RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby wii_HD » Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:58 pm

New year new RetroArch.

As my CRT is broken now awaiting repair I have not tried out the new release.

There does not appear to be a changelog or a mame core.

http://www.libretro.com/index.php/downloads/
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City

Aressi
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Aressi » Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:51 pm

On gamecube version I can play only super puzzle fighter 2 turbo, sunsest riders and cadillacs and dinosaurs, gamecube version has not improved

julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby julius » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:11 pm

Have only tested PCE core and finally the controler issue was fixed on gamecube, wich is good because this emu do play sound on super cd games, but I cannot use the six button controller on games like Street Fighter CE. No changes in the other cores but would appreciate someone could test Doom and Quake cores, I try to make them to work but it seems I some file is missed or I do not configured them correctly.

User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby bearteam » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:50 am

The VBA-next core still crashes after selecting any game. They should remove that core since it does not work at all.

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:22 pm

I've got this error when I select a GBA game.
I reported it on the libretro forum, I hope they (or someone here) can fix it

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?i ... to0021.jpg

User avatar
bearteam
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby bearteam » Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:35 am

y0da89 wrote:I've got this error when I select a GBA game.
I reported it on the libretro forum, I hope they (or someone here) can fix it

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?i ... to0021.jpg

They would not. They would only say "It's all Gamecube's small RAM's falut, and the Gamecube's port is only a by-product of Wii's port".

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:02 am

The Wii doesn't have more RAM. It has four times the ARAM though.

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:53 am

Ok, thank you for your explainations.

But, as I mentionned in another thread, a GPSP port for PS2 is able to run most of the GBA games at a decent speed.
It seems that they had the same RAM-related problem and were able to fix it.

Source code + release + details in this post.
http://psx-scene.com/forums/f19/preview ... ost1094609

Running Nintendo stuff on Sony is quite strange. I would feel better holding my GC controller. :P

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Sun Apr 20, 2014 5:47 pm

Unfortunately porting that directly would be hard because the PS2 is MIPS and the GC is PPC. It is faster though so with some effort it would be possible.

If anyone knows an emulator for PPC systems with a dynarec that is fast enough on GC or less specs, it would be nice.

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:00 pm

I hope so
Last edited by y0da89 on Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Extrems » Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:19 pm

Streetwalker wrote:The Wii doesn't have more RAM. It has four times the ARAM though.

EXRAM/MEM2 on Wii is addressable, ARAM on GameCube isn't.
You have to initiate DMA transfers from/to MRAM.

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:16 am

Oh really ? Didn't know that. Is it actually as fast as the main 24MB ?

User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4221
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby emu_kidid » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:54 pm

If you're talking about either EXRAM/MEM2 or ARAM, they're both slower than the 24MB MEM1.

ARAM is SDRAM, MEM2 is GDDR3 SDRAM, both are slower than the 1T-SRAM that is the 24MB MEM1.
Image

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:35 pm

Oh well ok then. DDR 3 is still pretty fast but nothing beats 10ns SRAM.

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:09 am

And is it possible to use the power of the GameBoy player to improve emulation performances?

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:13 am

Gameboy player = actual GBA hardware. The boot disc contains the communication software.

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:38 am

Thank you for the explanations. So the original hardware can run GBA games in full speed.
Where does the problem come from ? (noob language preferred)

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:23 pm

The problem is just that noone is volunteer to write a fast emulator because the cube can potentially emulate the GBA >9000 times full speed. And pretty accurately at that.

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:47 am

Well, that is sad. Unfortunately I don't know anything about coding. No such things in my master's degree :D
Is it possible to tweak VBA GX? Or does it mean that someone has to build/create a new emulator ?

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:01 am

It is possible to optimize it but it won't be as fast as an emulator developed with the Cube on mind from the beginning. One thing that could help is WKF ROM loading because the DVD bus is very fast and it has DMA. That would already improve the performance loss due to the lack of RAM. We also need an ARM > PPC dynarec, hardware acceleration for PPU emulation and a Gameboy Color core (the GBC HW is used for audio among other things).

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:50 am

Ok thank you again.
If anybody is interested, I found a Gpsp source code here.
http://dl.qj.net/psp/emulators/gpsp-mod ... ource.html

User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby Streetwalker » Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:20 pm

I'd rather have the official link to the source. ;)

y0da89
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Postby y0da89 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:26 pm

I do not think the official link still exists.
I've read this article mentioning it is the only open source version available
https://github.com/bibanon/android-deve ... /wiki/gPSP


Return to “Emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest