Qoob Chip

ViperGC/Qoob/etc
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:46 pm

Great! I will try it in a few hours and post here my feedback! ;)

Did you managed to compress everything without removing exFat support and other stuff?! :o

Thanks for your development Streetwalker, after all these years, keeping GC alive... this is really cool!
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:28 pm

toxic9 wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:46 pm
Did you managed to compress everything without removing exFat support and other stuff?! :o
Yes, thanks to dolxz + enabling compiler optimizations for size, everything is in, and the compressed executable is actually functional (I've only tested USB loading but that means everything should work).
toxic9 wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:46 pm
Thanks for your development Streetwalker, after all these years, keeping GC alive... this is really cool!
Thanks for the support. I'm doing this for fun and I'm glad my work is useful to others... especially since this particular feature isn't useful to me at all. :P
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:29 pm

IT WORKS PERFECTLY!

A huge < Thank You! > for all your effort on doing this!
I know most of people just don't care about these consoles nowadays... but the Big N is one of my passions, and the GC is my favourite console of all times.
I just want you to know that I really appreciate your work and all your contribution to the GC scene.

I just found a little issue: I can't boot >= 32Gb SD cards from slot A... but I think this is any hardware issue from the slot itself or from the card itself.
2Gb and 8Gb cards work on slot A. My 32Gb cards are not recognized!
I only have Sandisk cards here! Maybe it depends on the brand also.
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:28 pm

I hope you don't mind, I have just made a little change to your ELF! Now it shows the text "QOOB SX iplboot upgrade" instead of "QOOB SX upgrade to 1.3c" which it not true!
QOOB_SX_IPLBOOT_UPGRADE.jpg
(90.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I also build an ISO everyone can burn on DVD and upgrade:
QOOB_SX_IPLBOOT_UPGRADE_ISO.rar
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 66 times
Attachments
IMG_20180614_001403.jpg
(90.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:33 am

That's a good idea, I'll include it in the build script.
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:26 pm

The SX version you provided on github doesn't work. It freezes booting swiss, like the first test we made.
r5 work. r5.1 doesn't. both versions are different, not only on the "iplboot install" text...
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:08 pm

iplboot.gcb version 55.1 for Pro doesn't work either...It freezes booting swiss
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:27 pm

Maybe I need to do more testing then. All I've tried is loading a dol over USB and it worked. I didn't test SD loading nor flashing to the Qoob. The difference is r5.1 is actually compiled with optimizations for size, r5 wasn't due to an oversight.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:32 am

toxic9, do you see something like this when it fails to boot?
Image

Do give r5.2 a try, I've tested it on my Qoob Pro this time and it works.
Attachments
mpv-shot0001.png
(257.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Sat Jun 16, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi friend!
Yes, that's something like that!
r5.2 is perfect now. Pro and SX versions are OK.

You said you tested loading a dol from USB. On SX? How do you do that?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:18 pm

With a USB gecko and https://github.com/emukidid/gc-usb-load. iplboot includes part of the GC side of that program.
toxic9
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by toxic9 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:49 pm

I made a miniDVD cover layout for the Qoob update disc!
If anyone likes it, just print it =)
Image
Image
Attachments
Qoob Cover.zip
(200.65 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
heestp
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 9:47 am

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by heestp » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:39 am

Hi Toxic,

Can you upload the 5.2 update iso for Qoob Sx?
krecik002
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:19 pm

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by krecik002 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:59 pm

Hi, this is my first post. I have question. I have GC with Qoob Pro modchip with 1.3c bios(?). Can i run game from usb because i dont have qoob case and Can i update some how my bios?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:14 am

You need the USB cable to flash the Pro currently, unless you figure out how to splice the BIOS image into the official flasher like the SX version (I can't help you with that, sorry). No way to play games via USB without an ODE.
krecik002
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:19 pm

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by krecik002 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:28 pm

I have cabel USB, but witch Bios i can use i have official, I can find some new bios?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:37 pm

1.3c is the latest official bios. You can also use iplboot to load Swiss from SD gecko.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4376
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:02 am

I'd spliced the iplboot file into the PRO .elf flasher, didn't require anything special, just find their blob and replace.
Image
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:45 am

Good to know. My qoob is still on my other mainboard and I don't really need to transfer it over at the moment so I won't be touching this.
iDesTroY
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by iDesTroY » Sat Dec 15, 2018 2:02 pm

Hi, I have a Qoob SX and was wondering if there's anyway to make the option of having Swiss loadable straight from a SD or MC without using disks?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Qoob Chip

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Dec 15, 2018 4:42 pm

Use iplboot.
Post Reply