Wii ISO Booter for GC

Tripo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:54 pm

Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Tripo » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm

Maybe emukidid can tell.
would it be possible to make an Wii iso Booter now when you guys have this IDE HDD attachment.
that could be your next project
User avatar
Cubelover
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Cubelover » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:09 pm

What? There's no way to boot Wii discs with a GC.
User avatar
Burbruee
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:41 pm

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Burbruee » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:14 pm

:lol:
.
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by kevstah2004 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:59 pm

Maybe if you strap two GCs together :P
User avatar
andzlay
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by andzlay » Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:04 pm

Via what? EXI?
Tripo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Tripo » Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:17 pm

kevstah2004 wrote:Maybe if you strap two GCs together :P
Cubelover wrote:What? There's no way to boot Wii discs with a GC.
http://www.modchipstore.com/Team-Xecute ... 16287.html


if you read via HDD or something. Wii ISO do you know what an iso is.
no disc.
then there is some fulldisc modding for GC.
the Wii does not have that much more spec than GC so I think it would be possible they have similar way to boot stuff i think.
maybe the movies in games can lag but I think the playing in game should go in full speed.
the biggest problem would be WIIs pointer and shaking on the remote.

I do have an Wii to but Play some of those games on the Cube would be nice.
a great addition to Swiss
User avatar
ct_the_1
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 1:07 am
Location: germany

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by ct_the_1 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:37 pm

Well, you could cut and reassemble the wii-mainboard and other hardware to fit in a gamecube case...
then you have a gamecube, which can play wii games... :lol: :lol:
ct_the_1 (currently very busy and rarely online)

Image
Tripo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Tripo » Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:32 pm

ok this was OBVIOUSLY wrong forum to talk serious stuff.
soound like this is a bunch of kids that have their parents Gamecube.
only person who could know this is emukidid I think.

You see there is not that much of diffrent between then and WII don´t have much power.
so emulate or run wii isos would be possible only thing is if the coding is possible.
Image

http://forum.teamxbox.com/showthread.php?t=471091

http://gaygamer.net/2006/10/miyamoto_wi ... a_gam.html

and some mod can close this thread.
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by kevstah2004 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:40 pm

They both have different cpu's you'd need to recompile the whole game for the GC cpu.
User avatar
safefortheozone
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:41 pm

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by safefortheozone » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:12 pm

emu_kidid wouldn't make a Wii iso booter for GameCube; he's too busy working on a booter for PS4 games.
Tripo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Tripo » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:36 am

kevstah2004 wrote:They both have different cpu's you'd need to recompile the whole game for the GC cpu.

I think both have an PowerPC 750 at the base.
so they have almost the same CPU.
GC has PowerPC 750 Gekko and Wii has PowerPC 750 Broadway and many say that Broadway is an evolution of Gekko.
thats because GC games work on Wii without any modifications.
and thats why I think Wii games should work on GC with the EXI mod that could have some speed.
SD card is to slow to get it fast.


But as say any mod can close this shit.
I thought this was a serious forum but my mistake.


http://arstechnica.com/gaming/news/2007 ... nology.ars

how many prof do you guys need to see that Wii and GC is almost the same with different peripherals.
User avatar
andzlay
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by andzlay » Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:42 am

I don't like how much hate you give to all the critics. It's a stupid idea anyway. The GCN has less power than a wii. Plus the controllers are different. Do you want a mouse courser you can control with a GC controller to emulate a Wiimote's pointing? What about the acceleration sensor?

Why should anyone waste his time in programming a dumb tool which can bootup Wii Games laggy and with fucked up controller support on a Game Cube?
I thought this was a serious forum but my mistake.
For me it's a proof that this is serious forum and not one for people asking random stuff to get programmed by emu_kidid.
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by kevstah2004 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:41 pm

I have my suspicions that the dvdtosd v0.1.1b dols where only meant / compiled for the Wii :| it always black screened on using SDML with the GC but by magic it loaded with sdload although it never worked properly :lol:
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4734
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:20 pm

yes only for wii. it's a dodgy piece of software that I coded way back and I wouldn't recommend using it. You're better off using CleanRip :)
Image
User avatar
Cubelover
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Cubelover » Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:01 pm

Tripo wrote:
kevstah2004 wrote:They both have different cpu's you'd need to recompile the whole game for the GC cpu.

I think both have an PowerPC 750 at the base.
so they have almost the same CPU.
GC has PowerPC 750 Gekko and Wii has PowerPC 750 Broadway and many say that Broadway is an evolution of Gekko.
thats because GC games work on Wii without any modifications.
and thats why I think Wii games should work on GC with the EXI mod that could have some speed.
SD card is to slow to get it fast.


But as say any mod can close this shit.
I thought this was a serious forum but my mistake.


http://arstechnica.com/gaming/news/2007 ... nology.ars

how many prof do you guys need to see that Wii and GC is almost the same with different peripherals.
See, the Wii has a "operating system" with many many many files. These files are called IOS. In order to play Wii discs, you you have to install appropriate IOS files and this is not possible on GC. It's useless to discuss about this. If you want to play Wii games, buy a Wii.
Sintendo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:39 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Sintendo » Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:55 pm

The Wii has 88MB of memory available. The Gamecube has only 43MB. This is memory that Wii games expects to be there. You can't use memory that simply is not there. The Gamecube also lacks the ARM9 CPU core that is in charge of running the IOS, so we'd have to use the Gamecube's main CPU to emulate that, besides also running software written for a similar CPU that is running at a 50% higher clock speed. We must also consider the graphics chip, which is running a bit faster than the one in the Gamecube.

In other words, forget about it. It'll be an enormous amount of work to pull off, and for what? The ability to run Wii games on a Gamecube at probably not even a quarter the speed they're supposed to run. If you can get stuff to run, that is.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1054
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Extrems » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:46 pm

Sintendo wrote:It'll be an enormous amount of work to pull off
It would be easier to reimplement individual games from scratch.
doktor_krotch
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by doktor_krotch » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:24 pm

Hey Tripo, I just wrote this really great work around for playing Wii games on a Gamecube. I swear it works, can you plz test and get back to us?

1. Trim a Wii game so it fits in a Gamecube
2. Put the Wii game in a Gamecube
3. Hold the Gamecube in your outstretched hands
4. Hold your breath and spin in circles
5. Repeat 4.

EDIT - In all seriousness, someone should have just said no to begin with. It's simply not possible.
User avatar
Cubelover
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by Cubelover » Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:00 am

doktor_krotch wrote:EDIT - In all seriousness, someone should have just said no to begin with. It's simply not possible.
I did.
User avatar
andzlay
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by andzlay » Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:57 pm

If this was facebook I would press "Like" to the post above.
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by kevstah2004 » Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:21 pm

emu_kidid wrote:yes only for wii. it's a dodgy piece of software that I coded way back and I wouldn't recommend using it. You're better off using CleanRip :)
So I booted a Wii dol on my GC :o
doktor_krotch
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by doktor_krotch » Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:01 am

My bad Cubelover, you did indeed.

kevstah2004 is teh WINRAR! But not an iso though :P
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by kevstah2004 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:16 am

doktor_krotch wrote:My bad Cubelover, you did indeed.

kevstah2004 is teh WINRAR! But not an iso though :P
ugh?
doktor_krotch
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by doktor_krotch » Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:43 am

You succeeded at booting a Wii dol on a GC but not a Wii ISO.
kevstah2004
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: UK, Hull

Re: Wii ISO Booter for GC

Post by kevstah2004 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09 am

So what's WINRAR got to do with anything?
Post Reply