Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
Charzila
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:12 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Charzila » Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:12 pm

Thank you so much, adding scaler=oversample has fixed it. I had tried using those 2:3 zoom settings but the top and bottom were cut off so my tv must be over scanning. I will look into my tv settings to see if I can also get that to work.
noodohs
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:51 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by noodohs » Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:05 am

I'm sure I am just not remembering something, but I've just updated my GCDual to 2.4b and am trying to get the latest GBI up and running as it has been a while. I prefer to use autoexec files to have it boot right up, so I am creating a cli file and combining to make that happen. I am using the HDMI out for the GC. I am trying to get it running with high fidelity, but no luck so far. Speedrunning edition might also work, I just want to stick with low input lag and high quality video (with as little of the stuttering as possible). I've tried running it basically stock (aside from setting the volume lower and audio to analog) and also setting it to hd60, but I get absolutely nothing on screen. I would love for it to fill a bunch of the screen, too (while keeping as close to pixel perfect as possible). What am I doing wrong here?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 640
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:43 am

You can't use HD60 with HDMI.
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:20 am

What is hd60?
noodohs
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:51 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by noodohs » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:27 pm

Okay, I've now even tried not using an autoexec and just booting a standard option from the Action Replay menu, even the standard edition of GBI, and I get nothing. I know this worked before the recent upgrade and I have tested regular GC games to make sure those work, so it is currently just GBI that is not working. If I leave the GCVideo overlay on, it doesn't seem to get any input resolution when it tries to load GBI. I get no sound or video, just a blank screen. I've tried with linedoubler for 240p on and off, no change. Tried with dYUV and regular YUV in GCVideo settings, too. Must be something I'm doing wrong, but I can't for the life of me figure out what if even the default GBI options won't load.
User avatar
Liriel
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:55 pm
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Liriel » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:39 pm

Hi
I am new but i am impressed from GBI.
Good Work and Thx for the Work!!!


I use a Pal GC without Digital Port ( the one with is defect) an Qoob Pro.
I boot with a bootable Disc with Swiss but i have Swiss in the Chip too.
I build a Memory to Sd Card Adapter but it doesnt work and i must wait until it arrive that one i buy.

Now the Question.

1.
When i understand Correct is the DCP file for the Option that i can change when i Start the DOL in swiss.
Is that correct?

2.
The ClI ist the Settings which i want and can be connect with the DOL to a new DOL+CLI file?

3.
For the DOL+CLi which Base DOL file is the best to use? gbi or gbihf?

4.
Because i dont have the Digital Port i have the White-Red-Yellow Cable.
Which is the best Video Mode for it 240 or 480?
I must say with a Video to Scart Adapter the Picture is better as i use the Chinch Port.

5.
The thing in the GBI folder are the Borders an doesnt work on DVD use?

6.
The archive in the Extra Package must not unzip to the GBI folder?
Only Put in the GBI like they are or?

7.
Is this correct?

Code: Select all

--aspect=3:2
--format=pal
--scan-mode=progressive
--no-overlay
--scaler=nearest
--matrix=gbi
--sound=digital
--enhance
--delay-video=0
--filter=normal2x
--control=0
--zoom=2:2.75

I hope you can help me with the Questions
xmagusx
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:39 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by xmagusx » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:41 pm

Hey Guys,

I am new here, but am just getting into the GBI and love it. I am using it on my PVM 20L5 via component cables.

I just was wondering what the best settings are using the HF version? Specifically color space and what it is supposed to be?

Also how do you make a CLI file? I am on a MAC and it makes everything so much more difficult for some reason.

