DOS emulator?

Post Reply
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

DOS emulator?

Post by julius » Fri May 04, 2012 11:17 pm

Have anyone heard about a DOS emulator for cube? I ask because I thought I had seen everything of gc homebrew when I tested nes/snes emulators, etc. , but when I found out in this site the image viwer, I admited I was wrong. Just think in the posibilities if it becomes real: classic games, applications, windows...
User avatar
infact
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by infact » Sat May 05, 2012 1:20 am

dosbox wii will likely run with minor modifications...
could be problematic to run games without keyboard support, though
infact
Image Image
Benni
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:45 am

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by Benni » Sat May 05, 2012 1:44 pm

OH!
THERE IS a keyboard for Gamecube!
I have one, but NEVER tested! ;-)
I have this:
http://www.amazon.de/Datel-Powerboard-K ... B000094TOF

And ther was this one too:
http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-23- ... 0-1xe.html
User avatar
infact
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by infact » Sat May 05, 2012 10:00 pm

Obviously i know that there is a keyboard (official PSO), several third party keyboards (datel) and several keyboard adapters (e-k, wiick, ezk... etc).

What i meant is, that there is no keyboard support for them in libogc. So you can attach it, but not use it with homebrew. Nobody ever bothered adding it.
infact
Image Image
User avatar
andzlay
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by andzlay » Sun May 06, 2012 12:48 am

Really? I always thought there is some library...
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by julius » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:48 pm

Browsing the web I found this : http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.p ... b9ff3eac5e . It seems these guys tried successfully, but I´m not clear if it was through gclinux or something like that.
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1753
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by liquitt » Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:49 am

julius wrote:Browsing the web I found this : http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.p ... b9ff3eac5e . It seems these guys tried successfully, but I´m not clear if it was through gclinux or something like that.
let me quote them
I've done it before.

It runs ok, but slow (with no dynarec, obviously). The biggest problem was mapping keys to the controller for me, so I didn't bother. Not terribly much you can play at that speed.
seems to be the number one problem there. a lot of work for something that nobody really NEEDS, so nobody ever bothered...as infact already said.
there was a dosbox build for gc floating around the internet iirc

and on the other hand you could try and run it from gc-linux. well obviously not as good as running it natively but still
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by julius » Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:27 pm

Do you know where I can find it? Please, I try to run some apps in Dsx86 (nds) and I´d like to know if they can run in gamecube.
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by julius » Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:32 pm

infact wrote:Obviously i know that there is a keyboard (official PSO), several third party keyboards (datel) and several keyboard adapters (e-k, wiick, ezk... etc).

What i meant is, that there is no keyboard support for them in libogc. So you can attach it, but not use it with homebrew. Nobody ever bothered adding it.

Now that I remembered you talked about libraries, it seems that they could not be improved, at least in the near future because WinterMute is actually disabled http://www.ds-scene.net/?s=viewtopic&nid=12219 .
Well, I only can enjoy my DOS games/apps. in my ds with dsx86 and wait the situation to improve.
User avatar
MarioMania
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 6:40 am

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by MarioMania » Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:21 am

If they did DosBox GC

Would it have enough RAM to run it?
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1753
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by liquitt » Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:45 am

MarioMania wrote:If they did DosBox GC

Would it have enough RAM to run it?
maybe you should read this first:
http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Performance
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by keropi » Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:14 pm

Even with keyboard support I doubt it would be usable... it would be dead slow.
I have played with dosbox on the original xbox, with a dynarec and optimized core it reached the performance of a fast286/slow386 vga pc. An the xbox has a x86 cpu which is a huge advantage...
I am not even sure the wii is good at dosbox.... keep in mind that even the ps3 dosbox port wasn't better than the xbox's one...
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by julius » Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:35 am

Guys of Retroarch are developing a dosbox core but, though we can already run .exe with nxengine, I doubt they are interested in porting the dosbox core to the gamecube because of lack of ram and blah blah. It is sad because it would be pretty cool.
Sintendo
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:39 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: DOS emulator?

Post by Sintendo » Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:01 pm

julius wrote:Guys of Retroarch are developing a dosbox core but, though we can already run .exe with nxengine, I doubt they are interested in porting the dosbox core to the gamecube because of lack of ram and blah blah. It is sad because it would be pretty cool.
Uh, you do know that NXEngine is just for Cave Story, right? It's not capable of running any Windows executable like you seem to be implying.
Post Reply