Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

ViperGC/Qoob/etc
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:39 am

Hi guys, I know swiss can autoboot because it does on a micro sd with adapter I have (transcend) it's only 64mb though.
I tried

16GB Lexar SDHC class 6
16GB Transcend SDHC Class 10

I really want autoboot, rather than having swiss ready to boot in gameplay section with no pin29.
Before I fork out 15ish dollars, does anyone know a 16gb card that definitely autoboots swiss?

Sandisk options

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SanDisk-Genu ... 1c3b291e14
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SanDisk-16GB ... 35c5ba77f7
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Sandisk-Ultr ... 43c4b5c555

Kind of leaning toward the Micro with adapter??
Thanks
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:12 am

there is no definite card that will allow autoboot vs autoload
or at least one has not been identified yet, if you read the autoboot thread you will see some of the cards documented which were tested and i dont know if this was posted but someone else performed numerous tests using two of the exact same type cards...only one allowed autoboot while the other card allowed autoload.
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:22 am

Thanks, I was down town and they had half price 'platinum II, SDHC x200 Class 10' lexar cards.. I needed a new one for my car anyway. Ended up being cheaper than the other lexar class 6 I bought (same shop)
No autoboot.
I will try the MicroSD Sandisk, as all others are regular SD... then I'll just settle with autoload.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:27 am

its hit and miss...
there is just not enough research on the cause to find a solution (if any) at this point




...and to add further complication into the testing...
i found 2 WASPS with 1.4v installed from the factory ( same as all the others with v1.4 ) which actually autoboot using cards known to only autoload..
as far as we have discovered thru testing, only 1.0 had the ability to autoboot...so whats makes these two WASPS different from the rest???
its a mystery until more research is done....
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:44 am

Well if it helps, the micro SD card didn't have the option for formatting FAT32, just FAT ..and it autoboots.
The rest were regular SD cards formatted FAT32 (Fat wasn't an available option)
This is with windows 7.


I ordered a MicroSD sandisk, and I'll let you know what happens as far as autoboot goes (Swiss build R256)
They also had swiss installed from 1.5
User avatar
iamdablasta
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:24 pm

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by iamdablasta » Fri Mar 14, 2014 3:12 pm

L10N37 wrote:Well if it helps, the micro SD card didn't have the option for formatting FAT32, just FAT ..and it autoboots.
The rest were regular SD cards formatted FAT32 (Fat wasn't an available option)
This is with windows 7.


I ordered a MicroSD sandisk, and I'll let you know what happens as far as autoboot goes (Swiss build R256)
They also had swiss installed from 1.5
Note that even if windows wont let you format, other programs still do.
Though, if what you posted works on every card that would be nice. I don't know, haven't tested.
the game
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:20 pm

FAT/FAT32 makes not difference
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1739
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:02 pm

Isn't fat limited to 64kB files like fat32 is limited to 4GB though ?
User avatar
deckard
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by deckard » Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:06 pm

None of the five or six SD cards I've tried autoboot. Doesn't bother me though because I prefer autoload. Makes it easier to access the memory card manager IMHO.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1739
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:13 pm

Well, not really. I found out yesterday on my (still stock) Cube that holding A on startup will go to the menu if you have a disc inserted. So it should be the same with an auto booting WKF.
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:02 am

iamdablasta wrote:
L10N37 wrote:Well if it helps, the micro SD card didn't have the option for formatting FAT32, just FAT ..and it autoboots.
The rest were regular SD cards formatted FAT32 (Fat wasn't an available option)
This is with windows 7.


I ordered a MicroSD sandisk, and I'll let you know what happens as far as autoboot goes (Swiss build R256)
They also had swiss installed from 1.5
Note that even if windows wont let you format, other programs still do.
Though, if what you posted works on every card that would be nice. I don't know, haven't tested.
I think FAT just means it's under 2gb and anything over needs FAT32, exFAT or NTFS.
User avatar
iamdablasta
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:24 pm

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by iamdablasta » Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:06 am

L10N37 wrote:
iamdablasta wrote:
L10N37 wrote:Well if it helps, the micro SD card didn't have the option for formatting FAT32, just FAT ..and it autoboots.
The rest were regular SD cards formatted FAT32 (Fat wasn't an available option)
This is with windows 7.


