Wasp and rgb problem

ViperGC/Qoob/etc
Post Reply
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Wasp and rgb problem

Post by sk8er000 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:33 pm

Hello,
Today finally I've received my MEGAdrive v4 and it's fantastic! Thanks a lot Megalomaniac!
Unfortunately I've got a problem using this with my japanese gamecube
If I use the regular composit cable everything works, but if I use my scart rgb cable ( http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/ntsc-gamecube-rgb-cable/) made with an official component cable and a coposit one I can't see the wasp menu.
If I try to load a backup from the sd remembering the buttons combination the game starts and I can see it in rgb mode..
Is there any way to save this problem?
Thanks in advance
Using Tapatalk
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by Streetwalker » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:45 pm

The issue is that it's in progressive mode, due to the component cable being plugged in. There are ways to fix this (you can prevent the GameCube from detecting it). I don't know much about that though so others can probably help.
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by sk8er000 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:47 pm

Thank you for your answer! I hope that someone could explain me how to fix this.
Does an unmodded component cable used with the regular composit cable can solve this issue?
Edit :
I've found that if I power on the gc without the digital output o can see the Swiss menu and if I plug the digital out when Swiss is already booted I still can see the menu and with the right resolution
. It's very strange
Using Tapatalk
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by megalomaniac » Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:14 pm

With the digital cable plugged in, hold L trigger on your controller at boot until you see swiss on screen.
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by sk8er000 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:25 pm

Thank you for your answer, unfortunately I've just tried this solution several times with different joysticks, trying to hold the L trigger at different moments (ex before power on, immediately after power on, after the gamecube logo) and wait with the trigger pressed for about a minute, but every time the screen flashes for a moment then goes black for a while and finally I've got the no signal message from the TV :(
I'm sorry to bother you guys but I'm so excited about the megadrive and it's sad that I can't use my rgb out (I know it's not a megadrive issue, it just works perfectly, is a Swiss problem I think)
Using Tapatalk
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by megalomaniac » Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:56 pm

Try the R trigger
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: R: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by sk8er000 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:02 pm

Same results..
Do I need to update Swiss? I've left the version you flashed on waspImage
Using Tapatalk
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4568
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:38 pm

We'll need to investigate, might be broken...
Image
User avatar
sk8er000
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by sk8er000 » Fri Jul 11, 2014 7:00 am

emu_kidid wrote:We'll need to investigate, might be broken...
ok thank you for your support, I hope it can be fixed :)
Using Tapatalk
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by theclaw » Sat Jul 12, 2014 7:02 am

emu_kidid wrote:We'll need to investigate, might be broken...
Any software who assumes progressive with the digital port in use, is broken by design. There are component input TVs who do not support 480p.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4568
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Jul 12, 2014 7:36 am

It depends who the design is intended for. I don't have such a TV, so coding the L for non-progressive is a enhancement.
Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by theclaw » Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:33 am

I guess, if nothing else against Nintendo interface guidelines. Licensed games start 480i then prompt.
User avatar
badsector
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by badsector » Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:56 am

I would totally like to be prompted every single start os SWISS if I want to switch to 480p/576p, because 0,1% of the users need 480i when using a digital out cable </sarcasm>

...but I would totally like swiss to read from/save to the swiss.ini on Gecko in Slot B when using WKF oder WASP, to eliminate such (and other) problems :D
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by theclaw » Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:10 am

badsector wrote:I would totally like to be prompted every single start os SWISS if I want to switch to 480p/576p, because 0,1% of the users need 480i when using a digital out cable </sarcasm>

...but I would totally like swiss to read from/save to the swiss.ini on Gecko in Slot B when using WKF oder WASP, to eliminate such (and other) problems :D
Yeah I know Europeans find the idea strange. 480i component CRT SDTVs are an American thing.

One compromise is put a line in swiss.ini that if used will force non-progressive. Instead of wasting people's time with a prompt. ;)
tueidj
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by tueidj » Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:40 am

You could just check the SRAM to see if progressive mode has been previously enabled before forcing it...
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:15 pm

Wait... How do you do that from a cold start ? O.O
tueidj
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by tueidj » Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:22 am

The SRAM is non-volatile (powered by the battery), it holds all the settings like default language, sound mode, vertical and horizontal video offset, wavebird IDs etc...
It also stores if 60Hz (for PAL) or Progressive (for NTSC) modes were previously used so games know to ask about them without needing to hold B on startup.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4568
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:51 am

Yeah.. I'll use that, had skipped my mind that it was stored in SRAM..
Image
kel01
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:45 pm

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by kel01 » Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:42 pm

tueidj wrote:The SRAM is non-volatile (powered by the battery), it holds all the settings like default language, sound mode, vertical and horizontal video offset, wavebird IDs etc...
It also stores if 60Hz (for PAL) or Progressive (for NTSC) modes were previously used so games know to ask about them without needing to hold B on startup.
Interesting. I can remember years ago wondering why I didn't have to hold B on startup anymore. At the time I assumed it was stored on the memory card per game save. I never took my memory card out so I was none the wiser :roll:
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Wasp and rgb problem

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:00 am

Oh wow that's cool. I though settings were saved in the IPL chip but oh well.
Post Reply