Page 1 of 1

RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:58 pm
by wii_HD
New year new RetroArch.

As my CRT is broken now awaiting repair I have not tried out the new release.

There does not appear to be a changelog or a mame core.

http://www.libretro.com/index.php/downloads/

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:51 pm
by Aressi
On gamecube version I can play only super puzzle fighter 2 turbo, sunsest riders and cadillacs and dinosaurs, gamecube version has not improved

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:11 pm
by julius
Have only tested PCE core and finally the controler issue was fixed on gamecube, wich is good because this emu do play sound on super cd games, but I cannot use the six button controller on games like Street Fighter CE. No changes in the other cores but would appreciate someone could test Doom and Quake cores, I try to make them to work but it seems I some file is missed or I do not configured them correctly.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:50 am
by bearteam
The VBA-next core still crashes after selecting any game. They should remove that core since it does not work at all.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:22 pm
by y0da89
I've got this error when I select a GBA game.
I reported it on the libretro forum, I hope they (or someone here) can fix it

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?i ... to0021.jpg

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:35 am
by bearteam
y0da89 wrote:I've got this error when I select a GBA game.
I reported it on the libretro forum, I hope they (or someone here) can fix it

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?i ... to0021.jpg
They would not. They would only say "It's all Gamecube's small RAM's falut, and the Gamecube's port is only a by-product of Wii's port".

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:02 am
by Streetwalker
The Wii doesn't have more RAM. It has four times the ARAM though.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:53 am
by y0da89
Ok, thank you for your explainations.

But, as I mentionned in another thread, a GPSP port for PS2 is able to run most of the GBA games at a decent speed.
It seems that they had the same RAM-related problem and were able to fix it.

Source code + release + details in this post.
http://psx-scene.com/forums/f19/preview ... ost1094609

Running Nintendo stuff on Sony is quite strange. I would feel better holding my GC controller. :P

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 5:47 pm
by Streetwalker
Unfortunately porting that directly would be hard because the PS2 is MIPS and the GC is PPC. It is faster though so with some effort it would be possible.

If anyone knows an emulator for PPC systems with a dynarec that is fast enough on GC or less specs, it would be nice.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:00 pm
by y0da89
I hope so

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:19 pm
by Extrems
Streetwalker wrote:The Wii doesn't have more RAM. It has four times the ARAM though.
EXRAM/MEM2 on Wii is addressable, ARAM on GameCube isn't.
You have to initiate DMA transfers from/to MRAM.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:16 am
by Streetwalker
Oh really ? Didn't know that. Is it actually as fast as the main 24MB ?

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:54 pm
by emu_kidid
If you're talking about either EXRAM/MEM2 or ARAM, they're both slower than the 24MB MEM1.

ARAM is SDRAM, MEM2 is GDDR3 SDRAM, both are slower than the 1T-SRAM that is the 24MB MEM1.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:35 pm
by Streetwalker
Oh well ok then. DDR 3 is still pretty fast but nothing beats 10ns SRAM.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:09 am
by y0da89
And is it possible to use the power of the GameBoy player to improve emulation performances?

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:13 am
by Streetwalker
Gameboy player = actual GBA hardware. The boot disc contains the communication software.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:38 am
by y0da89
Thank you for the explanations. So the original hardware can run GBA games in full speed.
Where does the problem come from ? (noob language preferred)

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:23 pm
by Streetwalker
The problem is just that noone is volunteer to write a fast emulator because the cube can potentially emulate the GBA >9000 times full speed. And pretty accurately at that.

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:47 am
by y0da89
Well, that is sad. Unfortunately I don't know anything about coding. No such things in my master's degree :D
Is it possible to tweak VBA GX? Or does it mean that someone has to build/create a new emulator ?

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:01 am
by Streetwalker
It is possible to optimize it but it won't be as fast as an emulator developed with the Cube on mind from the beginning. One thing that could help is WKF ROM loading because the DVD bus is very fast and it has DMA. That would already improve the performance loss due to the lack of RAM. We also need an ARM > PPC dynarec, hardware acceleration for PPU emulation and a Gameboy Color core (the GBC HW is used for audio among other things).

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:50 am
by y0da89
Ok thank you again.
If anybody is interested, I found a Gpsp source code here.
http://dl.qj.net/psp/emulators/gpsp-mod ... ource.html

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:20 pm
by Streetwalker
I'd rather have the official link to the source. ;)

Re: RetroArch V1.0.0 - Wii - GC

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:26 pm
by y0da89
I do not think the official link still exists.
I've read this article mentioning it is the only open source version available
https://github.com/bibanon/android-deve ... /wiki/gPSP