I ordered a MicroSD sandisk, and I'll let you know what happens as far as autoboot goes (Swiss build R256)
They also had swiss installed from 1.5
Note that even if windows wont let you format, other programs still do.
Though, if what you posted works on every card that would be nice. I don't know, haven't tested.
I think FAT just means it's under 2gb and anything over needs FAT32, exFAT or NTFS.
Yeah, but sometimes you NEED something to be fat, fat16, or fat32 regardless of what windows wants you to use.
Some software/hardware is very picky.
the game
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1739
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:44 am

L10N37 wrote:
iamdablasta wrote:
L10N37 wrote:Well if it helps, the micro SD card didn't have the option for formatting FAT32, just FAT ..and it autoboots.
The rest were regular SD cards formatted FAT32 (Fat wasn't an available option)
This is with windows 7.


I ordered a MicroSD sandisk, and I'll let you know what happens as far as autoboot goes (Swiss build R256)
They also had swiss installed from 1.5
Note that even if windows wont let you format, other programs still do.
Though, if what you posted works on every card that would be nice. I don't know, haven't tested.
I think FAT just means it's under 2gb and anything over needs FAT32, exFAT or NTFS.
Wrong. FAT can handle big partitions, and others can handle small ones. The different FAT specs are about file size encoding and limit mostly. NTFS is something else.
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:54 am

maximum of 2gig partitions for regular FAT16, still waiting on that card.... sloowwwww postagggee
User avatar
iamdablasta
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:24 pm

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by iamdablasta » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:55 am

Either my 32gb kingston class 4 (def legit, no cheapo from china) won't autoboot, or I am doing it wrong.
My 2gb (unknown brand) will autoboot, but it is only two gb and wbfs format as a backup card with swiss on it.
the game
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:50 am

I give up, the Micro SD 16gb sandisk doesn't work, the only card I have had autoboot is a sandisk micro SD 64mb fat formatted and nokia 128mb Micro SD.
Thats 4 16gb SD cards I have now, lucky they are cheap.

I think I said I had a transcend micro sd autoboot but it was sandisk, and I just tried the nokia which also works.

So from my personal experience, and the way I installed Swiss, I am only getting autoboot on FAT formatted cards (less than 2gb partition) I would say maybe that was the problem as GC discs are only 1.4gb BUT other people have had there larger cards boot up...!
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:20 am

Hey guys,

Sandisk Ultra SDHC 16GB is autobooting.
5th 16gb card I've tried.
:D
User avatar
iamdablasta
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:24 pm

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by iamdablasta » Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:57 am

L10N37 wrote:Hey guys,

Sandisk Ultra SDHC 16GB is autobooting.
5th 16gb card I've tried.
:D
Gratulations, I could never afford buying that many in hopes one work.
the game
L10N37
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by L10N37 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:33 am

they're down to the $10-$15 online :P
What's annoying is that was the first card I was going to buy, has the best reviews from the Camera Geek people... they praise it like it's the holy grail of SD cards.

If you use one, change the swiss settings to 16mhz down from 32.
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by alzen » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:10 pm

Sorry for lame question but does it work only with WKF or I can boot into SWISS with plain Gamecube as well?

Would be cool, same like FreeMCBoot for PS2, it's a pity we cannot install SWISS onto a memory card and autoboot it that way.
Image Image Image
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1739
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:59 pm

No you can't unless you have a modchip that can boot burned DVDs, then you just pop in a Swiss DVD.
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by alzen » Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:04 pm

All clear, thx :).
Image Image Image
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1739
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:25 pm

To be even clearer, there are no known exploits in the IPL. So a FreeMCboot like is not possible for now.
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by alzen » Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:30 pm

I see, hmm, hope it'll change in the future ;).
Image Image Image
User avatar
badsector
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Definite autoboot swiss SD card.

Post by badsector » Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:27 pm

I now got 3 of them (all from different orders), and all of them will auto boot: http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B007BJH ... UTF8&psc=1

Only works with the 16GB card, though. The 32GB card just auto loads. Never tried the other card sizes until now.
Last edited by badsector on Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply