WKF Autoboot discovered

User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:59 pm

LOCtronics wrote: Put mu 4gb sandisk sd card doesn't and neither does my 32gb transcend card...
check the format of those SD cards....
with WBFS card it will not autoboot with swiss on flash....
with FAT / FAT32 it will autoboot with swiss on flash...

test and confirm
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Diminuendo
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Diminuendo » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:20 am

LOCtronics wrote:On another note. For some reason when I connect my 16gb sandisk sd card it not only autoboots but goes straight into swiss. Just like starting a real game. So no need to go through the menu and select it. Put mu 4gb sandisk sd card doesn't and neither does my 32gb transcend card...
I'm guessing that those cards are different classes, which determine the speed of the card. The 4gb is probably a class 4 and the 16GB a class 10, you can tell the class by an arrow that circles around a number like in this picture
Image
this is just a guess though.

I also am wondering if there are any obvious advantages of Mega's XenoFusion over this, such as the Wiikey having less game compatibility with ipl1.0 (which may/may not be fixed with swiss 3.0). I'm sure we'll find more in the future with testing but am wondering what we know now that might be relevent.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:31 am

Diminuendo wrote: I also am wondering if there are any obvious advantages of Mega's XenoFusion over this, such as the Wiikey having less game compatibility with ipl1.0 (which may/may not be fixed with swiss 3.0). I'm sure we'll find more in the future with testing but am wondering what we know now that might be relevent.
as ive stated before....do not confuse the initial testing of swiss on flash...
it is a completely separate issue....


as for XenoFUSION, i hate to say it, but it might not be outdated already due to this latest discovery
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:20 am

The funny thing is all of my cards are fat 32 and all of them are class 4. With exception of the 32gb it doesn't say which class it is. The 4 and 16gb models are exactly the same speedwise. I'm going to reformat all my card to see if that makes a difference.

Also swiss doesn't support wfbs in general right? It won't initialize my wfbs cards.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:25 am

yeah I don't support WBFS.
Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:24 am

GAME ON

to answer why i called a HARD STOP for everyone from flashing Swiss to WKF has nothing to do with corruption, killing, damage, title compatibility or any other adverse affect on the system...i called a hard stop because i wanted some time to investigate a critical flaw i discovered and wanted to confirm a solution...


as i indicated in the youtube video, until a 1.0 flash can be confirmed working, there is only one opportunity to flash swiss on WKF and only one opportunity to perform it correctly to retain autoboot. The worst case scenario results in a restore to 1.2 and still end up with a working WKF but with no autoboot....



now, i discovered a small issue with DVD drive not loading titles when i flashed swiss...
i have since learned:

Code: Select all

1. it has nothing to do with swiss    < < ( emu_kidid, example of WKF "backend" functionality )

2. i found a simple workaround which involves booting the GC with the SD card in the slot...
then removing the SD card...
then hitting pin 29 switch while still in the IPL boot logo screen...
this is the only way to load a dvd disc...

3. i found #2 is only related to the WKF configuration menu setting "WKF ON"

4. swiss will always detect the WKF as the "physical disc drive"

5. qoob will always detect the WKF as the "physical disc drive"


so what does any of this mean?



In my opinion, the single most important reason for using a DVD drive is for compatibility of audio streaming titles...
as i have indicated in other videos and other threads, the only way audio streaming will work from DVD disc, the only way qoob will properly work to detect the DVD drive, the only way to have dual swiss WKF / DVD compatibility is to set the "WKF OFF" in the configuration menu.

HOWEVER, once swiss is flashed as the initial iso, there is currently no access to the configuration menu. So if WKF is "ON" when you flash swiss, there is no turning back...


After flashing swiss with WKF OFF (for DVD drive use only), WKF will still autoboot from SD, and also direct boot from DVD....
also i have been able to access the DVD drive from within swiss to load a dvd title...


this youtube video will discuss the behavior of WKF ON / OFF for loading a disc and how it affects audio streaming...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSd9njNPEz0

note: the video shows behavior on WKF firmware, the exact same behavior occurs after loading swiss so it is very important to choose the correct configuration prior to loading swiss as initial iso < < ( emu_kidid, another example of WKF "backend" functionality )
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:35 am

I REALLY need to get my setup happening again. Too much thinking and too little code changes :p
Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:42 pm

Awesome video man! LOL on....no.....on....no.....ahh FUCK :lol:
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:15 am

oh yeah, the wkf10.bin I uploaded, disregard it. it's half right, it's the 1.0 firmware, but the drivekey config menu instead of the wkf menu :P
Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:16 am

yea...emu_kidid broke my WKF


Image
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:37 am

Oeps.... Emu how did you actually dump the wiikey fusion firmware? and how do you convert it to a wky flash file?
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
Diminuendo
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Diminuendo » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:17 pm

just watched your video Mega, but from what I can tell there is absolutely no negatives to turning off the wiikey before flashing. is there any reason why we shouldn't turn it off regardless of what we want to do for guaranteed future compatability?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:25 pm

Turning WKF OFF:
disables patching of DVD titles to allow proper audiostreaming playback (with megawire mod)
disables patching of SD titles which will crash audiostreaming playback
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:58 pm

any news regarding the downgrade??
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:05 pm

it restored autoboot, but it broke setting the ISO up in swiss. I need to look into it, or dump a virgin 1.0 and compare the difference to the downgraded counterpart.

I don't have a PC/internet in my new home yet, which explains the severe lack of progress!
Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:37 pm

No worries man. It comes when it comes. Could I help you with a virgin 1.0 dump? I still have a unopend wiikey fusion. How would I dump the firmware?
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:48 pm

You'd need something like a Qoob + WKF set up, and to boot homebrew from the Qoob flash that'll dump the firmware from the WKF. Lots of screwing around.
Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:45 pm

Will a 1st generation viper also work? That's the only thing I have. Which program do you use to dump the firmware? I wanna learn to do all these things anyway. Including some light coding so I gotta start somewhere :P
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:06 am

heh, mega has taken up the task on IRC...
Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:07 am

ooooops, turns out what I thought was 1.0 firmware wasn't all along (was some pre-release code it turns out).

Update from mega soon :P
Image
User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Ashen » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:31 am

So, being that we will have a full/fresh firmware 1.0 dump. Can we now flash a bare atmel chip? Like as in build our own Wiikey fusions?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:41 am

not exactly...for now, the process involves swiss to flash the firmware
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Ashen » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:45 am

Still sexy. I'm just trying to think forward. To when even these clone companys don't have the interest to produce Wiikeys anymore. Great work, to everyone involved in this btw. I can't wait to have autoboot. Less switches for me to buy/push. WODE will still need the switch though, for multidisc titles.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4350
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:55 am

I'm pretty sure we can't make any clones because I only have a dump of the flash, not of the actel chip code which reads from the flash/etc.
Image
User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Ashen » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:59 am

Bummer, guess I better stock up then.
Post Reply