Problem booting backups with xeno gc

ViperGC/Qoob/etc
Post Reply
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:55 am

I bought a xeno chipped GameCube from ebay. Won't boot backups only loads retail copies. I sent it back the seller tested it with a copy of star fox assault. He emailed my a picture of it running and said it might be my power supply. I'm using a Nintendo power supply with third party av cables. Using a vizio m50c1 4K tv with upscaler he also said it might be my tv setup. He's sending my another GameCube with a new power supply. I'm just wandering what the issue could be. I read it could be because of voltage drops. I had a guy on Craigslist mod my other GameCube... same issue.the game cube just says insert a GameCube disc. It sounds like it's trying to read the copies though.
User avatar
andzlay
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by andzlay » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:05 pm

Maybe your burnt copy is faulty? What medium are you using?
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:35 pm

I'm using imgburn. Just writing the iso to disc. The seller tested my gamecube with my burnt disc and it worked perfect for him.
Nimecim
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:18 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by Nimecim » Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:39 pm

If I understand correctly, there are 3 Gamecube's in your story:
  1. The first GC you had a guy on Craigslist install a XenoGC, but it wouldn't read backups.
  2. The second GC you bought on eBay with a XenoGC installed and it wouldn't read backups either so you returned it. However, the seller showed you it worked for him, by running the burned disc you sent him.
  3. The third GC is the one the seller sent back along a new power supply, and you're waiting to receive it, as of December 10.
And I take it you only have one power supply, the one from the first GC, which you used with the second GC. What I don't get is why the seller is sending you another Gamecube instead of the same one, if it works.

Do you know for certain that he used your disc? Because that would indicate you're using proper media, a good burner, the right burning speed and a good image. That would also mean that the potentiometer is tweaked to read that particular media. Unless the seller supplied you with discs, I find all those circumstances to be rather unlikely. People rarely get it all right on first try, and it takes some experimentation with different brands of disc/burner/etc.

You didn't answer andzlay's question. What media are you using? Pop a disc in your drive and fire up Imgburn. Tell us what the MID is (see the attached screenshot).
ImgBurn.png
(33.7 KiB) Not downloaded yet
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:12 pm

No I don't know for certain but he sent my some copies he burnt. They didn't play either. I'm using phillips mini cd-r with a MID of CMC MAG. AF1. All burnt on 4x. Also attached a screenshot of imgburn.
Attachments
Desktop 12.12.2016 - 14.11.11.01.png
(1.22 MiB) Not downloaded yet
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:19 pm

I get all my games from emuparadise.me
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:21 pm

Also forgot... Yes I only have one powersupply. The one from the first gamecube.
Nimecim
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:18 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by Nimecim » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:54 pm

maq1919 wrote:No I don't know for certain but he sent my some copies he burnt. They didn't play either. I'm using phillips mini cd-r with a MID of CMC MAG. AF1. All burnt on 4x. Also attached a screenshot of imgburn.
You must mean Mini-DVD-R. CMCMAGAF1 should be good, although they're noted to have a wide quality variance. They seem to be popular, and the last person I helped had good success with it. You should inspect the MID of the seller's discs, too.
maq1919 wrote:I get all my games from emuparadise.me
From what I've seen, the rips there are good. To double check, you can calculate the MD5 hash with HashMyFiles for example and compare it against ReDump's database (sadly it's down at the moment).
maq1919 wrote:Also forgot... Yes I only have one powersupply. The one from the first gamecube.
Okay, in that case you're left with waiting for the new Gamecube and power supply. Your discs, burning method and images all look good.

In the meantime, you might want to try your first Gamecube with another TV, in another room or even at someone else's place. There might some sources of noise in your current setup that could interfere with the chip.
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:18 am

His discs have the same MID. I downloaded the hashcheck program and got the hash for starfox adventures but I don't know what to compare it too. I'll try the GameCube on another tv and see what happens. However I told the guy on craigslist the GameCube didn't work and I think he took the chip out and got his money back.
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:20 am

The new chipped cube should be here tomorrow or the day after. Also yes the discs are dvd-r
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:11 pm

Nimecim wrote:... ReDump's database (sadly it's down at the moment).
Attachments
redump.zip
(142.22 KiB) Downloaded 709 times
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 3:42 pm

I checked the md5 and crc match on the database and the iso. They match perfect.
maq1919
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:44 am

Re: Problem booting backups with xeno gc

Post by maq1919 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:43 pm

Got the new modded cube today with new power supply. It works perfect. Thanks for the help everyone!
Post Reply