WKF Autoboot discovered

LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: XenoFUSION

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:59 am

Haha when I posted this all of the other posts where moved. Thanks Mega!
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:01 am

Yep sadly 1.2 doesn't :( But fear not I remember that Emu_kidid dumped the 1.0 firmware and downgrade his updated 1.5 wiikey. So all we need is the 1.0 flasher dol and we are set!!

Time for a PM me thinks.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:05 am

...already working with emu_kidid...he has been fully updated
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:12 am

MAN! hahah Just sent him a PM. Quick work Mega!

I do wonder though what exactly is the difference in the 1.0 firmware and 1.5 firmware... I know the menu is different but swiss 0.2 didn't work properly on 1.0 but swiss 0.3 does....

making me think that nothing has changed in the firmware of the wiikey just updates on the menu and such...

Well anyway hopefully Emu will provide us with a downgrade and we're all good to go.

On another note. For some reason when I connect my 16gb sandisk sd card it not only autoboots but goes straight into swiss. Just like starting a real game. So no need to go through the menu and select it. Put mu 4gb sandisk sd card doesn't and neither does my 32gb transcend card...

Have you tried different sd card?
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:58 am

Quicker detection/init of the SD card perhaps makes it read the menu faster from IPL.

I've attached the 1.0FW but it's not in a flashable format (as far as swiss is concerned), I'll get to that later on or I'll explain to mega on IRC how to get it done.
Attachments
fw10.zip
(210.7 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:00 am

LOCtronics wrote:MAN! hahah Just sent him a PM. Quick work Mega!

I do wonder though what exactly is the difference in the 1.0 firmware and 1.5 firmware... I know the menu is different but swiss 0.2 didn't work properly on 1.0 but swiss 0.3 does....

making me think that nothing has changed in the firmware of the wiikey just updates on the menu and such...

Well anyway hopefully Emu will provide us with a downgrade and we're all good to go.

On another note. For some reason when I connect my 16gb sandisk sd card it not only autoboots but goes straight into swiss. Just like starting a real game. So no need to go through the menu and select it. Put mu 4gb sandisk sd card doesn't and neither does my 32gb transcend card...

Have you tried different sd card?
what i wanna know is why did the WKF team remove autoboot ability in 1.1+ firmware versions...
was it a troublesome feature for wii users?



as for the initial swiss testings: if i remember correctly ( and the simple explanation )
swiss first used 1.0 base firmware which worked with some issues reading SD card offset...
then swiss moved onto 1.5 base firmware for further testing..the issue still appeared...
the issues were identified and everyone was everyone was happy...



i have a theory i presented to emu_kidid about how and why this works...
i dont wanna say to much yet at this point so early in the discovery and put out any wrong information which could cause later confusion until more information can be analyzed, verified, and more ideas can be tested......emu_kidid and i looking into it and will hopefully have a full explanation after the investigation has been completed...

but for now, the important thing is it works...and i hope everyone can contribute to help test out title compatibility just to go thru the process of confirmation and validation...



youtube instructional video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RT9XU4m58ZM




official swiss r174
swiss_flasher.rar
as seen in the video
SWISS FLASHER: for fat / fat32 SD card
(793.59 KiB) Downloaded 146 times
Flash.rar
as seen in the video:
SWISS FLASH FILES: for fat / fat32 SD card
NOTE: use only pal.fzn
(2.35 MiB) Downloaded 145 times

ashen's swiss r214 build
viewtopic.php?p=17484#p17484
Last edited by megalomaniac on Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:31 pm, edited 3 times in total.
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:18 am

Yes your sd card also directly boots into swiss. Awesome! Must be the speed of the card that makes it boot properly. Thanks for the vid. Hopefully people will completely follow it to avoid confusion.

As to why the removed it. I don't think they did. As on the wii it always auto boots. It seems to be a gamecube only problem. So I'm assuming it has something to do with timing issue.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:32 am

im using a 6yr old 2GB SD card in that video that i bought brand new with my launch day wii....
its not even SDHC... class 4 at the most...
so it might not have anything related to SD card speed until more tests and data can be provided from other users...


if WIIKEY team did not remove autoboot on other firmwares, then they had to have changed how it functions for better wii compatibility...and gamecube might not provide an expected return data or signal to meet the requirements of the new change...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:57 am

megalomaniac wrote:if WIIKEY team did not remove autoboot on other firmwares, then they had to have changed how it functions for better wii compatibility...and gamecube might not provide an expected return data or signal to meet the requirements of the new change...
My thoughts exactly.

