Dreamcast

Anything before or after the GameCube!
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:20 am

Working on a Dreamcast IDE connector.
Attachments
1405228812032.jpg
(1.46 MiB) Not downloaded yet
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: Dreamcast

Post by keropi » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:45 am

please update on your progress, I've seen this interesting hack but noone I know actually built it yet... I am tempted to do it if it really works
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:49 am

Yeah, is this the G1-ATA? I've thought about building one too, let us know how it goes. Will you still be able to use the drive?
Image
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:08 pm

Yeah from the little I've found the hard drive will be the slave and I will still need to boot the machine from the gdrom using the new release of dream Shell. I'm not sure about everything. I'm just following a pin out from a Russian page with the g1 ata I kept waiting for more info or a tutorial but I've got 4 Dreamcasts so I figured I'd wing it. But man it would be awesome if emu_kidd and megalomaniac got interested in this. I could see the "megadream" series of boards selling like crazy!
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
mautheus
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:20 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by mautheus » Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:21 pm

Image
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by sk8er000 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:28 pm

Is the compatibility improved from the dreamsheel's one?
Using Tapatalk
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:13 pm

I don't know if compatibility has got much better. I've been using the SD to serial to load isos for a while now. Stock iso does not work they have to be patched. But it's kind of like Swiss they are always updating. I also got lucky and I am on the waiting list for an gd-emu that replaces the gd rom. Supposedly it is perfect compatibility but the down side is no menu system. You make folders on the SD card and toggle through them with no visual indicator. If you want to bit the game in folder 16 you press it 16 times. I should know how good it is in 4 to 6 weeks lol.
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by sk8er000 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:15 pm

The psio team said that Dreamcast is the next on their roadmap. But I think they will took a lot of time before releasing something to sell..
This is what one of the developer said:
"The PlayStation 1, Dreamcast, SEGA Saturn, 3DO, PC-FX, Atari Jaguar CD, CDi, Sega-CD and Amiga CD32 are on our minds. It just takes time to develop flash cartridges, but once PSIO is done, the rest can be based off of the same logic code."
Using Tapatalk
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:08 am

Well I'm talking a trip tomorrow so it will be a few days till I have an update. But I have to wait on my ide to sata adapter to come in anyway.
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Fri Jul 18, 2014 5:25 am

Okay so I'm back home and I got some parts in. I don't know if it will work but I figured I might as well go straight for something that will be sure to frustrate me. Got a cheap sata to ide adapter. Wish me luck.
Attachments
1405661114088.jpg
(299.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1405661088405.jpg
(706.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:29 am

Okay so a little progress being made. I need to run power Tomorrow. And put it together and see what happens.
Attachments
1405747754268.jpg
(962.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: Dreamcast

Post by keropi » Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:46 am

nice spaghetti monster :D can't wait to see if you get it working, it looks such a promising mod!
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:18 am

Okay so I specifically purchased a sata to ide that says it's capable of putting drive in slave mode. But now that I read reviews they all say the same thing. No slave mode! But when plugged in I do get a conflict. So something is happening. Tomorrow I'm going to switch to just and ide drive and cable.
Attachments
IMG_20140719_161447.jpg
(619.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by megalomaniac » Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:46 am

are you sure you bought the right type of adapter?

SATA HDD > IDE adapter
not
IDE HDD > SATA adapter



here are links to the ones ive successfully tried:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/291162463308
http://www.ebay.com/itm/121385588661
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:07 am

yeah it is SATA HDD > IDE adapter and does work on my computer it's just that it can only be run as master I tried it with a dvd rom on the same cable and it only works when dvd rom is set to slave. But it was the cheapest one I could find so I wasn't expecting much.
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Jul 20, 2014 4:31 am

You're going to have to pay a bit more for one that can do slave mode, only one I found that can do it was $20
Image
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 6:22 am

Well I got something at least. I finally found some docs on my adapter. I jumpered two pins and now dreamshell finds a drive! But it also locks up. I think for now I will go with an old ide drive and cable just to make sure it works before I spend money on another adapter.
Attachments
IMG_20140720_011554.jpg
(582.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:22 pm

hehe, what a random assortment of consoles you have there ;)
Image
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:07 pm

Lol yeah you should see the TV next to it. I little bit of everything.
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
User avatar
MockyLock
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:12 pm

Re: Dreamcast

Post by MockyLock » Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:47 pm

I follow your job with a lot of attention. I hope it will work so you'll teach us the way to do the same thing :)
Benni
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:45 am

Re: Dreamcast

Post by Benni » Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:53 pm

There are a few more things...

First what happens if you remove the jumper???
is ist a master/slave Jumper or a master/CS Jumper?

Next:
The Chipset is also something to get your eyes on.

I tested a lot of those adapters on a XBOX CLASSIC.
the best is with marvell chipset - they are the fastest i found.

SOMETIMES the HDD is detected but tooo sloooowww.
The Box won´t but up.
MAYBE you have the same Prob - adapter to slow.

Greetings
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 4:59 pm

Thanks Benni for the advice, I didn't think about it maybe being cable select. If I change the jumper it does nothing. Since you brought it up in going to try it in my Xbox and see how it works. Do you have a specific adapter you can recommend that had worked well on Xbox?
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
marcus9199
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:43 am
Location: Texas

Re: Dreamcast

Post by marcus9199 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 5:00 pm

And while I'm at it... More of my assortment of random consoles.
Attachments
IMG_20140720_115442.jpg
(839.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My wife took my Beer Away!!!!
Benni
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:45 am

Re: Dreamcast

Post by Benni » Sun Jul 20, 2014 6:52 pm

Sorry, i´m from Germany, i think we have different kind of adapters (manufacturers)
So this is why i can´t give you an advice.

Mine all have a "MARVELL" Chipset, and of course JUMPERS!
SOMETIMES on a PIC you can see a Jumper BUT this is for a LED - so MAYBE your Jumper is also for an LED...

You must look if you can get a good pic to see if the jumpers are labeled, to see ich they can Master/Slave/CS!
Post Reply