Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
MexicanFingerTrap
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 8:55 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by MexicanFingerTrap » Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:55 pm

Okay, that makes sense. Thanks!
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 755
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Papy.G » Sat Dec 11, 2021 9:45 am

Extrems wrote:
Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:50 pm
The Game Boy Player is always outputting 59.7275 frames per second. This always need to be converted on the GameCube.
So that's a frame displayed twice every 4,69 second? :|
(1/((59.94/59.7275)-1))/59,94
DMG/MultiFreq OC/EDGB/EZF Jr, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Dec 11, 2021 2:13 pm

Not in the standard edition. That uses temporal interpolation.
N7Kopper
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 2:04 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by N7Kopper » Mon Dec 13, 2021 10:37 am

Papy.G wrote:
Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:29 pm
As-is, a GBPlayer, as a GBA, can run little programs, such as additionnal players' or Minigames off GC games (Animal crossing, chocobos, Sega chao…) or even emulators if small enough with the rom , connected to a source via the link cable. The GBPlayer can be feed from the GC via an internal link connection (there is a switch in the connector, to disable it, when an external cable is plugged in), but the limitations are almost the same. GBI has a dumping utility for Rom and Save memory areas, it is sent to the add-on this way.
I always wanted to see a technical writeup of the GBP, because the fact that you can feed the link cable through the GCN's high-speed port is just fascinating to me, but I never could find one...
BloodMop
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2021 6:08 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by BloodMop » Tue Dec 14, 2021 6:41 am

Hello, thanks for the work to make this stuff for us!

I'm having trouble getting GBI booted into the GBA dump utility at the moment, when I hold start+select at the gameboy logo it will take me to the check-summer, and if I boot it without any cart in I get a prompt to insert a cart. Is there a step I'm missing to get to the dump util?

I've downloaded the latest build(GBI-20211013 but also tried GBI-20211010) and I'm running it through swiss on a GCloader. The GBI folder(without extras) and MCBACKUP folder are on root of the SD card, and I'm running the standard edition dol without any config files or changes via the dcp menu. Tried a few different GBA games.

Grabbed a pic on my phone to show I'm on standard: https://ibb.co/JkBQZN4, can provide more info if needed.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Dec 14, 2021 1:56 pm

Make sure your SD card is formatted as FAT32 and not exFAT.
BloodMop
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2021 6:08 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by BloodMop » Tue Dec 14, 2021 3:12 pm

Thanks for the quick response, I've confirmed that the SD card I'm using is formatted as FAT32: https://ibb.co/ryz7Qy7
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Dec 14, 2021 3:43 pm

Do you happen to have a Nintendo GameCube SD Card Adapter or SD2SP2 with an SD Card in it?
BloodMop
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2021 6:08 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by BloodMop » Tue Dec 14, 2021 4:11 pm

Yes, both actually. The SD2SP2 was installed during all of this, but I didn't have the memory card SD adapter in at the time.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Dec 14, 2021 4:23 pm

The SD2SP2 has priority over the GC Loader. You should place the files there.
BloodMop
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2021 6:08 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by BloodMop » Tue Dec 14, 2021 4:40 pm

That worked! https://ibb.co/jZcgsTS

Thank you for the help
retroheaven
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by retroheaven » Thu Jan 06, 2022 8:23 am

I cannot get the border feature working.

Booting GBI via SD card in the second memory card slot.

Using the latest available build of main and extra. I extracted all the files from the archive to the SD card root with directory structure intact. Starting gbi.dol and enabling border 01 results in no border.

Any idea? Can someone else confirm that it works?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Jan 06, 2022 2:26 pm

What is your SD card formatted as? It cannot be exFAT.
SG-17
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:37 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by SG-17 » Sat Jan 08, 2022 3:51 pm

I was wondering if I could get a little bit of help setting up a .dol+cli combo that works for my TV.

I have a GameCube run on two different setups, a bog standard modern 4KTV and an old circa 2008 720p (real rez 1366×768p) TV.

gbi-gcdv-v3.dol+cli works perfectly for my 4KTV. Trying to get one that looks nice on my 720p TV is a bit more challenging.


As well, do I need to append the .dol and .cli files or can I just put a .dol and a .cli named the same in the same folder to achieve the same effect?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Jan 08, 2022 5:00 pm

If you're loading through Swiss, you can do the latter.
retroheaven
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by retroheaven » Sun Jan 09, 2022 9:58 am

Extrems wrote:
Thu Jan 06, 2022 2:26 pm
What is your SD card formatted as? It cannot be exFAT.
Oh, thank you for asking. I realized that I did indeed use exFAT! Works now after reformatting to FAT32.

