Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

ViperGC/Qoob/etc
Post Reply
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Sun Jan 12, 2014 12:33 pm

I just had this idea. Can it be done? If so the easiest method for me to understand is likely a bootable 1.35gb setup iso.
usb port isn't recognized by my computer (could be a bad cable or something).
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:33 pm

Yes it can be done (the same code from NinjaMod's BIOS and tmbinc's IPL replacement can be used to flash it I believe).
Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:17 pm

Cool. I guess I shouldn't expect all the work done for me, but may need one heck of a walkthrough. Never compiled a gc ready iso.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:14 am

So any progress? It has been some 18 months.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:13 am

I'll be blunt, zero progress, zero motivation to get this done, I'd rather work on other more important things. That being said, there's nothing stopping anyone else from writing something to do this or at least a build script to make a .GCB file.
Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:41 am

Then do you remember how to activate USB mode? There doesn't look to be a definitive online manual, info is scattered about.
I'd like to double check it still doesn't work before asking for repairs.
Xesxen
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by Xesxen » Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:05 am

Back from the days that I had a Qoob Pro, I just made sure the cube was turned off when connecting the Qoob to the PC. If that doesn't work, check if your USB cable isn't broken...
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:41 am

Xesxen wrote:Back from the days that I had a Qoob Pro, I just made sure the cube was turned off when connecting the Qoob to the PC. If that doesn't work, check if your USB cable isn't broken...
That'd be the next step. First I need the button command to enter USB mode.
Xesxen
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by Xesxen » Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:31 pm

Button command? How would you enter that when the cube is off... Just plug in the cable when the cube is off and it should work (if yours isn't broken)
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Sun Sep 13, 2015 1:46 pm

By holding down buttons when you press power. Well Windows detected a Dualshock 3 on the cable.

What about flashing via BBA? It'd be faster to buy one than get this fixed.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:48 pm

The USB enumeration on the Qoob Pro to program it is dodgy (at least on mine, and in windows 7/8/10 it's very picky).

Plug the qoob in to USB, GC off. Plug the PC end of the USB cable in and out repeatedly every 2-3 seconds, eventually windows will detect it and both the programmer board LED and the Qoob LED should be on. I thought I had a faulty flex/cable/qoob/programmer, but I've had this happen across about 5-6 Qoobs interchanging parts/etc so I've put it down to bad timing on the Qoob side.
Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:05 am

Not much luck so far. No taskbar icon saying new hardware was found.
Unfortunately I'm not a modder, cash is the only other reliable solution at this point.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:07 am

Tried with an XP VM ? Pass the USB device through, that should do the trick.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:47 am

Oh, didn't think of that. Hmm.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:59 am

...might not pass thru to VM if its not recognized on the host
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:48 am

Yeah that's the issue I was having, host would recognise it momentarily then fail so not even a VM helped. In the end I got it working in the host completely and didn't need the VM.
Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by theclaw » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:06 am

I don't know whether the host saw anything. Not really familiar with USB event logging.
Noctaire
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 11:18 am

Re: Flashing swiss to qoob pro, from dvd

Post by Noctaire » Tue Dec 24, 2019 11:22 am

Hey guys, can anyone please help me with flashing the swiss into a qoob pro with dvd? my usb port doesnt work. i bought a new 12 pin ribbon cable but that didnt help. when im connecting the qoob to my pc, the led goes on but the qoob flasher says. try to re-plug usb.
so how can i flash swiss via dvd ?
Post Reply