Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
boktai1000
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 3:01 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by boktai1000 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:14 am

Seems like the sites down. Also just curious - have you thought about hosting on Github for version control /etc similar to Swiss?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:42 pm

The repo is private as GBI is closed source. I don't think there's a listing available but you can still download old versions if you know the date (https://files.extremscorner.org/gamecub ... /<yyyymmdd>, if I recall correctly). There's no reason why you'd want to do that though, unless you want to report a regression.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:02 pm

Something broke on Cloudflare's end, back up on HTTPS only for the time being.
KentaZX
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by KentaZX » Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:30 am

Hey quick question. So I recently got the wind waker exploit on the memory card to load up either Swiss, or Gameboy interface individually. Is there a way I can load up swiss first to edit the settings, THEN load up the GBI in the same memory card?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4506
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:34 pm

KentaZX wrote:Hey quick question. So I recently got the wind waker exploit on the memory card to load up either Swiss, or Gameboy interface individually. Is there a way I can load up swiss first to edit the settings, THEN load up the GBI in the same memory card?
Put Swiss as boot.gci on your memory card then put GBI.dol and GBI.dcp on there too via Swiss. You will need an SD adapter or some storage medium Swiss can read from.
Image
TechniqueSan
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:18 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by TechniqueSan » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:20 pm

I'm very sorry to ask such a silly question, I'm sure it has been answered here before, but the thread is too big at this point to go searching;

Do i needed a modded GC, or just the SD adapter for this to work?
Weario
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Weario » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:29 pm

TechniqueSan wrote:I'm very sorry to ask such a silly question, I'm sure it has been answered here before, but the thread is too big at this point to go searching;

Do i needed a modded GC, or just the SD adapter for this to work?
You don't necessarily have to mod your gamecube. You can use SD media launcher software, or you can use save exploits from certain games to load up the software. If I remember correctly, those games include Super Smash Bros Melee and Wind Waker.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4506
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:24 am

TechniqueSan wrote:I'm very sorry to ask such a silly question, I'm sure it has been answered here before, but the thread is too big at this point to go searching;

Do i needed a modded GC, or just the SD adapter for this to work?
https://gc-forever.com/wiki/index.php?t ... g_Homebrew
Image
Jwitz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Jwitz » Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:10 am

Hello, I am using Swiss to load gbi ll and adjusting the settings before loading the dol. I choose the type c control option and 240p 60 option. I make sure the boxes are ticked before pressing start, but the settings do not save for the next time.

Is there a way to keep these settings?

Thanks
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:48 am

Use a .cli file, and 240p60 is the default.
Weario
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Weario » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:26 pm

Hi Extrems, are there still plans to reduce the sound latency on GBI?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:51 pm

Yes, it'll be in a rewritten GBI ULL.
Jwitz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Jwitz » Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:13 pm

Extrems wrote:Use a .cli file, and 240p60 is the default.
Hello, thank you for responding.

I'm not 100% sure what to paste into the notepad document if I want it to load with the type 3 controller setting every time.

I see on the front page is this "--control=<0-3>
Set controller scheme. (default: sram)"

Do I simply copy that into a .cli text document and put 3 in between the <>?

thanks again.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:28 pm

Code: Select all

--control=3
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:39 am

  • Added DK Bongos support.
  • Improved Game Boy Player driver.
This should fix the instability seen under certain circumstances.
claywilson95
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:54 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by claywilson95 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:17 am

Hey guys, I've been working on installing the Xen8 chip in my Gamecube and finally got it working (at least the leds on the chip show that it is functioning correctly). I've also adjusted my POT to about 194 ohms. I've burned a copy of Metal Gear Solid Twin Snakes onto a Ritek Ridata -R mini disc just to test the chip, and no matter what I can seem to do, the Cube will not read the disc. I burned a 1.3gb ISO of the game to a 1.4gb disc. I burned it at 1x speed using Imgburn just on my laptop. Could it be my laptop's burner? I've tried tweaking the POT to all kinds of numbers, even swapped out my laser assembly haha! I really just don't know what else to do, and I really want to get Gameboy Interface working on my GC. Whoever can point me in the right direction, it would reeeeeally be appreciated.

