Page 7 of 7

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:38 pm
by megalomaniac
fzn = menu = swiss
fzn.fw = firmware


all you need is swiss.fzn to update swiss versions...

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:26 pm
by Drakon
megalomaniac wrote:fzn = menu = swiss
fzn.fw = firmware


all you need is swiss.fzn to update swiss versions...
That's the only file that was on the sd card, the .fzn and it still said it found the firmware and updated it to something that wouldn't auto load.

*edit*

Nevermind it worked, guess I did something wrong the first time?

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:28 pm
by emu_kidid
did you use the latest Swiss to do this? there was one version that would "find" the "file" (really it didn't find anything) and would flash garbage. Doing this causes a restore to occur internally on the WKF and if you previously had 1.5 on there, I believe it may have restored that.

Boot up Swiss r223 and flash it all via SDGecko.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:35 pm
by Drakon
emu_kidid wrote:did you use the latest Swiss to do this? there was one version that would "find" the "file" (really it didn't find anything) and would flash garbage. Doing this causes a restore to occur internally on the WKF and if you previously had 1.5 on there, I believe it may have restored that.

Boot up Swiss r223 and flash it all via SDGecko.
I just had success getting r221 on without killing autoboot so I guess the version I used before was a bad one. I don't know where to download r223 from :(

...unless that was a typo for r221. Sorry for all the dumb stuff, I just got started with the gamecube with zero knowledge or experience very recently.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:11 am
by keropi
removed

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:43 pm
by Drakon
I found the culprit firmware killing file. I loaded only "swiss_r221(pal).fzn" on a sd card, run it in swiss and it says "firmware file found will flash that too". This is the stupid file that kills autoboot when you try to update to it.

Is it safe to use the ntsc version instead? I've had good success with the ntsc file except metroid prime refuses to run. The ntsc file doesn't kill autoboot.

*edit*

Doesn't make a difference if I use pal or ntsc. If the current flashed version is pal and I try to flash a ntsc menu without firmware, or vice versa, it nukes the firmware even if there's no firmware file on the sd card.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:58 pm
by Drakon
I have a question. My wiikey fusion is flashed with autobooting swiss. When I insert a regular 512meg sd card into the wkf slot it loads right into swiss without me pressing anything. When I insert a 32gb microsd card with adapter into my wkf slot the system loads into the main system menu and I hate to scroll up to start swiss. I don't have to press any switches, I'm just wondering why I have to navigate the menu with my microsd adapter but not a regular sd card.

I also read that swiss supports up to 128gb sd xc cards, is that through the wkf slot or another slot like a sd gecko?

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:05 pm
by megalomaniac
some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:49 pm
by Duhasst0
megalomaniac wrote:some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
I have 3 cards 2 auto load the other auto boots.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:27 pm
by Drakon
megalomaniac wrote:some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
Thanks man. Glad to know it's not because it's using a microsd adapter it's the card itself. Still navigating that menu is way less work than hitting that switch every time I boot the system.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:46 pm
by wii_HD
megalomaniac wrote:some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
What about a diagnostic tool such as windows - h2testw - which shows read and write speeds on a fresh formatted flash device.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:54 pm
by badsector
Quick question, since I finally will install the MegaDrive and WKF (with Swiss autoboot): Will I need the pin 29 switch for anything? I know, that it is not needed for booting anymore, but will I need any switch for multi disc support (short info: I am keeping my DVD drive, if this information helps).

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:25 pm
by megalomaniac
I always recommend installing P29 switch...I use the switch all the time..
The only advantage for swiss autoboot vs swiss non-autoboot is you don't need to hit the switch upon start up...

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:33 pm
by RazorX2014
were does the 1.9v wire from the momentary switch get soldered too?
on the gamecube motherboard if so where or does it get soldered onto the megadrive v3?

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:48 pm
by Streetwalker
Afaik the wasp doesn't need it, you just wire an NC switch between pin 29 and ground.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:34 pm
by RazorX2014
i think i understand thank you

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:42 am
by megalomaniac
Streetwalker wrote:Afaik the wasp doesn't need it, you just wire an NC switch between pin 29 and ground.

yes and no...
keep in mind there are some very instances where WKF/WASP actually need 1.9v...
its vary rare and usually this behavior is only noticed when using official WKF firmware...

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:54 am
by RazorX2014
megalomaniac you know the score ive asked and asked and i still dont have the answer can you please tell me where i solder the 1.9v wire from the momentary switch too thanks

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:58 pm
by Duhasst0
Yo, razorx2014, everyone has already told, it's not needed. You just need a normally closed switch connect it between pin 29 and ground. Have fun.

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:26 pm
by RazorX2014
mega said it was recommended though but anyway i figured it out, im probs not gonna add it i just wanted to know where it went