Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:50 am

I try use this cli command:

--scan-mode=non-interlace

In game boy interface (GBI) for forcing 240p but not working. need more command in cli?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:46 am

If you're using the append method, you need a terminating newline.
pargordius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:12 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pargordius » Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:46 am

Extrems wrote:You're not doing anything wrong.
Is there a way to burn a disc that just has gbi-ll with the .cli options appended and have it actually boot?
claywilson95
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:54 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by claywilson95 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:13 am

pargordius wrote:
Extrems wrote:You're not doing anything wrong.
Is there a way to burn a disc that just has gbi-ll with the .cli options appended and have it actually boot?
Hey, could you please help me out just one more time with my dilemma at the very bottom of the last page lol? I would appreciate it so much.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Fri Sep 08, 2017 9:34 am

Use imagemagick to convert your banner.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:50 pm

pargordius wrote:Is there a way to burn a disc that just has gbi-ll with the .cli options appended and have it actually boot?
Again, the bug has nothing to do with this. It can trigger in any homebrew at any moment.
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:21 pm

Extrems wrote:If you're using the append method, you need a terminating newline.
Works! Thanks :)
Weario
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Weario » Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:21 pm

I just want to say again how awesome the Gameboy Interface is!
Thought I'd share my setup and experiences in case you are interested to know:

TV: 1080p HDTV (LG 42LN5708)
Gamecube: NTSC-U Model DOL-001, using component cables plugged directly into the TV
Method of booting GBI: SD Loader software and Swiss
Experiences: Both GBI and GBI-LL run flawlessly for me. GBI-ULL is almost perfect. After a few minutes, there is a line of tearing that starts from the top, moving down very slowly, and then it's gone for the rest of my playing session. GBI-ULL is ussually the way I play, though sometimes I use GBI-LL with 3x zoom and nearest scaler for my gameboy colour games. I always run the software in 480p. I tried toying with 960i, but that just gives me an error (and a flickering screen if I remember correctly)

If you would like me to test with some different paramaters on GBI or GBI-LL, let me know and I'll try to find some time for it. I also have a PAL gamecube dol-001 unit sitting here with the SD loader software if that's useful for testing. :)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:29 pm

  • Fixed one random kernel crash.
pargordius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:12 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pargordius » Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:49 pm

Extrems wrote:
  • Fixed one random kernel crash.
This actually fixed the crash I was getting! :D

For anyone interested, here is an .ISO suited for CRT TVs with a zoom level 2.375:
homebrew_disc_20170909_zoom.iso.zip
(1.33 MiB) Downloaded 129 times
It has these options:

Code: Select all

--zoom=1.1875
--scaler=oversample
--scan-mode=interlace
--overlay=frame-srgb-x2.375-zoom.tpl.gz
I've also modified the frame-srgb.tpl to fit the zoom level (basically I scaled them all down). Add this to the GBI folder on your SD card alongside the normal frame-srgb.tpl.gz:
frame-srgb-x2.375-zoom.tpl.gz
(239.05 KiB) Downloaded 107 times
I didn't specify an --overlay-id, so it defaults to the GC one, but I scaled all of them down.

Picture of the thing in action, using S-Video:
feh_015334_000001_IMG_20170910_094316.jpg
(2.91 MiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:11 am

  • Added memory card boot disc.
For low latency version:
  • Added overlay scale setting.
  • Changed zoom scale.
RetroRGB
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:52 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by RetroRGB » Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:44 pm

Extrems wrote:Added memory card boot disc.
Can you explain this a bit? I'm not sure what you mean. Sorry!
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:49 pm

RetroRGB wrote:Can you explain this a bit? I'm not sure what you mean. Sorry!
It's the Home Bros. loader on a disc. It needs a boot.dol on a memory card.
RetroRGB
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:52 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by RetroRGB » Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:04 pm

Gotcha, thanks!
Jwitz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Jwitz » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:29 pm

Hello,

I have a Pokemon Ruby cartridge that needs a new battery. Does anyone know of a way to rip the save file using Gameboy player and Swiss? Or another way?

Thanks!
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:06 am

You can replace default.mb.gz with Chishm's SendSave right now, but I'm also currently working on this.

There's no risk of losing the save with the battery dying, that game uses flash memory.
pargordius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:12 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pargordius » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:13 am

Extrems wrote:
  • Added memory card boot disc.
For low latency version:
  • Added overlay scale setting.
  • Changed zoom scale.
I tried this build and for some reason it isn't picking up the overlays on my SD card.

Previous builds picked them up fine.
User avatar
Aleron Ives
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:56 am
Location: California

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Aleron Ives » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:31 am

You can use a Retrode with the GBx plugin to dump your cartridges and their save data. BennVenn also makes cart dumpers for GBx.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:42 pm

For BIOS/ROM dumper:
  • Added save dump/restore.
TheAutisticGamer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by TheAutisticGamer » Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:27 pm

I'm sorry for asking this but does the Game Boy Interface features you to use the link cable? I want to play the battle mode with my sibling. Also, this is my first post
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:51 pm

That's a Game Boy Player question. The link port is just above the cartridge slot.
TheAutisticGamer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by TheAutisticGamer » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:29 pm

Yeah I know it's on top of that, but when I use it, it doesn't see the link cable. Can someone do something about it?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:35 pm

I was able to link just fine with both a Game Boy game and a Game Boy Advance game.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by theclaw » Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:48 am

TheAutisticGamer wrote:Yeah I know it's on top of that, but when I use it, it doesn't see the link cable. Can someone do something about it?
Is the link cable correct for the game you're playing?
Game Boy or Game Boy Color games, are designed to use different cables than Game Boy Advance games.
TheAutisticGamer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by TheAutisticGamer » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:35 pm

I mean when i do a multiplayer game, the link cable is not reconized and i cannot play it with my friends, they are both inserted into the gbp and my gba and the gbi has the game in it
Post Reply