I'm going to run more test with various SD cards and see what I come up with. I'll post my results here.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
public-pervert
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:16 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by public-pervert » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:20 am

I guess it's a little late, but I have an ATTINY24 doing an "PSP analog correction + WKF autoboot". It can autoboots on any firmware, since it emulates the NC switch. The autoboot isn't tested yet, but should work fine. I just need to redo my WKF wiring and I'll see how it goes.
Many thanks to Micro, from GamesX!
User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Ashen » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:48 pm

Very nice job everyone involved! Awaiting downgrade instructions to help test. :D

EDIT: Wouldn't it be wonderful if the 1.0 base firmware fixed those certain games that get disc read errors on boot. :twisted:
Diminuendo
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Diminuendo » Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:52 pm

Awesome, man! I got a big grin when I saw that shoutout you gave me in the vid
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:04 pm

hehe, like i said i was not going to use yours, but i had no choice since mine were already used up in testing...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:17 pm

So I;m trying to fiddle around with the 1.0 bin file Emu posted but I really have no idea how to convert it to a fzn file to flash it lol

Any idea Mega? or Emu? Or asre you already taking action :P
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:30 pm

like emu_kidid said: can not use it right now in its current form as a swiss fzn

i have an idea how to use it, but i would rather confirm with emu_kidid, because remember currently there is only one chance to have autoboot working.... and if you "fail" while attempting to use the file emu_kidid posted, then you might be forced to use the 1.2 recovery and lose autoboot..


best suggestion, just wait a bit till everything can be sorted out
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:38 pm

yeah true that. I'll wait a bit to see what's gonna happen.

Ofcourse the downgrade would make it possible to get autoboot back again. I have a wiikey 1.5 that i want to downgrade and then update with the newest swiss.

Which files did you use for your video? Did you use the r214 build from Ashen or the regular swiss 0.3 build and swiss 0.3 pal iso?
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
public-pervert
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:16 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by public-pervert » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:32 pm

FW 1.0 has autoboot. It's a fact.
So, why peoples don't ever used it and go for the 1.5 firmware? There's some bug with 1.0 that Swiss now correct?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:35 pm

LOCtronics wrote: Which files did you use for your video? Did you use the r214 build from Ashen or the regular swiss 0.3 build and swiss 0.3 pal iso?
i used official r174 release in the video...
ashen released his r214 build after i had already filmed the video...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:43 pm

public-pervert wrote:FW 1.0 has autoboot. It's a fact.
So, why peoples don't ever used it and go for the 1.5 firmware? There's some bug with 1.0 that Swiss now correct?
please understand that the bug you mention was encountered during initial testing of swiss on flash...
it was an entirely different scenario with different issues which are not related in any way to the current method shown on the video...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:04 pm

MockyLock wrote:Hello
I'm following with interest the autoboot thread.
For now (and if i understood well), autoboot is available for firmware 1.0, but the best for DVD reading is 1.3
megalomaniac, you said that you were working with emu_kidid for investigation.
So i think it would be better to wait before choosing a firmware to flash :)

Code: Select all

currently for portable consoles or home consoles with NO DVD DRIVE:
swiss on flash with autoboot is the most ideal setup to have...

Code: Select all

currently for home consoles WITH DVD DRIVE:
official WKF firmware 1.3 should still be used for the best compatibility...
yes 1.0 official firmware will autoboot and have dvd direct boot ability, but no WBFS menu support in the WKF menu...
swiss on flash currently has an issue with dvd direct boot using WKF passthru mode...
note: above i said currently, more testing needs to be done



EDIT: AS I STATED MORE TESTING NEEDS TO BE DONE...
well i got the problem solved, swiss on flash now works for direct dvd boot also...just requires a few extra step..
ill post a video to explain because it can be tricky...
Last edited by megalomaniac on Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1761
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by liquitt » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:11 pm

man, this is what happens when i'm not really online for a few days/weeks.

good job, GOOD JOB!!
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:31 pm

HARD STOP


ANYONE WHO WANTS TO USE A HOME CONSOLE WITH DVD DRIVE:
please wait till i update more information...there is a very critical step to perform first...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:43 pm

And this people is why we have modders like megalomanic. Always thinking about the people!!! Working non stop on getting the best and ultimate solution for all our needs.

Can't say how lucky we are to have these people around. :D
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:59 pm

heh...i still blame ashen for starting all this spiderweb of opportunity
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:00 pm

indeed he did. indeed he did...... All from that original idea of making a portable from that fake gamecube advance sp mock up. Would still be awesome if someone would make it like in the pic..... ;)
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
Post Reply