0 » Mon May 20, 2013 10:39 pm

Don't do that, just put swiss on a. wbfs card and just presd right
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon May 20, 2013 11:02 pm

like Duhasst0 said....

put swiss as the only ISO on a wbfs card...
the files i posted on page 8 of this thread are swiss r214..



watch the video to see how to do it...every detail has been explained
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Tue May 21, 2013 12:42 am

I got it working thanks for the help :D
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Tue May 21, 2013 2:31 am

I think the problem with the SD cards might be the file system manager because my 32gb sandisk auto boots fine with 1 iso but if I put more iso's on it won't autoboot. Just a thought.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Tue May 21, 2013 5:34 am

Plastic wrote:I think the problem with the SD cards might be the file system manager because my 32gb sandisk auto boots fine with 1 iso but if I put more iso's on it won't autoboot. Just a thought.
try it a few times and see if you can duplicate the behavior every time...
then try another card and see what happens...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Thu May 23, 2013 12:28 am

I can duplicate the problem and It doesn't seem to effect my 4gb SD card. Also the DVD drive doesn't work while I'm using my WKF, I was trying to use clean rip from my SD Gecko and it would try to dump the WKF.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Thu May 23, 2013 12:36 am

Plastic wrote:I can duplicate the problem and It doesn't seem to effect my 4gb SD card. Also the DVD drive doesn't work while I'm using my WKF, I was trying to use clean rip from my SD Gecko and it would try to dump the WKF.

instructions for cleanrip and WKF:
viewtopic.php?p=14856#p14856

if swiss on flash, then adjust for steps 2,3,4



ill test the 1 iso theory later tonight
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Thu May 23, 2013 2:01 am

I tried doing that and it did not work, I couldn't get it to run my discs in swiss or clean rip.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Thu May 23, 2013 2:14 am

then after swiss loads, remove the SD card from WKF slot and try again....
if that dont work, then after swiss loads, remove the SD card from WKF slot, load swiss from Gecko slot again, then try cleanrip again....



better yet, write a step by step of exactly what you are doing...
very detailed step by step....
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Thu May 23, 2013 8:38 am

just tested cleanrip...works no problem...
i only used 1 SD card...

power on GC with SD card in the slot
Swiss will load, then start cleanrip from WKF slot...
remove SD card from WKF slot and insert into SD gecko...
follow cleanrip on screen instructions



if you have a card in the WKF slot then WFK will be detected as the primary drive instead of the DVD being detected as the primary drive...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Fri May 24, 2013 2:21 am

I don't know what I did before but it works fine now
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Duhasst0 » Fri May 24, 2013 7:24 pm

My sd cards I use on my gc and they are effected by wkf with wkf turned off.

Image
Attachments
rps20130524_190354_zpsf782f5d0.jpg
(45.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Sun May 26, 2013 5:34 am

I've been playing my games no problem for a while but now all of a sudden when I'm playing PSO 1+2 I get a disc read error after a few minutes of a game. Could it be that I unsuccessfully dumped a game earlier?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Sun May 26, 2013 6:42 am

If it's always in the same spot, I'd say it's a bad dump.
Image
Plastic
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:20 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Plastic » Sun May 26, 2013 3:46 pm

I checked it with redump and the md5 matches.
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:12 pm

Hi I'm stuck trying to get this to work. I got swiss onto my wiikey fusion. I downloaded the files in the first post of this page:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=1281&start=84

I flashed both the loader and the firmware, it still doesn't autoboot and I need to hit that switch. I'm updating through the wiikey fusion slot, does it need to be done with a sd gecko?

*edit*

http://forums.modretro.com/viewtopic.ph ... 9&start=20

"note: (currently) this will NOT WORK from WKF SLOT"

Guess that answers it.

*edit again*

I got it auto loading. I tried to update the menu to swiss 221 and it managed to overwrite the firmware so it no longer auto loads.... So there's no way to use swiss r221 with auto loading?
User avatar
deckard
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by deckard » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:12 pm

You can autoboot r221, you just have to remove the .fw file and flash only the .fzn from a valid autoboot setup
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:01 pm

deckard wrote:You can autoboot r221, you just have to remove the .fw file and flash only the .fzn from a valid autoboot setup
That's exactly what I tried. The stupid thing still somehow found a firmware file in the .fzn and killed the autoboot. Then I had to solder the temporary sd gecko back on just to revert that. What I'd like to know is how swiss is able to kill the auto boot firmware from the wiikey sd slot but getting auto booting firmware 1.0 it needs to be done through a sd gecko.
Post Reply