Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

ViperGC/Qoob/etc
Post Reply
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

Post by Dragoon » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:17 am

Hey guys,

All Viper GC users know what the viper chips lack,
control of the lid switch in direct disc boot (if that's what it's called).
The Viper Dev SDK is located here: http://www.gc-forever.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18
Hope we can make this closer to perfect :D
Last edited by Dragoon on Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
doktor_krotch
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Viper Dev SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

Post by doktor_krotch » Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:59 am

I think you've got the wrong idea of what that is used for. It's not possible to implement the changes you're proposing without the source code of the Cobra BIOS.
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

Post by Dragoon » Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:26 pm

I know, but with the SDK's we should be able to code a completely new BIOS like corbra but under a different name.
Or the viper author needs to flip by on our irc channel and give us the source :D
Image
User avatar
liquitt
Posts: 1776
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:43 am
Location: neverland
Contact:

Re: Viper Dev SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

Post by liquitt » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:50 pm

Dragoon wrote:I know, but with the SDK's we should be able to code a completely new BIOS like corbra but under a different name.
Or the viper author needs to flip by on our irc channel and give us the source :D
"we" ? get started then :P
please search before you ask - a lot has been discussed already!
(or use google with "site:gc-forever.com *term*")
http://is.gd/MDmZcr

we also have a wiki filled with knowledge
http://is.gd/dX58Rm
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

Post by Dragoon » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:25 pm

Yay! *Party smiley* :lol:
I guess we should start reading the SDK's carefully (both the Dev and USB sdk),
they are both for Devkitcube and Visual studio (USB SDK pc side) (any version I guess) so you are going to need that to get it compiled.

#----------------------------------------------------
I tried to port Binload to libogc, but the output is way bigger then compiled with Devkitcube. Any suggestions?
Image
doktor_krotch
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Viper Dev SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p)

Post by doktor_krotch » Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:17 am

Fair enough.
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Dragoon » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:32 pm

Is it possible to port the lidswitch commands of the DEV SDK to the USB SDK?
Or is there any way to call it PC sided?
This is shorter then coding a whole new bios :p
Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4735
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:06 pm

In Direct Disc boot, what do you mean the lid switch doesn't work? Are you saying the option in the config menu makes no difference? If it didn't then you wouldn't be able to play 2 disc games..
Image
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Dragoon » Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:18 pm

In Cobra 2.1 you can only change the lidswicth options for original BIOS (closed or passthru).
So yes I can't play 2 disc games or use AR :?
Image
User avatar
Burbruee
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:41 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Burbruee » Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:16 pm

I've switched discs on resident evil remake through burned discs and direct disc boot on cobra. The game doesn't allow you to save before the switch so it's real. No luck with AR though as I remember it. (also swiss iso switching didn't work)
.
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Dragoon » Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:28 pm

On REE did the disc stay spinning or did it stop? And you need to load swiss via PSO or SDML/MAX Drive Pro via Original BIOS.
Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4735
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:29 pm

Changing the lidswitch for things like AR won't let it work. ViperGC.. patches games, yes, patches using software just like swiss does to achieve 2 disc games.. so there's no hope here.
Image
Hells Guardian
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Hells Guardian » Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:13 am

Should be able to patch the Action replay. I could have sworn that there was a patch for exactly this purpose released......
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Dragoon » Sat Apr 02, 2011 8:34 am

AR Patch? I think it wouldn't hurt anyone if we do a few googles on that :p
Image
User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Dragoon » Sat Apr 02, 2011 8:36 am

emu_kidid wrote:Changing the lidswitch for things like AR won't let it work. ViperGC.. patches games, yes, patches using software just like swiss does to achieve 2 disc games.. so there's no hope here.
Well it would atleast be handy for things like swiss, swiss needs a stopped motor to work, so atleast we can add support for that (I hope...)
Image
Hells Guardian
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by Hells Guardian » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:46 pm

Here is a patch that I found pretty quick.
http://www.maxconsole.net/showthread.ph ... 16f7396778
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4735
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Viper Dev/USB SDK solution for the lid switch (I hope :p

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Apr 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Yes, this patch disables DVD reset, I remember this from back in the Viper GC days. :)
Image
Post Reply