Thanks so much in advance
User avatar
Liriel
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:55 pm
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Liriel » Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:33 am

a cli? thats a text file with .cli instead of .txt ( or others).
look after a option to show the file ending.

or you copy a cli file and edit it
HasturX
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:22 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by HasturX » Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:37 pm

Hello, I'm using the gbi optimized for the ossc but i can't figure how to change the control scheme in order to use the L/R buttons properly, this is my cli file --format=hd60--scan-mode=non-interlace--control=1 what i'm doing wrong? thanks :)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 640
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:23 pm

The arguments has to be on separate lines.
HasturX
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:22 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by HasturX » Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:56 pm

Thanks for the answer, i've tried different times with the same result the L/R buttons are always located at the X/Y buttons on the gamecube controller, and i have no idea what i'm doing wrong...
noodohs
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:51 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by noodohs » Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:02 pm

Well, control scheme 1 (B) sets the L and R buttons to X and Y. If you just don't specify an option there, it should default to 0 (A) which puts them on L and R. You shouldn't need to specify any control scheme to get L and R on the L and R buttons.
blvdnights
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:26 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by blvdnights » Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:29 pm

I haven't updated GBI in awhile and decided to try out the newer versions with my Eon GCHD. Looks like I'm getting some sharpening artifacts with the GBISR that I'm not getting if I use the standard GBI. Any ideas of what might be causing this and what setting I could change with a .cli?
omikes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by omikes » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:51 am

blvdnights wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:29 pm
I haven't updated GBI in awhile and decided to try out the newer versions with my Eon GCHD. Looks like I'm getting some sharpening artifacts with the GBISR that I'm not getting if I use the standard GBI. Any ideas of what might be causing this and what setting I could change with a .cli?
Try:

Code: Select all

--scaler=oversample
--aspect=16:9
--zoom=2:2.75
--format=ntsc
--scan-mode=progressive
--matrix=gba
--input-gamma=4.
--contrast=.74851331406341291833644689906823
--brightness=.25148668593658708166355310093177
A person a page or so ago used those with his Carby, which I believe is on the same version of GCVideo as the GCHD now.
SDLearmonth
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:57 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by SDLearmonth » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:22 pm

I'm having a weird problem with GBI in 360p while using the Eon GCHD Mk2 with a Wii Scart Cable.

My setup:
"gbihf-ossc.dol+cli" with no changes to the .cli file,
Latest Swiss (booted through wind waker save),
PAL gamecube,
GCHD Mk2,
Wii Scart Cable (retrogamingcables),
OSSC (with the latest 360p firmware)

My problem is a weird black bar across the right hand of the image that only appears when using the GCHD and NOT when using the official scart cable from Nintendo.
I'm unsure why changing this cable and nothing else could be causing this, although I vaguely remember someone posting about a "black line" problem previously.
Here's some images to show what I'm talking about,
Official Scart cable 360p: https://i.imgur.com/LoRbkS5.jpg
GCHD Wii Scart: https://i.imgur.com/jkd7xHf.jpg
The grid is correctly centered in the 1st image as I've optimised the ossc profile for it better.

360p with the OSSC is my favourite way to play gameboy (advance) games on my TV. It only recently began working for me in the past few updates which fixed the constant sync drops over scart, so thanks again to Extrems on that one!
It's my opinion that the official scart cable is rather lacking in shielding and shows some noise in some flat colours with GBI. And indeed it does look slightly sharper with a well shielded cable from retrogamingcables, despite half the image missing.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 640
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:23 pm

Set dYUV mode in the GCHD menu.
SDLearmonth
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:57 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by SDLearmonth » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:38 pm

Extrems wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:23 pm
Set dYUV mode in the GCHD menu.
That worked, cheers! I had forgotten that helped with compatibility.
Thanks for the excellent software, I think i've found my ideal setup for the foreseeable future.

Image
Terrible photo, but just to show the game fills the screen with the zoom feature on my LG
User avatar
Liriel
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:55 pm
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Liriel » Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:27 pm

With which Command can be the GBI OSD deactivate?
I mean the osd with ratio, zoom and co.
I try --no-osd but nothing happens.
User avatar
Liriel
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:55 pm
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Liriel » Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:28 pm

ok now it works

But how to set the offset?

I tried
--offset=<0:6>
and
--offset=0:6

But everytime i start the GBI it is 0:0 without changes
Post Reply