Do you have any recommended cli file for getting speedrunning edition working nicely with borders on a CRT in 240p? I got the border activated, but the upper and lower part of the screen flickers a bit after adding the border. It does not flicker when I add border and setting 240p and 3:2 with the standard GBI, but then the aspect ratio is not correct compared to speedrunning edition.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 755
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Papy.G » Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:01 am

If your CRT is 4/3, keep GBI in 3:2, then set the CRT to 16/9 (letterbox?)
DMG/MultiFreq OC/EDGB/EZF Jr, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sun Jan 09, 2022 2:20 pm

retroheaven wrote:
Sun Jan 09, 2022 9:58 am
Do you have any recommended cli file for getting speedrunning edition working nicely with borders on a CRT in 240p? I got the border activated, but the upper and lower part of the screen flickers a bit after adding the border.

Code: Select all

--vfilter=.5:.5:.0:.5:.0:.5
retroheaven wrote:
Sun Jan 09, 2022 9:58 am
It does not flicker when I add border and setting 240p and 3:2 with the standard GBI, but then the aspect ratio is not correct compared to speedrunning edition.
Because your CRT is 4:3, not 3:2.
Papy.G wrote:
Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:01 am
If your CRT is 4/3, keep GBI in 3:2, then set the CRT to 16/9 (letterbox?)
What? Just set GBI to 4:3.
Traxus
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 1:49 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Traxus » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:51 pm

Hi guys, I've been researching and trying to settle on the ideal GBI version for my setup the past couple days. I was hoping for some advice on my particular usage.

I'm playing on a CRT TV (Sony 20FS100) with Bitfunx component cables (GCVideo Lite 0 9?), and using an Everdrive X5 Mini which has the ability to play GBA games as well as emulate GB, GBC, Game Gear, etc.

I like the clarity of the HF and SR versions but the OSD Zoom function of the standard version is extremely useful given the variety of systems the Everdrive can run. Otherwise when emulating I end up with a Matryoshka-doll of aspect ratios (eg. a tiny GB screen within a GBA screen within the CRT screen).

So given the Standard version is the only one with OSD zooming, is there a set of significant options you'd recommend adding to a .cli file to make the standard version look as best as possible on a CRT?

Sorry and thanks in advance. I get this is probably like asking to fit a round peg into a square hole to more experienced users.
retroheaven
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by retroheaven » Mon Jan 10, 2022 7:41 pm

Code: Select all

--vfilter=.5:.5:.0:.5:.0:.5
Thx, that did the trick!

Hmm, I tried both 3:2 and 4:3 but could not get exact same ratio as when using GBI standard. Anyway, SR edition works good now. However, I realized now that I really prefer the high definition version, which really is a close match when comparing against MiSTer's analog output on my CRT.

I guess this has been brought up before, but is there a technical reason why overlay is not supported in HF edition? At least I don't see it on the wiki, and couldn't get it working even when manually adding the option to .dcp file and/or setting it via .cli file.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Jan 10, 2022 8:01 pm

retroheaven wrote:
Mon Jan 10, 2022 7:41 pm
Hmm, I tried both 3:2 and 4:3 but could not get exact same ratio as when using GBI standard.
GBISR does not support --aspect. The default configuration assumes 4:3.
retroheaven wrote:
Mon Jan 10, 2022 7:41 pm
I guess this has been brought up before, but is there a technical reason why overlay is not supported in HF edition?
GBIHF is software rendered and half resolution and is meant to be a dumb pipe for a video processor.
Traxus
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 1:49 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Traxus » Tue Jan 11, 2022 8:23 am

I'm having fun with the following settings in a .cli for GBI Standard. Any other options I should consider to get the most out of my CRT?

--Scan-mode=non-interlaced
This gave me the clarity I was looking for. This setting means 240p, right? I noticed it seems to limit zoom settings to 2x, 3x, and 4x in the OSD but that works for me.

--Matrix=identity
This is the main reason for the punchier colors of the HF version, right? Looks great.

--No-enhance
Just for the novelty of watching horribly compressed GBA Video Sppngebob episodes blown up on my CRT lol.
retroheaven
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by retroheaven » Tue Jan 11, 2022 4:47 pm

Extrems wrote:
Mon Jan 10, 2022 8:01 pm
retroheaven wrote:
Mon Jan 10, 2022 7:41 pm
Hmm, I tried both 3:2 and 4:3 but could not get exact same ratio as when using GBI standard.
GBISR does not support --aspect. The default configuration assumes 4:3.
retroheaven wrote:
Mon Jan 10, 2022 7:41 pm
I guess this has been brought up before, but is there a technical reason why overlay is not supported in HF edition?
GBIHF is software rendered and half resolution and is meant to be a dumb pipe for a video processor.
Sorry, I was unclear. I meant that I tried 4:3 and 3:2 via GBI standard and compared with SR, and couldn't match the aspect ratio fully.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:02 pm

GBI is using a 8:9 pixel aspect ratio while GBISR is using 10:11 by default, so a 2.2% error is expected.
Post Reply