And also, someone please explain to me how to create my own burnable ISO of the GB Interface for each time Extrems releases a new version. I have the ISO maker program (don't remember the name off-hand), but kind of clueless there too. Thanks! I'm wanting to make just a bottable disc with GB Interface. And which version should I go with? Regular, LL, or ULL?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:20 am

RetroRGB has a tutorial on making a bootable iso. It's much easier to boot a homebrew disc than a backup (much less data to read in order to boot). If the MGS disc shows up in the menu, you're good.
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:24 am

Hi! One question.

What command line i need make for a GBI.GCI file with colors of GBI-LL? I wanna test Game Boy Interface with the colors of Low Lattency version. If possible all lines needed.

Thanks again! :)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:24 pm

Code: Select all

--matrix=identity
or

Code: Select all

--overlay=Frame-sRGB.tpl.gz
--dither=none
--matrix=identity
--input-gamma=1.
--output-gamma=1.
pargordius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:12 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pargordius » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:46 pm

I'm at a loss on how to make overlays work. I've read through the thread, but I still can't get them working. I'm just using swiss with all the gbi files on the disc with swiss.

A few things that I'm unclear on:

- The OP mentions putting the gzipped .tpl files in a 'gbi' folder. The downloads come with a 'GBI' folder. Should we be worried about case sensitivity?
- A few people mention in the thread 'frame.tpl'. Should we extract the .tpl files, or is .gz fine?
- There are mention of there being 20 overlays, but the .dcp indicates only 8.

Right now I've got gzipped and non-gzipped frame-srgb.tpl and frame.tpl in 1) the root of my .iso 2) in a 'GBI' folder and 3) in a 'gbi' folder, yet I can't get any overlays to work with gbi-ll.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:57 pm

pargordius wrote:The OP mentions putting the gzipped .tpl files in a 'gbi' folder. The downloads come with a 'GBI' folder. Should we be worried about case sensitivity?
It's case insensitive.
pargordius wrote:A few people mention in the thread 'frame.tpl'. Should we extract the .tpl files, or is .gz fine?
The default path is GZipped.
pargordius wrote:There are mention of there being 20 overlays, but the .dcp indicates only 8.
This is a limitation of the .dcp format.
pargordius wrote:Right now I've got gzipped and non-gzipped frame-srgb.tpl and frame.tpl in 1) the root of my .iso 2) in a 'GBI' folder and 3) in a 'gbi' folder, yet I can't get any overlays to work with gbi-ll.
Because it only work with an SD card.
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:08 pm

Extrems wrote:

Code: Select all

--matrix=identity
or

Code: Select all

--overlay=Frame-sRGB.tpl.gz
--dither=none
--matrix=identity
--input-gamma=1.
--output-gamma=1.
Thanks again, i like this cgi:
--filter=normalnx
--dither=threshold
--matrix=gba
--input-gamma=1.
--output-gamma=1.
--contrast=1.

Works great!
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:22 pm

shinchandoidao6669 wrote:--filter=normalnx
--dither=threshold
--matrix=gba
--contrast=1.
This is redundant.
shinchandoidao6669 wrote:--matrix=gba
--input-gamma=1.
--output-gamma=1.
Don't use those settings together!
pargordius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:12 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pargordius » Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:32 pm

Extrems wrote:Because it only work with an SD card.
:lol:

SD card adapter is on its way!

Next question: are there any plans to add a key combo for switching zoom levels in gbi-ll? Or maybe set default zoom levels based on if it's a GB/GBC game or GBA game (I have no idea if this is possible).

Also, I seem to be getting weird corruption in gbi-ll when '--scaler' is set to anything other than 'nearest':
feh_031398_000001_IMG_20170902_112338.jpg
(2.11 MiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:00 pm

pargordius wrote:Next question: are there any plans to add a key combo for switching zoom levels in gbi-ll?
No, this is considered an expert setting.
pargordius wrote:Or maybe set default zoom levels based on if it's a GB/GBC game or GBA game (I have no idea if this is possible).
Once a proper configuration system is in place.
pargordius wrote:Also, I seem to be getting weird corruption in gbi-ll when '--scaler' is set to anything other than 'nearest':
Turns out this happen if you don't have a 3D LUT, oops.
Post Reply